We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What makes a BIG difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Vedra

Save Saved
You added Dar Vedra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Vedra
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What makes a BIG difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

There are plenty of Riads in Marrakech. I always change to see different parts of the city.
The reason why I loved Dar Vedra is that on top of being well located and really beautiful, you feel welcomed. The team is fantastic, the food delicious and they're always ready to make your trip unique. Whether it's for tips on what to do and where to go or just service while you rest on the rooftop, they have been amazing. And the rooms... pure delight.
I now know where I'll be staying when going to Marrakech :-)

Room Tip: I had a very luminous one as it was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and the inner courtyard. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
143
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful few days staying at Dar Vedra. My husband organised a surprise trip for my birthday celebrations with 11 friends and we had a great time! Sebastien and his staff were superb, always there and very helpful when asked but not intrusive. We were taken to our restaurant on the first night otherwise we would surely have got very lost, they made good recommendations and we had a delicious meal one night with a lovely birthday cake and a pretty pair of earrings for a gift too. The riad is in a good position for the souks, the main square and the Majorelle Gardens. The only downside for some of us was the proximity to the mosque but no complaints as that is part of the culture and the city and some earplugs would have sorted that. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Dar Vedra. As we stayed there before and after a trip to the desert, we used two different rooms, one a superior with bags of space and one a standard which was also very satisfactory. We thought the interior decor was very pretty and tasteful, and we liked the shabby chic vibe. It really is an oasis after the noise and chaos which is Marrakech.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate there one lunch time on the roof and thought it was lovely. The food was better than we had had at a well known restaurant the night before.
A word of praise for the staff too, whom we found to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 2 is luxurious and a little more tucked away than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having stayed in another Riad for a whole week I felt the reviews of this North Medina establishment just simply did not live up them!

The interior of the riad is nice but it isn't special and the decor needs touching-up. The plunge pool looked uninviting. The big letdown is the roof terrace which in no way matches the website photographs - it is small, bity and clumsy with some uncared for foliage and with not enough loved plants it tends to look grey, dusty and abandoned. The dining area on the roof resembled a bicycle shed.

The breakfasts mainly consisted of bread with a bit of fruit salad and yogurt. The coffee, water for the tea and milk came in three big utilitarian thermos pots...an ugly sight first thing in the morning! I am sure that if we had have asked for eggs for breakfast we would have been given them but everything felt as if it would been too much trouble and only twice in the whole week were we served Moroccan Pancakes!
The very average quality of the breakfast put us off dining there in the evening...and those that did dine there gave us lack lustre reviews. We all noticed that the evening meals were prepared well in advance and left sitting uncovered in the kitchen...a big microwave oven could be visibly seen and that the cook was long gone by evening!

We saw both the owners across the week but they disappeared in the afternoon and not to be seen again till the next morning...I think this is a big mistake - it felt as if their loyalties and interest in their business, staff and customers were divided!

Our room was lovely and the interior of the Riad was pretty but the outside spaces let it down badly.

I have stayed in a much better Riad with much more attentive staff who used their initiative to make you feel comfortable and welcome at a much lower price and in a better maintained part of the Medina. For example it is cold at night and we had to ask the staff to light the fire in the living room on several occasions.

It is the little touches that matter when you are away from home and staying in someone else’s care and this riad just simply didn't have them!

The overall feeling we got was that the management were Dirham pinching, which is most unwise!

Room Tip: The one really annoying thing at arriving at Dar Vedra was that very few people were actually alloca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-DAR-VEDRA, Owner at Dar Vedra, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Among the nice comments left by many guests this one is so fairness that we have no choice than give to our futures guests some explanations on add.

In fact this guest spent 7 days in our riad as a solo traveler and never complained. He even told me he had an excellent stay when checking out… Then he wrote this comment back home!!! I sent him a mail to apologize but never got an answer...
We received along the past 7 years more than 3000 guests and the 230 comments left on Tripadvisor prove the quality of the service and the hard efforts we provide to make all stays as nice as possible.
Pretending that the Pergola on the roof terrace looks like a bicycle shed as that the terrace is small, bity and clumsy is just outrageous. The roof terrace is 220 Square meters which is exceptionally big for a Riad in Marrakech, It is Fall and we experienced very heavy rain for few days so it may have not looked as good as usual for one day or 2 but it was cleaned and ready to use again the next days.

