We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dyor

Save Saved
You added Ryad Dyor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryad Dyor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the best hotel I have stayed in to date. The pictures don't even do it justice. The staff were incredibly attentive, accommodating and friendly without being intrusive. The room (we got an upgrade) was spectacular, a good size, with absolutely stunning furnishings, smelling of beautiful cedar wood, the bed was so comfortable, and the bath was gorgeous (though there wasn't enough hot water to fill it - a common problem in Morocco). We had breakfast on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the roofs of the medina. Finding the Ryad is a minor task, which simply adds to the allure, as you are really in the thick of it. To top it off the Ryad was empty during our visit, turning it into our own private palace. This deserves 100% rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
85
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The place, like most in the Medina of Marrakesh, is tricky to find and the local feral children will try to fleece you for guiding you there (usually on some circuitous route). Once you have the route details in your head, it is OK to find.

Rooms are nice but subject to the Medina's plumbing weaknesses.

The roof terrace is a gem. There is only a plunge pool - not a swimming pool

Service was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It is a very charming and authentic place with a beautiful and elegant Moroccan style. Hicham and his team are truly amazing hosts! Their great sense of hospitality made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The food which the ladies prepared for us was excellent which made us stay in for a romantic dinner quite a few times. To us, the riad was like a little oasis in the bustling Medina.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wonderful place in the heart of Medina! Very secluded and calm atmosphere inside and all the colors of Marrakesh just behind the door!

We stayed at Ryad Dyor in December 2013, it was our NY trip. First night we stayed at Patio Suite which is very cosy but a bit and then we moved into a Superior Suite. It is just breathtaking - very spacious and rich decorated! It has a living room and one bedroom with a sitting area and an in-room bathtub + a separate shower. You-ll find everything you'll need in the room - starting from tea and coffee facilities to a selection of books and magazines. Beware - you may not wnat to leave the room)))
Ryad Dyor is that type of accomodation where you can experience personal touch and feel at home! There are just 7 suites, all different and made with love!

The breakfast is very hearty! Freshly squizzed juice, pastry, yogurt, omelletes, fruit salad, big coffee pot, cheese and baguette! It is served on the terrace with a wonderful view to Atlant mountains. Several times we had dinner at the ryad and it was wonderful - a typical morrocan food, simple, but delightful! Tea is served all day long and is complimentary)

We went to hammam - a nice and truly morrocan experience! The swimming pool is tiny but i believe it's very useful in hot summer months)

The personnel was really very-very helpful! They've booked restaurants for us (and gave us an insight on the city best places), found a russian-speaking guide, organized taxi service and were always ready to help, but for we needed! many thanks, Hicham and Ibrahim!

The hotel is just in the heart of Medina, all the main sightseeing spots are within the walking distance, so the location is just perfect!

Highly recommended and definetely will go back!

Room Tip: Superior suite has breathtaking 17th century ceiling and in-room bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great few days here in the terrace suite. The room is spacious, private and comfortable with its own fire place that staff will happily set up for you on cold winter nights. The staff at the Riad are very helpful and friendly and will make arrangements for guides etc as required. You can also have meals - delicious ones! - at the Riad if you give a few hours notice. The roof top terrace is great with lots of loungers and outdoor sofas. In all honesty the private section of the terrace that came with our suite was not worth much as it's pretty much always shaded. The main negative of the Riad is the location at the far end of the medina. This adds an authentic feel as there are very few tourists around, but also means that getting anywhere is a hassle. You either need to negotiate with cab drivers every time or you need to find your way through the medina (you will definitely get lost a few times). The quiet section around the Riad can also feel a little intimidating at night time. Overall, good experience but next time would look for a Riad closer to the main square.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinwenden, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ryad Dyor was an oasis of tranquility amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The dyor, itself is located in a "no-car" zone of the Medina, but the staff arranged transportation to the closest point and then a porter took our luggage and led us to the ryad from the drop-off point through the twists and turns of the Medina to the ryad. The moment we walked inside, the din and clamor of the Medina faded away and we were greeted with mint tea and pastries. The staff was very gracious and made every effort to make the ryad our home away from home. My wife and I decided to eat dinner at the ryad, and we were not disappointed (the beef and date tagine was amazing as was the ambiance and atmosphere of eating dinner fireside). We decided to eat dinner at the ryad the next night as well. Breakfasts were also very delicious as well. Everything about the ryad was top-notch, from the beautiful decor and tranquil atmosphere to the attentive service and delightful meals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have traveled to many places around the world and stayed in many big names hotels, Ryad Dyor is one of the best places that I have ever stayed in terms of hospitality, food, city guidance, tidiness.
The Ryad Dyor is also a peace of art if we talk about architecture, every single detail from the entrance to the bathrooms.

They will definitely help you to have a great experience in Marrakech as the stuff are very helpful friendly that you feel that you are family and very professional, but also make sure to try their delicious fresh food as me and my wife agreed that we had the best dinner in Marrakech at Ryad Dyor.
Definitely if we are going again to Marrakech it will be Ryad Dyor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Suite great one, You cant really tell which suite or room are the best as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Dyor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dyor

Address: 1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dyor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina of Marrakech, two ryads have been transformed into a fabulous guesthouse with plunge pool. The owners have now added their personal touch to this ryad in Marrakech. Let yourself be surprised by the stunning atmosphere of the Medina's streets and alleys, leading to the doors of Ryad Dyor. Behind these doors an oasis of serenity welcomes you....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia and Venere so you can book your Ryad Dyor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Dyor Marrakech
Ryad Dyor Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Dyor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.