We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Surprise 21st Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dyor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Dyor to your Saves list
Ryad Dyor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Surprise 21st Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I spent three night here as a surprise for my 21st birthday with my family and a group of friends. I had a truly magical experience and staff were so friendly and made the whole stay very memorable. They made my actual birthday very different and special by decorating the roof terrace and throwing petal over me when i entered the Ryad. I can not think of a better way to spending my birthday and part of this was down to the lovely staff at the ryad. I would definitely recommend ryad dior if you are celebrating any sort of special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    24
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
91
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Good Ryad Good service perfect place to stay close to medina good helps from staf
the rooms are great and service excellent

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our trip to Marrakech this past May (2011) was truly magical, made possible by our new friends at Ryad Dyor. From the moment we landed at the airport to our final farewells, the staff made us feel like part of their family. Because this was our first trip to Marrakech and we wanted to stay for 7 nights, we opted for their full week package. This alleviated any concerns we had about airport transfers, finding drivers, guides, etc. during the planning process and included many great perks. More on this later… As we quickly discovered while searching for the “perfect” hotel in Marrakech, the process was overwhelming. There are so many riads/ryads to choose from and all look amazing, but the services and package options drew us to Ryad Dyor. Not to mention the décor and location, which proved to be the perfect walking distance away from the main square and souks (markets).

Upon arrival at the airport on Saturday afternoon, we easily found the driver that Ryad Dyor had arranged, and were quickly on our way into the Medina (inside the city walls). This first taste of the hustle and chaos that makes Marrakech so interesting, was exhilarating. After about a 15 minute ride, the car stopped in a little square, where we were met by a nice man who put all our bags into a push-cart. We followed him on a 10 minute walk through a “maze” of narrow streets and alleys, ending at Ryad Dyor. As was typical throughout the entire week, we were greeted by one of the staff - Abdo this time – who led us into the ryad’s beautiful inner courtyard. The tranquility of the Ryad’s main guest area was such a contrast from the bustle of Marrakech and had an instant calming effect. Before going up to our room, we were served mint tea and little pastries and soon felt comfortable chatting with Abdo about the trip and the days to come. Like the entire staff, Abdo made us feel instantly at ease and showed us a map of the city and location of the ryad. What a welcome!

Because we had come from Boston, MA and we knew we’d be tired from the flights, we had arranged to eat at the Ryad this first night up on the terrace overlooking the city. Ibrahim, another of the ryad’s staff, greeted us on the terrace and opened a bottle of a very tasty Moroccan white wine. The ambiance on the terrace was made very serene by the comfortable furniture and overall design of the space. This meal was probably the best food we ate all week and the service was superb! The 1st course of multiple “salads” was a meal in itself and each dish was unique and delicious. The chicken tagine arrived sizzling and like the other food we ate at the ryad, was amazing. Ibrahim was gracious, polite and friendly this night and throughout the entire week. Very helpful, funny, and attentive to all our needs ranging from arranging reservations to simply giving directions around the city.

On Sunday morning, we met Es Said for the first time, who is the ryad’s general manager. Es Said, like Abdo and Ibrahim, was easy going, friendly, gracious and very helpful during our stay. While eating a complete and delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, and breads, Es Said discussed the day’s guided walking tour he had arranged for us as part of the package. And later in the evening after a full day of walking the city, Es Said and Ibrahim played important roles after I proposed to Erika! As part of my plan, they emerged onto the terrace moments after I popped the question (and she said yes!) with a bottle of champagne and celebrated the moment with us. A special time that I will never forget.

All of the activities and day trips arranged by Ryad Dyor throughout the week were well organized. The walking tour guide was fluent in English, very knowledgeable and provided insights into the history and culture of Marrakech. The day trip to the fishing village, Essaouira, was a fun getaway and we recommend eating lunch down by the harbor at one of the fresh fish stalls where they prepare and grill the fresh fish caught that morning. Our “spa” afternoon at the Ryad was very relaxing and included manicures, pedicures and a hammam.