Dar Vedra is known (see all comments) for the quality of the food and the great cook (Jamilla) that proposes excellent lunches, dinners and different breakfast all days of the week. It is true we keep water milk and coffee in thermos pot but they are clean and this is the only way to keep them hot.
What is totally unfair is to pretend that we are preparing the food well in advance and using a microwave to reheat it. This is just not the truth as Jamilla works mornings and evening wit a break in the afternoon. She prepares diner late afternoon and is most of the time there till it is served.

This guest stayed 7 days, as a favor we upgraded him to a larger, nicer and more expensive room with no extra cost. Forget to tell this and pretending that most of the guests don’t get the room they booked is just not right.

We are in the Riad every morning and often coming back in the evenings.
We manage every day to have a little chat with each of our guest to make sure they have everything they need; booking restaurants, Hamam, excursions transfers etc..
All the staff at Dar Vedra including Amel the assistant manager (which is always there when we are not) are working very hard and use their initiative to make you feel comfortable and welcome…
Last but not least Dar Vedra is definitely not a “Dhirams pitching” business but a wonderful experience where we putted all our soul for the past 9 years (2 years of heavy restoration and 7 in business)
Despite our disagreement with some of these comments, we are taking guest feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Best regards from the sunny Marrakech.

Didier Blat & Sebastien Pailleux
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this riad from a list of descriptions offered to us by our booking agents (Naturally Morocco). It proved to be a very happy choice. Our room (No.7) was not very large, but extremely comfortable, with a large bathroom.

The whole atmosphere was one of sumptous comfort. The decor was a fine mixture of modern and traditional. Didier and his staff were charming and extremely helpful - thank you! We did not eat here in the evening, but the breakfasts (taken on the roof terrace when the weather was fine) were excellent.

Dar Vedra is extremely well placed for a visit to Marrakech. It's situated in the medina, with the souks and Place Jemaa el-Fna close by, and the new part of the city (Guéliz) also within easy walking distance. We walked everywhere during our four days here - except one afternoon when we couldn't resist a horse-drawn carriage, just for the experience!

We hope to be returning in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in September, hot outside, cool inside in so many ways. Dar Vedra is a very male exposition in good design, with big leather pouffes, big leather curtain ties, heavy iron furniture, beautifully foliaged atria, exquisite roof terrace with views. We loved the greeting, and the food -- we ate there one night on the roof -- but didn't like the position of our room so much, we were on the ground floor by the 10' by 4' plunge pool, which was great in the heat, but not so great at night as other guests sat around it, outside our French windows, chatting till midnight - or until I went in and out of the room repeatedly and they got the hint. Not their fault as it's not totally clear it's a bedroom there. (And maybe the payback is that the ensuite bathroom has the biggest solid stone bath I have ever seen, you could fit a rugby team in, which thinking about it may have been someone's intention...) Anyway, if luxury in the middle of Marrakech's poverty is your thing, it hits the mark -- it left us slightly uneasy, as the juxtaposition inside and out is so enormous, but that's not the French owner/designer's fault. He is charming, and often on hand to answer your queries with a quip and an anecdote.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-DAR-VEDRA, Owner at Dar Vedra, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest
First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment.
Our guests’ opinions are really very important for us to move forward.
We are sorry for what happened with people chatting if front of your room.
Please consider this as exceptional since our employees have instruction not to let use the pool patio in the evening. We renewed our instructions to make sure this does not happen again
We are in the Riad to make sure each guest have a nice stay, I’m sorry you did not say anything to the night attendant on that evening or ourselves the next morning, we would have solve this issue right away.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Mr Didier Blat
Co-owner/Co-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Dar Vedra riad for a night during my visit in Morocco.
The staff was very polite and helpful and the riad was very clean, tidy and relaxing.
I would definitely recommend it to everyone without second thoughts!
Everything was moderately excellent.

Room Tip: If you're 4, use the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Vedra

Address: 3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Vedra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Vedra is an 18th-century riyad, entirely restored in 2005 with the ancestral methods and in the respect of Arabic Andalusia architecture; it will fulfill all your expectations as far as comfort is concerned. Located in the Medina of Marrakech, the house offers seven air conditioned bedrooms, around two bosky patios, one with a heated pool. The 220 square meter terrace has a 360 degree view of Bab Doukkala mosque, the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Vedra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Vedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.