We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Vedra

Save Saved
You added Dar Vedra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Vedra
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Dar Vedra riad for a night during my visit in Morocco.
The staff was very polite and helpful and the riad was very clean, tidy and relaxing.
I would definitely recommend it to everyone without second thoughts!
Everything was moderately excellent.

Room Tip: If you're 4, use the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
142
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came back from Dar Vedra......what bliss. Beautifully decorated, all the staff Amal, Hadeeja, Jamilla, Hassin & Yoseph were gracious, charming and wonderful. Sebastien is informative and has done a great job. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the square but because it was So hot we chose to chill by the pool most of the time. I will return next year but not at Ramadan. The food at the riad matched any meal we had outside.....just divine. We went to Essaouira after 5 days in Marrakesh and if I could have picked up Dar Vedra and plopped her down in Essaouira, I would have!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms.....they are all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Riad Dar Verdra is located there where you would not expect such a Riad. You arrive at the door, you are welcomed to get in and you are flabbergasted. Outside it’s noisy and crowded, inside it is calm and quiet. The roof terrace is amazing, no noise, just birds chirping. Downstairs there is a splash pool to cool down from the Marrakech’ heat. The staff is friendly. You have the possibility to have dinner at the Riad, it is good, but a bit expensive for what you get. The location is between the new and old city. The old city (medina) is the most attractive part culture wise and a 20 minute walk away. The rooms are clean, although I found some hairs at the decorative plaid they put on the bed. Just put the plaid into the cabinet and it is all fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely Riad. The rooms were good and facilities such as the plunge pool were great after the heat of the day in the souqs. Sebastian was very helpful during our stay and in organizing our accommodation in Fez. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

After looking at countless Riads and deciding upon Dar Vedra, all fears that we should have booked another were laid to rest instantly upon arrival. Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, food is good, and it is very well located. The plungepool is very necessary after walking around in the heat! They can book restaurants, massages etc for you. Easy play to relax as well. We had our own seating area outside the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here in February on our first (but not last) trip to Morocco and had all the usual trepidation at booking into the unknown of course - but as soon as we arrived we realised all our fears had been groundless. Sebastien arranged our transfer from the Airport (which was seamless) and welcomed us warmly with tea when we arrived. We were in love with the place by the time we got to our room, the central courtyard is as charming and open as the hosts.
The room was tasteful, spacious and more than comfortable but the real highlight for me was the roof terrace. It's a lovely place to relax after a hectic day in the Souk and we looked forward to returning our little private oasis at the end of every day.
I really can't rave about the place enough, we just loved it, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful - in fact the meal we had one night in the dining room is still one of the highlights of the trip. My advice would be to book in at Dar Vedra and let them take care of you, nothing was ever too much trouble (arranging trips at the drop of a hat, recommending places to eat, things to do or even ironing a shirt) and the service from everyone was unobtrusive but efficient and friendly.
In future, all holidays will be compared to this - and I fear they'll be found wanting.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the proximity to the Mosque, I never used the ear plugs I brought. The phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

As regular visitors to Marrakech, we have stayed in a number of riads. However Dar Vedra is by far the best, It is a beautifully restored building furnished with great taste. All the rooms are different, but all are well equiped with great bathrooms. The riad itself is well situated within walking distance of all the main sights of the medina, but in an area that is not too touristy and has a great market. The roof terrace is the perfect place to sit and relax, especially at the end of the day, with fantastic views of the mountains. Didier and Sebastian could not be more informative and helpful and whenwe had problem went way beyond what we could have expected to helpus. Thank you. You will certainly see us again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are lighter than those below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Vedra

Address: 3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Vedra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Vedra is an 18th-century riyad, entirely restored in 2005 with the ancestral methods and in the respect of Arabic Andalusia architecture; it will fulfill all your expectations as far as comfort is concerned. Located in the Medina of Marrakech, the house offers seven air conditioned bedrooms, around two bosky patios, one with a heated pool. The 220 square meter terrace has a 360 degree view of Bab Doukkala mosque, the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Vedra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Vedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.