We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dyor

Save Saved
You added Ryad Dyor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Dyor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I'm not one for writing reviewing but on this occasion I just had to. Ryad Dyor truly is an amazing place, the rooms are of the highest order with an eclectic mixture of traditional and modern. But this review is not solely to do with premises as this would be nothing without the attentive yet professional staff that made the experience take on another level.

Said, Abdou and ibrahim, excelled on all departments, from arranging excursions to recommending restaurants but most importantly they made you feel welcome and part of their extended family.

Just to mention, after trying numerous restaurants, which were all of a high standard, the best food was cooked at the Ryad Dyor itself, so please, if staying there, do try their menu, you will not be disappointed.

I've travelled to many places but this is one of the few places where I truly felt sad to leave.

Long may the excellent Ryad Dyor reign.

I for one, will be returning as soon as possible.

Aman

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
85
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wevelgem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Rad Dyor had been recommended by friends. The rooms so unique and stylish decorated with real antique pieces. The food is delicious and the staff made us feel at home from the first moment. When we met the owner Alberto we understood immediately why Ryad Dyor was so unique in atmosphere and hospitality. We were lucky to stay there as princesses during 5 days and will hopefully be back soon.

Room Tip: Each room has a different character. We took the smaller room as we travelled as friends, but for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Ryad Dyor - what an amazing little find this was. First impression when you walk inside is wow - the attention to detail with the interior design is perfect - very yet chic yet warm and cosy. All of the staff are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We have travelled much over the years and I have to say our suite was one of the best hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. The room had an ambience created from the lighting, fabrics and colours used to create it. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the Atlas Mountains was one of the many highlights, as was the home cooked food which was better than any of the food in restaurants we had visited by good recommendation from foodies - next time we visit, it will be food in Ryad Dyor or street food in the square, as everywhere else was a disappointment. It was sad to leave Ryad Dyor as our experience there was so wonderful. Such lovely people too, for example we left a travel journal in our room and Said the Manager posted it back to us in the UK - nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend the riad to anyone looking to experience the real thing - we had not been able to book into our first choices on tripadvisor due to them being fully booked. Having checked out the other riad's in person whilst we were in Marrakech, we can firmly say Ryad Dyor surpases the others that hold top positions on tripadvisor. The other riads just didn't feel real or staff were quite surly by comparison.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are bigger than others so give them a call or email them and they will talk you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 4 days in Marrakech in December and stayed at Ryad Dyor. This place was nothing but perfect. The moment you stepped in behind the big blue door you felt at home. This ryad is a really nice place away from all the people and noice in Marrakech - but still perfectly located close to everything. Our room was really beautiful and there was everything we needed. Not to mention the delicious breakfast, which was served at the roof top terrace. The staff was the most helpful people I have ever met - they did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as possible. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed there for just one night (intended to stay 4 but had our hearts set on suite 7 with the private roof terrace which was only available for one). Beautifully designed and furnished rooms, walking distance to the souk (and even djamaa el fna square - which was easy enough to walk to in daylight but would have probably got lost in the dark as there is hardly any street signs anywhere), fabulous restaurant just around the corner (which you'd never find unless someone takes you there on recommendation), friendly and helpful staff, overall a pleasant stay but the private roof terrace didnt quite meet the expectations as you go up the main staircase which als leads to the main roof terrace so everyone else passes by and the main one gets a lot more sun (which is a good thing in late October) so we ended up sepnding more time on the common one and therefore wouldnt pay the extra again). Massive bathtub in the bathroom of suite 7 is impossible to even fill up to a quarter before the water gets cold, shower is decent though, bed comfy but the lights in the staircase didnt work, fridge in the room was broken also, the thin sheets too cold for the time fo year and they didnt have any duvets or blankets, breakfast was 15min delayed which usually wouldnt bother us at all while on holiday but we had to catch a flight which staff was aware of and therefore had to give it a miss in the end. Overall conclusion: Its a wonderful place and the staff is nice but a couple of tiny things made us feel as if its maybe no longer up to the standard it used to once be and that you'd expect for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ryad Dyor, a very cosy, fine place with beautiful rooms and very good service.
We booked airport transfer, 1 dinner, hammam treatment, trip to the atlas mountains and several restaurants in the hotel, and everything worked without a single problem.

The Ryad has a family like atmosphere and the three gentlemen: Said, Abdou and Ibrahim made us really feel like at home. Any problem we had, they solved it.

Reccomendations for restaurants they make: you can accept them blindly. All of the places they sent us to were more than excellent. Some were (as requested by us) traditional moroccan food and some also served international cuisine.

Now after the trip I can say that for us the stay directly in the medina was definitely a far better choice than staying in a hotel in the modern part of the city (we were not sure before we booked). Everything is in walking distance and for trips to the modern part you can use a taxi or even walk one way if you enjoy 30min walks. the other way round we think it would have been far more expensive for us.

It is the little things that sometimes also impress: each room has an ipod docking station which we found a great idea! Also for breakfast, we were able to choose where we wanted to have it: on our private terrace or beside the little pool in the back or in the first yard at the front, etc. etc.

We really enjoyed our stay and are definitely going to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

I do not have the photos downloaded yet and might amend this later, BUT I can say that the photos on the website of the hotel are really showing the truth, which usually is not the case and to be honest we also did not expect. But they are telling the truth!

Room Tip: we had the room with the private terrace, but as all 7 or 8 rooms are different, I am not sure what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip before heading to the mountains to climb Toubkal and run a marathon from the ski resort of Oukaimeden then returned for a final night at the end. The staff were incredibly helpful even from before we arrived in Morocco, quickly responding to my emails with questions about our plans and offering assistance in organising. We had two different rooms - the patio suite then the junior suite - both beautifully presented; clean, comfortable, luxurious - wonderful bathrooms! We ate breakfast and dinner on the rooftop restaurant at the start of our trip and for our last night we were recommended to try Dar Zellij, a restaurant about 100m from Dyor - a restored 1700's ryad with gloriously intricate mosaics and woodwork that had our necks craning throughout the excellent meal. The Ryad was so tranquil in contrast to the mayhem of the Medina that we hardly felt any desire to venture outside and spent the majority of our time (about 99%) in our room. I will be recommending this to anyone I meet who is thinking about a trip to Marrakesh.

Also to note: we took advantage of the 50% offer otherwise we would have been unlikely to afford! Hence the excellent value!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Dyor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dyor

Address: 1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dyor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina of Marrakech, two ryads have been transformed into a fabulous guesthouse with plunge pool. The owners have now added their personal touch to this ryad in Marrakech. Let yourself be surprised by the stunning atmosphere of the Medina's streets and alleys, leading to the doors of Ryad Dyor. Behind these doors an oasis of serenity welcomes you....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ryad Dyor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Dyor Marrakech
Ryad Dyor Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Dyor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.