We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet riad just minutes away from Jemaa el-Fnaa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Quenza

Save Saved
You added Riad Quenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Quenza
24, Derb N'Kahl Rabba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet riad just minutes away from Jemaa el-Fnaa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The riad is just a short walk from the main square of Jemaa el-Fnaa, about 5 minutes. Prior to arrival, I would suggest arranging to meet Mustafa to guide you to the riad as the streets can be difficult to navigate to begin with, but you will soon learn the route. Riad Quenza is tucked away a few hundred metres from Rahba Kedima Square and is an instant getaway from the hustle and bustle of the souks.

Our room and all communal areas were very clean and well maintained. The bathroom had a fantastic copper basin and the shower was really good, surprising as I had heard that plumbing was poor anywhere within the Medina.

Breakfasts consisted of coffee and orange juice, bread with jam and honey, something cooked (usually a sort of Moroccan pancake) and some sweet cake (not quite sure what it's called but was very nice).

The roof terrace was a great place to unwind and offered great views over the Medina. We didn't have dinner here so can't comment on what was on offer, instead we opted to brave the food stalls found over at Jemaa el-Fnaa. Walking back to the riad at night, the streets are perfectly safe to walk around and offer a completely different atmosphere to what is found during the busy daylight hours.

I felt that our stay at Riad Quenza was good value for money and would not hesitate recommending it to friends looking for somewhere to stay in the heart of Marrakech.

There are about 6 rooms but during our stay, the riad was naver any more than half full and on one night, we were the only people staying there so it can be really quiet.

The couple that run the riad speak English and French and wifi is available throughout although as you might expect the speeds are not fantastic, but are more than acceptable for general web browsing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Quenza at the beginning and end of our trip to Morocco. Mustafi is a great host and greeted us at the airport (we took up the offer of an airport transfer). He is very helpful and offered some great advice about the city. The Riad is beautifully decorated with each room have it's own individual charm, and kept incredibly clean. It has a equally beautiful roof top terrace perfect for enjoying breakfast or relaxing in the late afternoon. The Riad is very well located in the heart of the Medina, although once inside the doors you wouldn't know it. An excellent stay!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

A gorgeous oasis in the middle of the Marakech madness. Great location, wonderfully clean and a fabulous sun terrace. Rooms on bottom floor a little bit damp smelling ( although I think this is a common riad problem and we had had alot of rain) but still lovely. . Really really helpful managers, they went the extra mile for us all. Compared to other accomodation in Morroco we stayed in this was the best we stayed in and great value. I would return with no hesitation.

Room Tip: If a choice, choose room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed at Riad Quenza for four nights as part of a hen weekend in Marrakech. Twelve of us booked the entire riad for the duration, and we had a perfect experience there. The riad itself is scrupulously clean and beatifully decorated throughout, with a rooftop terrace and hammam. The staff, Mustafa and Raja were friendly but discreet, and made every effort to ensure we were comfortable and that we had a good breakfast. In fact so good a breakfast that I put on 4lbs during the holiday! I would recommend this riad to anyone. If you'd like to see my photos, please go to: http://www.flickr.com/photos/55759288@N04/

Room Tip: Don't expect to diet whilst staying here!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Riad Quenza is a great choice if you are looking for something in the centre of it all but within a peaceful and relaxing environment.
Located down one of the many twists and turns in the souk within the medina, I would recommend paying the extra for airport transfers. From the Djemaa el fna it’s about a 5 minute walk and I don’t see how anyone could find it on their own! Everything in the old town is an easy walk so there is plenty of shopping and good food to be found pretty much on your doorstep.
On arrival we were greeted with some refreshing mint tea followed by a tour of the Riad. It’s on 3 levels with a fantastic roof terrace for lounging in the sun or relaxing on big cushions and reading a book. There is also a hamman which we were shown but didn’t find the time to use. Due to the cold evenings food was served on the found level in the courtyard however I believe the serve meals up on the roof in the summer.
We stayed in a room on the first floor which we found provided us with everything we needed – a comfortable bed, hot shower and plenty of space. The only downside is that the room can get a little musty but you can open the shutters and the smell soon clears. Sound also travels quite well around the Riad but as we only spent time there sleeping and relaxing on the terrace in the evening it wasn’t a problem. On the plus side sounds from the outside are kept out and we had a great night’s sleep which was only broken when we were woken by the sounds of birds in the morning.
Breakfast was included and we enjoyed various pancake/cakes each morning with a glass of fresh juice. The option was also offered for lunch or evening meals at an extra charge. We had dinner on the first night which was well worth it as we arrived quite late and didn’t fancy trying to negotiate the souks straight away!
Overall I would definitely recommend Riad Quenza if you want something that feels like you really are in Marrakech. I loved the decor and the general feel of the place and will stay there again when next in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011 via mobile

Nothing could have prepared us for the pure madness of Marrakech. Arriving in the early evening and nervously having our luggage carted around the square, we finally came upon the darkest alley unimaginable with a scatter of dodgy looking Morrocan lurkers. We were presented with a fancy wooden door and the porter hanging around for his tip (please don't be stupid like us and tip 50MAD, 20MAD will suffice). Anyway, inside was a pure calm and beauty from the madness and noise of the outside streets.

Mustafiv the riad manager spoke perfect English, welcoming us warmly and showing us around the stunning riad. Everything was perfect from the large room with the equally LARGE bath tub to the free hammam and massage and the awesome breakfast on the terrace. We felt the riad was a true haven of tranquility and by far the best value for a riad. We're staying in the dollar DES sables which I will review once I have been there, but so far the quenza had come up top trumps.

The only downside is the location. The medina is an absolute maze. Best tip is to find your way back BEFORE the souks close around 9. We were hassled in the dark alleys by Morrocans telling us things were closed and not to go down there etc thankfully we were rescued by Mustafiv who saw us in passing whilst we were heading the wrong way!

Despite all this however, it is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Beautiful, traditional, and romantic.
Great location, friendly and accomodating staff.
Stayed for 4 nights and would recommend it to anyone coming to Marrakesh.;

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Quenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Quenza

Address: 24, Derb N'Kahl Rabba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Quenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Quenza Marrakech
Riad Quenza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Quenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.