We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine yourself transported back to a Marrakech house party in the 1930s...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Riad Edward to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Imagine yourself transported back to a Marrakech house party in the 1930s...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Imagine yourself transported back to a Marrakech house party in the 1930s and you will have some sense of what a stay at Riyad Edward is like. Located a little out of the way in the Medina (and therefore in an area blissfully free of potential ‘guides’, the moment you walk out of the door), but still only a short walk to the souks and Place dJemaa el-Fna, the Riyad retains its original features, onto which the present owner has grafted a veneer of (ever so slightly louche) glamour, adding antiques and local objets d’art.

After being warmly welcomed by Beatriz, and a ubiquitous glass of sweet mint tea, you might perhaps while away the afternoon on the roof-top terrace with panoramic views of the Medina, taking the occasional refreshing dip in the courtyard pool (admittedly fairly chilly in the autumn!), before choosing to eat dinner (Bushra’s tagines are quite the best in Marrakech) in candle-lit courtyard, or in the majestic dining room with a roaring fire (for those chillier evenings). The following morning have breakfast when you’re ready, on any one of the myriad small sun-bathed terraces around the riyad, before heading off to explore.

Pleasantly rough around the edges, and ever so authentic, Riyad Edward is a refreshing antidote to an over-polished 5-star international hotel – but with service that is never less than genuine and personal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, and try and stretch to one of the (junior) suites: the studio s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Hidden away down narrow streets, the riad has quaint old fashioned charm, a nice pool big enough to swim and a comfortable rooftop sun terrace which isn't overlooked by neighbouring buildings. Outside is a rabbit warren of bustling street markets and little shops, food stalls and workshops serving the local community. There are no tourist restaurants nearby.The centre is a short (but always action packed !) taxi or bus ride away, or you can walk through the souk, (compass advised, go due south), ignoring offers to mislead you. We ate in twice, meals simple and good and they are happy to prepare whatever you want. Beatriz the manager will recommend and book restaurants and a car to take you in the evening. Wherever you stay in Marrakech sleep is punctuated by the call to prayer, a mosque is on virtually every street corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a deal with sister hotel, Kasbah Bab Ourika and received one night free, which made it very economical. Originally an Englishman's house, this feels as if it hasn't moved on. Furnishings are simple but pleasant. The courtyard pool and shady sitting areas on the ground floor are relaxing and very welcome after a hot day in the market. The breakfasts are good; the lunch less so; we went to the riad next door for lunch and it was very good. We stayed in August when the weather was very hot and the lack of functioning aircon or fans made the nights a bit unbearable, but the staff bought floor fans when asked. The roof terrace was a little more airy and a good place to chill in the morning or evening. The bathrooms were basic and slightly smelly from the drains, but certainly nothing that should deter the average traveller. The staff were very attentive and tried hard to be helpful. All in all, it was a good introduction to Marrakech but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a lovely, quiet and relatively cool hideaway from the frenetic activity and heat of the Old Town of Marrakech. Full of character and with friendly and helpful staff, We found this an excellent place to recouperate from our three day trekking expedition to the High Atlas mountains. It has a decent sized plunge pool and our room was generously sized. The food is also to be recommended. It is a bit hard to find again after the first venture into the mazy streets of the Medina, but probably no more so than most riads in that area. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The fun starts when you see your luggage disappearing down narrow lanes deep into the medina with a wonderful glimpse into local life as you chase - you'll soon get used to left, left, left to reach the heavy door down the alleyway. And soon you'll find yourself in a world of tranquility, surrounded by retro chic with rooms over three stories centred around a large and magnificent pool. The suites are fantastic and each room has its own character. The rooftop dining is a terrific experience with excellent food and attentive staff only too happy to chat about Morocco, politics, religion and anything else. The riad is wonderfully quiet after the bustle of the medina and the walk to the museum, souks and market square is fascinating - and safe. Well, we've booked again.

Room Tip: Have no worries, the whole place is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night after 3 days of trekking in the Atlas mountains. I'd recommend arranging for assistance getting there as it's not easy to find the first time (no signage anywhere to be seen). Once inside though, the courtyard and pool is absolutely stunning - an incredible place to retreat to after a few hours in the Medina. Beatriz was very helpful and friendly. We actually had the place to ourselves and decided to eat in at night - whilst simple, the food was probably the best we ate in Morocco. Excellent salads. The staff lit candles around the courtyard so the atmosphere was quite romantic. Unfortunately, the rooms don't overlook the courtyard, on the upside though they are very private. Location is 20min walk from main square but very easy to find cabs that get you there for about 1 euro/10 dirhams. Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had been planning to propose to my now fiancée and when I mentioned this to Beatriz she was so accommodating and helpful. Beginning with the coordination of a driver who met us at the Marrakech airport, we were taken to the medina where a staff member from the hotel carried our luggage into the Riyad. Cars can't reach the riyad door, but it is only a short (minute or so) walk from the road. Upon entering, our bags were whisked away to our room and we were served mint tea in the courtyard by the pool. There was a nice cat ("Couscous", I believe) and some turtles who kept us company. Otherwise, it felt much of the time as though we had the place to ourselves. Also, when we went to our room there was a special little romantic surprise: rose petals on the bed. Quite a nice touch, and all around we felt very special and the whole staff seemed to know about the proposal.

That first evening, we were taken by guide to an amazing restaurant (Fonduk).

The next day/night we traveled to Kasbah Bab Ourika, the sister hotel at the base of the Atlas mountains, and took the day trip to the waterfalls and a Berber village. I actually proposed at the Bab Ourika, but that story should probably go in the review for that hotel.

The ease of only dealing with one person for the two hotels was definitely a plus. When we came back from the Kasbah, we spent another night at Edward and walked to the jemaa el fna and the koutoubia mosque.

I can't remember the name of the room we were in but it was enormous. A lot of people seem to complain that the rooms are dark, but the simple fact that you are in the medina and surrounded on all sides by other buildings makes windows on more than one wall nearly impossible. During the day, there was plenty of light and at night, there are lights in the room. Not sure what people are expecting...

The breakfast on the roof every morning was as delicious as it was large: Cereal, coffee, toast, jam, eggs (cooked how you want), yogurt, orange juice. I have read that other places may make their own yogurt. That could be a possible improvement, although at the time I was not disappointed.

We had one dinner at the riyad. The tangines were delicious, and the portions were enormous. In fact, I felt a little guilty when I simply couldn't finish it all.

Our room had both a personal safe as well as a padlock and key for the door. There was also an air conditioner, but we didn't need to use it as the early April weather was perfect.

The rooftop terrace was beautiful and we spent several hours in the afternoon just relaxing in the shade.

All in all, the staff was incredibly helpful. Especially Beatriz and Leila who was I suppose the manager under Beatriz since she is involved with both Edward and the Kasbah.

We will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Address: 10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Edward Marrakech
Riyad Edward Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Riad Edward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.