The Ryad itself is a wonderful oasis within the busy city. The chic décor and interior design made us feel right at home and included all the amenities and free wireless internet. There are only a total of seven (7) suites, and we stayed in the Arab Suite 2.

A helpful hint…… Part of the charm of Marrakech is the reality that almost everything is negotiable. Be on your toes and you will soon learn how to politely haggle in the markets and for taxi fares. It is actually fun and even though some of the stall owners can be “professionally persistent” you are ultimately the final decision maker. Only pay what you feel is fair. If price is too high, then chances are you can find the same item just around the corner for less. Negotiating is expected and once the final price is agreed upon, the seller is always polite and gracious for your business.

Whether staying for a full week or just a few nights, we highly recommend Ryad Dyor as an authentic riad with exceptional service, amazing food, modern and comfortable décor and a wonderful spa. It is an oasis within Marrakech and we will certainly go back as it exceeded our expectations.

A few recommended restaurants we ate at:

Dar Zellij: Highly recommend this beautiful restaurant with amazing food. It is just around the corner from Ryad Dyor.

Terrasse des e´spices: We ate a few lunches here, situated in the heart of the medina

Riad Des Epices: Had a great lunch up on the terrace. Walk all the way to top of building.

Al Fassia in Gueliz: Make sure you confirm reservations in the location that is in Gueliz (the new part of city). Authentic and amazing food

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We spent a truly wonderful week in this Ryad at the end of March. The Ryad is a beautifully restored and tastefully decorated historic residence in the Medina run by friendly locals. From the moment we arrived in this stylish haven, Said the manager and his team made us feel welcome and at home with their warm hospitality and friendly smiles. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make sure we had a fabulous time in Marrakech. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts served on the rooftop, mint tea and sweets served in the beautiful coutryard after returning from daytrips. The in house hamam was bliss and I also highly recommend the guided tour of the city. A big thank you to Said and his satff for making our stay in Marrakech such a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakech and we heard of this place from an article in a magazine. We had a great time. The staff at the riad were so friendly and helpful, the food was amazing, the breakfast on the rooftop was fabulous, the hamam and massage was wonderful and the ambiance was perfect. This riad has beautiful decor in that it is traditional with great use of color and space and mixed with modern lines but light and airy as well. There are many beautiful artifacts in the riad one being our amazing ceiling and gorgeous dome light fixture. The bed and seating were very comfortable.
This riad is tucked away in the middle of the medina. It is off the beaten path but still walking distance to the souks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Myself and two friends have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ryad Dyor and had a truly memorable time!
This delightful, beautiful and stylish Ryad is an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the winding streets of the medina.
From the moment we arrived Said and his wonderful team went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, Said was so helpful, he recommended places to eat and visit, and arranged absolutely everything for us.
Breakfast was served in the sunshine on the rooftop terrace and was an impressive freshly prepared feast! We ate in for 3 nights out of the 4 as dinner was superb also, served when ever and where ever we desired, it was so relaxed and flexible, we were thoroughly spoilt!
The in house spa and hamman are an absolute must after a busy day in the souks!
I recommend that you have a guide to show you around the medina for a day, we had one which Said arranged and he was excellent!
I had read reports on Trip Advisor prior to our departure but I could not have imagined our stay here would be quite so special, in no small part thanks to Said and his team. Said is a very warm and unique person and takes enormous pleasure and pride in ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as it can be. A MASSIVE thank you for making our stay just perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

This hotel is amazing. We had such a great time! Beautiful place to stay in Marrakech. The interior looks amazing and is done by the owner Alberto.
Also the staff is ready for you 24 hours a day. Such great people.
A wonderful place that feels like home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Dyor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dyor

Address: 1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dyor 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina of Marrakech, two ryads have been transformed into a fabulous guesthouse with plunge pool. The owners have now added their personal touch to this ryad in Marrakech. Let yourself be surprised by the stunning atmosphere of the Medina's streets and alleys, leading to the doors of Ryad Dyor. Behind these doors an oasis of serenity welcomes you....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Dyor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Dyor Marrakech
Ryad Dyor Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Dyor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.