We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow...................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dyor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Dyor to your Saves list
Ryad Dyor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow...................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We started and finished our two week trip in Marrakech and having stayed in a variety of places all over the place we needed to spoil ourselves , we had a great time everywhere but the last two days at Ryad Dyor were really great and I agree with (vanderghast79) the care taken by Isham and Brahim was second to none ............ I think the team numbered six, the girls need a mention too. Spotless rooms beds turned back and we needed a good scrub n got one too THANKS GIRLS THANKS GUYS FOR AN ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS TIME . ( Staying here was like "the icing on the cake.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lencois, BA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This ryad has the best service of any place I've stayed in on 5 continents. The staff especially Isham and Ibrahim go out of their way to take care of the guests under their care all the while not making you feel as though you are imposing on them in any way with requests.

First, we had tried to call restaurants including La Mamounia and Royal Mansour for reservations during the new year period and told that bookings were full. The day before we arrived I asked Isham whether he could get us reservations and he said "I'm fact I used to work at Royal Mansour so do not worry I WILL get you reservations" and sure enough he did.

They arranged someone to meet our car when we arrived at the medina without us requesting. Our driver had called them and we did not have to give any instructions. This for me is the hallmark of excellent service, to figure out what the guest will want or need before they themselves know it and to have it ready before they ask for it.


Breakfast is anytime you ask for it, from 5 am to 3pm. And it is delicious.

Isham takes the trouble to find out what you are interested in, shopping, sightseeing, etc and will help you plan out an itinerary. If you are not up to dealing with hassle, he can arrange a car or a guide, with none of the margin that most hotels take on these arrangements. He'll even help with the rest of your trip arrangements after you leave marrakech if you need help.

Ibrahim is soft spoken but solicitous. Whenever we had a special request he quickly moved to take care of it.

While we were they had a guest who was ill and the staff had mobilIzed to take care of him with the kitchen preparing him whatever food he needed and Isham updating the family of how the guest was doing.

The design of the ryad is a Moroccan Balinese minimalist modern mix. In essence this means they lots of modern white walls with sparse decorative Moroccan accents and Balinese style wood furniture. The minimalist white theme allows the decorative accents to stand out without having the overpowering effect of being in an antique shop. The Balinese furniture has been overdone everywhere else but here works well here in combinations with the Moroccan bits. A

There are some drawbacks. One is that the engineering of the ryad as with most riads in Marrakech is not great. What do I mean? For example wifi reception is very variable depending on which part of the room or ryad you are in. This is probably a function of thick walls and the iron filigree work on all the windows which in theory is perfect electromagnetic shielding. Second the shower hot water is also variable sometimes very hot sometimes hot for 5 minutes then lukewarm. My sense is that this is a common ryad issue because it is difficult to get the plumbing absolutely right in the conservation area. Limitations on how large a water tank they can put on the roof also probably contribute.

Staying in this ryad was the single best experience of our trip to Morocco. Y

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanderghast79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice hotel!!!
Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful... The rooms are very cleaned and well decorated.
The breakfast was superb and they did not know what else they could do to please us.

Honestly, no words to describe this piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filipe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Ryad Dyor for 4 nights in October 2012, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Our hosts Adil and Ibrahim were so friendly and helpful that it really made a real difference to our stay. Our room was fabulous and very comfortable (we were lucky enough to receive an upgrade on arrival), and the whole property is done beautifully. Breakfast was extensive and excellent (pastries, eggs, bread, cheese, fruit salad, local pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice etc), and we found we didn't really need lunch later in the day.

The Ryad is located in the north medina and is a bit of a walk from the main square through the souks. It is an easy journey once you get your bearings, and we really liked to location as it is clearly a more residential area that is not teeming with tourists - you can get an idea of real life in the medina just on the walk to centre.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Ryad Dyor again. It really was lovely and the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaro, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I do not know what to value more highly, the amazingly helpfull staff or the beautifully designed rooms. We stayed in the Ryad Ryor for 5 nights in total with some breaks in between and what a joy it was. The managers Adil and Ibrahim made us feel very very welcome and helped us in every possible. We really hope to return to this Ryad in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bovens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were very impressed by the service at this beautiful ryad. On arrival, mid-morning, we were welcomed with mint tea, pastries and fruit, a foretaste of the sumptuous breakfast served in the morning.
Our room was a decent size for a ryad which by their nature tend to be on the cozy side. Decor was stylish but not overly design-mad. It was about 10-15 mins walk from the Djemaa el Fna, but it was a fascinating stroll through the souks and we had no problems winding our way through the alleys.
Anil and the staff could not have been more helpful. They offered to store a bag for us when we went trekking and then offered us a spare room to shower when we returned en route for the airport, again supplying tea and pastries.
The ryad has lovely areas to lounge around in, either by the pool, around the courtyard or up on the rooftop, but somehow we ended up being too busy to do much lounging! My only criticism would be the beds were a bit harder than I like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 932JoziLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Ryad Dyor is a beautiful boutique riad.  It's small number of rooms translates to a feeling of being a visitor in a Marrakech home.  For us, the hallmark of our stay was the personal service we received from the riad staff. The included breakfast (which included a simple, fresh omelette) was when and where we wanted it. Dinner was the same...one night on the rooftop terrace, and inside on a cooler night.  Each day, when we discussed dinner plans with our hosts, they made helpful suggestions for dishes.  The meals were a variety of traditional Moroccan dishes, and all wonderful. 

Our room was oh so very comfortable, and the housekeeping staff kept everything tidy and fresh. Toiletries and other amenities were just right. 

I would return to the Ryad Dyor without any hesitation. 

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullbunkySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dyor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dyor

Address: 1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dyor 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina of Marrakech, two ryads have been transformed into a fabulous guesthouse with plunge pool. The owners have now added their personal touch to this ryad in Marrakech. Let yourself be surprised by the stunning atmosphere of the Medina's streets and alleys, leading to the doors of Ryad Dyor. Behind these doors an oasis of serenity welcomes you....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Dyor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Dyor Marrakech
Ryad Dyor Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing