We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Riad Edward to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arrival we were greeted by Amin and Youseff who were so friendly and helpful and immediately made us feel at home. Having never been to Morocco before,we did not know what to expect but all our expectations were exceeded. The Riad was charming and beautifully presented. All the staff were most helpful and so friendly and we had some beautiful meals. The rooms were very comfortable with a lovely outlook onto the swimming pool set in the middle of the Riad. It was a short walk to the magnificent Gardens of Majorelle (Jardin Marjorelle) which are a must visit place. Thanks to all the staff Youssef, Hassan, Sayid, Hamza and Amin who made our stay really,memorable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    24
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite simply - we will never say anywhere else again. We LOVED Riad Edward - the character, the rooms, the courtyards, the position within the Medina, and most of all - the staff! Youssef, Hassan, Sayid, Hamza and Amin made our stay really, really memorable. They will bend over backwards to make sure that your stay is enjoyable, comfortable and fun. They each speak at least four or five languages. Madame le chef is excellent and all of the cleaning staff are so kind and friendly. Our stay was topped off perfectly by Monsieur le chat et Monsieur le tortou! Riad Edward is like a home-from-home, and even after only 5 days, the staff are like family. By the end of the trip they were all calling my mum 'mama'! My mum and I are vegetarian, and they went the extra mile to make sure that we were very well fed and watered. They greeted us on foot from the local car park so that we didn't get lost in the winding derbs, spent time with maps showing us where to go, gave us advice about dealing with traders and taxi drivers and told us to ring them if we ever got lost so that they could come and meet us. Nothing was too much trouble. We were so glad that we didn't stay in a hotel. The ambiance and decor of this place are perfect. We would highly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech. We're planning our next trip back to Riad Edward already!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with friends for a weekend trip to Marrakesh and it was our home away from home. The staff were very friendly, helpful and provided us with excellent service. Location is super central, a stones throw away from the busy souk and the famous Jemaa el-Fnaa. Good wifi connection in our room, clean facilities and a nice hot shower =)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with family after travelling around Morocco. Was a wonderfully tranquil hideaway in the middle of the bustling city. Once in, we didnt venture out again and absorbed the calming atmosphere. The staff were incredibly helpful and i wish we had booked for more than one night. It was charming. Have. Mistakenly bought key home.....That has gone back to you all ready by post. Sorry!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing. If you want to experience the real Morocco then this is the place to stay. We arrived quite late and we were welcomed by Simo with a selection of Moroccan cake and mint tea. The place was lit up with candles and it was just heaven.
The Riad is so close the souks. We got lost a couple of times and after spend a day at the souks we would come back here from the mayhem and just relax.
The top terrace was amazing. Had some fantastic views especially at sunset. I really do recommend going here. I have noticed that Marks and Spencers and Millie Mackintosh are currently here shooting their summer fashion range here...im not surprised as it really gives you that Moroccan feeling. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Our first time in Morocco, a bit of a culture shock, as expected, for our family of Londoners. Riad Edward we found to meet all our basic needs. It is run by friendly and very helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure we got the best of our short time in Marrakech. Special thanks go to Amine.

We had breakfasts and a couple of evening meals at Riad Edward. All meals were delicious and plentiful. The menu is comprehensive enough and the kitchen will accommodate special orders if reasonably possible to do so.

We stayed in "the annex", two bedrooms one of which has a massive bed, the other a standard size double bed, an open courtyard, a lounge leading onto a further room with a single bed on either side, leading on to the bathroom.

Although the rooms are spacious and basic they are clean and you have what you need to get by. Wifi? Yep, not widespread, but fast enough when you can get it. TV? No (did we miss it, no). Telephone in room? No (did we need it, no). Mini bar? No (come on.. this is not hotel, if you want a hotel experience - go book a hotel).

Relaxing around the main inner courtyard is something else. A really nice area. We loved it there, sitting beside the pool, enjoying the warmth of the sun (when it came through - we unfortunately picked a weekend when the weather was changeable).

There is so much to see in this Riad, multiple floors, lots of nooks and crannies, a roof terrace or two. We loved our stay at Riad Edward.

Located in the Midina, Riad Edward is well placed but impossible to find first time round. The Riad staff collect you from the taxi drop off point or meet you at the airport. It doesn't take long to get your bearings in order to find your way back, or at least close by.

We found the locals friendly, the traders not quite as pushy as we had feared. The souks are a warren of passageways, very busy it seemed to us, probably because everything is so narrow and crammed in. The mopeds are something else, as is the navigation at road junctions. We didn't see any accidents, thankfully.

Plenty of museums and places of interest. A new town and an old town. You won't get bored in Marrakech.

Would we go back and stay again at Riad Edward? Most definitely we would do so - good value for money.

PS I will add photos later.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This was our first visit to Marrakech and stay in a Riad. We went as a family of four and riad slept six. There was plenty of space and felt like home away from home! It is a beautifully decorated riad. We loved the roof terrace where we served a delicious breakfast every morning. This really is a tranquil place - quite a contrast from the bustling souks in the Medina.

The staff are excellent. Sumo is the manager and always on hand to help book taxis and make dinner reservations and tours. We booked a tour to Atlas mountains in our own private taxi and if you can ask for Abdou to take you. He made our trip a memorable trip and he knows the right places to eat and the best guide to help you get to the waterfall safely!Thank you Abdou!Also the staff are very helpful. Youssef had only started the week we went there but it seemed he had been there ages and is very humble and happy to meet your respect. My son asked to ketchup for his chips and Youssef actually went out and bought some for him. That is exceptional service! Amine carried our bags to and from the transfer taxi and also escorted us by foot to set us off in the right direction for our walks to the Medina.
We would love to revisit one day and know exactly where to stay to feel at home and be amongst people who care about your stay. We stayed 5 nights and it was just about right and the weather was great.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Address: 10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Edward Marrakech
Riyad Edward Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Riad Edward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.