We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place especially for a celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Edward

Save Saved
You added Riyad Edward to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riyad Edward
Derb Marestane 10, Zaouia | Abbassia, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Woking
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant place especially for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in November for a long weekend to celebrate a special birthday with some friends, 14 in total. Beatriz and her staff made us all feel totally at home in this lovely riad. Everthing was taken care of, nothing was too much trouble, including airport transfers, food choices, drinks on terrace or in rooms, restaurant recommendations and bookings, and superb breakfasts for all 14 of us on the terrace!
Slightly further away from the normal tourist riads making an enjoyable walk to see the real walled city not normally seen. All rooms had their own Morrocan charm with en suite bathrooms, clean and comfortable.
With their sister hotel Bab Ourika in the mountains, we had a great Day trip out for lunch and some of our friends extended their holiday to double their Morrocan experience.
Have been to Marrakech before but would return to Riad Edward again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms authentic, artistic, clean , breakfast on the terrace in the sun was very special, supper in the courtyard candle lit was very atmospheric, food brilliant, very quiet, and lovely Beatrice and her team just could not do more to help, this is a treasure of a place brilliantly restored.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

So when walking to this Riyad, you will ask yourself..."where the heck are we going...omg". you open this tiny door, and go into an incredibly beautiful Riyad - amazing rooms, courtyard with pool, roof etc. Great place - and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italien
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What we were looking for we finally found, not easy with the loads of offers at Marrakesch: a Riad which preserved its 500 year old original charme thanks to the affectionate and careful restoration of its owners. Who's looking for the hip and stylish Marrakesch is definitely wrong here, but who loves the feeling having stepped back in time and diving in an almost declined world will feel at home. Riad Edward is situated outside of the main souk shopping frenzy, this makes you feel part of the normal life of the Medina. Not far away is the lively square Bab Tarzout with its daily market and many small shops, a 15 minutes walk through the souks or a 5 minutes taxi drive takes you to Jemma al Fna.
Our light and tastefully furnished suite with high cedar ceilings and beautiful old tiles was situates on the 1st floor and opened to the tropically planted patio with a magnificent pool. In the evening we relaxed on the the bedrooms fireside with a glass of red wine. The roof terrace with panoramic views of the Medina is a dream, at the beginning of April it was yet to cold for us using it often. Beatriz and her friendly and attentive staff made us feel at home and helped us in many ways. Riad Edwards is an oasis of peace and calm, early in the morning birds and the muezzin from nearby Sidi Sliman are greeting the new day. We will be back, inshallah!
Don't miss I Limoni: excellent italian restaurant nearby, chill atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel looks old. Almost impossible to find it yourself if you don't know the road. The staff was very friendly. The hotel itself and the rooms were clean. There is a small pool in the yard. Breakfast is available in the morning. There is a nice view over the city from the terrace upstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a tricky one to write - as the first part of our Morocco trip was staying in the divine Kasbah Bab Ourika (the sister hotel) and this place is utterly different in every way!
What it offers is very good value for money and one excellent member of staff - a lady called Sena - who works extremely hard to meet guests needs from setting up and cooking breakfast, to all the clearing away and washing up, to drinks service on the roof if you want it and much more besides!!!! And she smiles cheerfully throughout! She made us a delicious home cooked meal one evening too. The service rating below represents her hard work (other areas of service a bit lacking).
The location outside of the madness of the central Medina is lovely (once you've got used to finding it!) and sun downers on the roof were such a lovely way to start each evening.
However what this place lacks is a bit of TLC in lots of ways and the guy in charge while we were there is a young guy probably doing his best . . . but we had 3 room changes in 3 days (lots of issues with hot water or lack of and leaks and all sorts and being locked out of main part of Riyad one morning from room on side??!! - bring you sense of humour with you!) and didn't get an overall sense that the place is well managed and cared for and loved (worryingly skinny scrawny house cat, Couscous).
It does have a lovely sense of peace and tranquillity in the central courtyard and the rooms are quirky and interesting . . . and despite some of the hiccups and issues we would probably go back there again. I agree with some of the other reviews that it's not excellent - but it's got enough charm and is relatively cheap and I guess it's a case of you get what you pay for here!

Room Tip: I liked the light bright rooms around the central courtyard - but my partner preferred the suite we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After reading the reviews I was expecting great things from Riyad Edward and I was'nt disapointed. Although its not right in the center of the medina (about a 5/10 min walk) I would say this is a good thing, means that you can easily get to all the places you want to go but are not constantly hasseled by "guides". I would recomend this to anyone going to Marrackech and will definatly be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Edward

Address: Derb Marestane 10, Zaouia | Abbassia, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riyad Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Edward Marrakech
Riyad Edward Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Edward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.