We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility in The Hubbub of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Vedra

Save Saved
You added Dar Vedra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Vedra
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility in The Hubbub of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this riad from a list of descriptions offered to us by our booking agents (Naturally Morocco). It proved to be a very happy choice. Our room (No.7) was not very large, but extremely comfortable, with a large bathroom.

The whole atmosphere was one of sumptous comfort. The decor was a fine mixture of modern and traditional. Didier and his staff were charming and extremely helpful - thank you! We did not eat here in the evening, but the breakfasts (taken on the roof terrace when the weather was fine) were excellent.

Dar Vedra is extremely well placed for a visit to Marrakech. It's situated in the medina, with the souks and Place Jemaa el-Fna close by, and the new part of the city (Guéliz) also within easy walking distance. We walked everywhere during our four days here - except one afternoon when we couldn't resist a horse-drawn carriage, just for the experience!

We hope to be returning in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
143
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in September, hot outside, cool inside in so many ways. Dar Vedra is a very male exposition in good design, with big leather pouffes, big leather curtain ties, heavy iron furniture, beautifully foliaged atria, exquisite roof terrace with views. We loved the greeting, and the food -- we ate there one night on the roof -- but didn't like the position of our room so much, we were on the ground floor by the 10' by 4' plunge pool, which was great in the heat, but not so great at night as other guests sat around it, outside our French windows, chatting till midnight - or until I went in and out of the room repeatedly and they got the hint. Not their fault as it's not totally clear it's a bedroom there. (And maybe the payback is that the ensuite bathroom has the biggest solid stone bath I have ever seen, you could fit a rugby team in, which thinking about it may have been someone's intention...) Anyway, if luxury in the middle of Marrakech's poverty is your thing, it hits the mark -- it left us slightly uneasy, as the juxtaposition inside and out is so enormous, but that's not the French owner/designer's fault. He is charming, and often on hand to answer your queries with a quip and an anecdote.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-DAR-VEDRA, Owner at Dar Vedra, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest
First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment.
Our guests’ opinions are really very important for us to move forward.
We are sorry for what happened with people chatting if front of your room.
Please consider this as exceptional since our employees have instruction not to let use the pool patio in the evening. We renewed our instructions to make sure this does not happen again
We are in the Riad to make sure each guest have a nice stay, I’m sorry you did not say anything to the night attendant on that evening or ourselves the next morning, we would have solve this issue right away.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Mr Didier Blat
Co-owner/Co-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Dar Vedra riad for a night during my visit in Morocco.
The staff was very polite and helpful and the riad was very clean, tidy and relaxing.
I would definitely recommend it to everyone without second thoughts!
Everything was moderately excellent.

Room Tip: If you're 4, use the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came back from Dar Vedra......what bliss. Beautifully decorated, all the staff Amal, Hadeeja, Jamilla, Hassin & Yoseph were gracious, charming and wonderful. Sebastien is informative and has done a great job. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the square but because it was So hot we chose to chill by the pool most of the time. I will return next year but not at Ramadan. The food at the riad matched any meal we had outside.....just divine. We went to Essaouira after 5 days in Marrakesh and if I could have picked up Dar Vedra and plopped her down in Essaouira, I would have!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms.....they are all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Riad Dar Verdra is located there where you would not expect such a Riad. You arrive at the door, you are welcomed to get in and you are flabbergasted. Outside it’s noisy and crowded, inside it is calm and quiet. The roof terrace is amazing, no noise, just birds chirping. Downstairs there is a splash pool to cool down from the Marrakech’ heat. The staff is friendly. You have the possibility to have dinner at the Riad, it is good, but a bit expensive for what you get. The location is between the new and old city. The old city (medina) is the most attractive part culture wise and a 20 minute walk away. The rooms are clean, although I found some hairs at the decorative plaid they put on the bed. Just put the plaid into the cabinet and it is all fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely Riad. The rooms were good and facilities such as the plunge pool were great after the heat of the day in the souqs. Sebastian was very helpful during our stay and in organizing our accommodation in Fez. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

After looking at countless Riads and deciding upon Dar Vedra, all fears that we should have booked another were laid to rest instantly upon arrival. Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, food is good, and it is very well located. The plungepool is very necessary after walking around in the heat! They can book restaurants, massages etc for you. Easy play to relax as well. We had our own seating area outside the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Vedra

Address: 3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Vedra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Vedra is an 18th-century riyad, entirely restored in 2005 with the ancestral methods and in the respect of Arabic Andalusia architecture; it will fulfill all your expectations as far as comfort is concerned. Located in the Medina of Marrakech, the house offers seven air conditioned bedrooms, around two bosky patios, one with a heated pool. The 220 square meter terrace has a 360 degree view of Bab Doukkala mosque, the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Vedra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Vedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.