We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jomana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jomana to your Saves list
Riad Jomana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

First visit to Marrakech. Took taxi from airport (70 DM) which dropped me off in Bab Doukkala square. I must have looked lost, as a local kid immediately engaged me in conversation and walked me directly to Jomana...I gave him 30 DM for his trouble. (It would have been very tough to find it amongst the narrow alleyways otherwise). Unless you're a confident traveller I would recommend Emailing Youssef to prearrange an airport transfer (15 Euros - 150 DM).
On entering Jomana you sense the terrific character and tranquility. My room was superb with shower, toilet and bedroom being on 3 levels. I even had a 4-poster bed. The rooms were that lovely Moroccan character of dark wood, rugs and curtains. I had prearranged a meal with Youssef, which was terrific. (Salad / Chicken Tangine / Fruit salad). Youssef himself is a delightful character. It could not have been more helpful. He was also humouress, and speaks excellent English. Riad Jomana is to be thoroughly recommended.
Location : A 3 minute walk from Bab Doukkala square, where many taxis are available. The Riad is however quite some walk from Djemaa el-Fna.

Room Tip: I've no idea of the other rooms, however perhaps ask for the 'suite' which is on 3 level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    52
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
110
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

great host, nothing is a problem, 10 min walk to main square with cafe and bars en route. Clean and very quiet room. Great experience. Stayed 3 nights. Lovely sunbathing on the roof drinking mint teas and pastries watching the sun go down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Luckily we had arranged to be met at the airport by the hotel as I doubt we would have found it otherwise. Nestled between the very narrow paths of the medina, you have to complete the last bit of the journey by foot. That wasn't a problem for us but worth considering if you have mobility problems or heavy awkward luggage.

The host was very welcoming and helpful. We had a traditional Morrocan dinner which was delicious and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble.

We had a very large room just of the court yard with a double and a single bed. All very traditional. The space was amazing. Plenty of plug sockets and a good wifi signal. The shower room was basic but adequate. There was a step up to the shower room which again might be an issue for some people.

One thing you need to be aware of though, is the calling for prayers. If you are a light sleeper, this location is probably not suitable for you as the noise is quite loud. We heard it at 4am and 6am. This will be an issue with any of the Riads in the medina.

Anyway the hosts really made it for us. They were superb and very accomodating

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel. Room was provided with bathroom (no TV or fridge) which had hot water; bathroom separated from bedroom by curtain only so not much privacy. Breakfast was rather poor, as it was in most other hotels/riads in this country. We stayed there for 3 nights but did not sample their dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from weeks stay in riad jomana . What a wonderfully peaceful riad , our room was good , the staff were so friendly and helpful , especially yassine . Would recommend this riad to anyone , good value for money also .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed totally 6 days in Marrakech and had a wonderful and relaxing time in the Riad Jomana. The rooms are very clean and spacious. There was always hot water. The roof rerrasse was just great after long walks in the souks - we could hang around, enjoyed the marvellous view and drank tea and coffee offered from the Riad. The service was absolutely perfect. In fact, it couldn't have been better! The staff is very helpful, friendly and reliable. Not only is the location fantastic, but also the dinner. We ate twice at the Riad and we just loved the delicious couscous and the tajine. Should we ever visit Marrakech again, we would stay at this wonderful Riad. We can't imagine a better accommodation in Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved this place, very romantic, charming moroccan decoration in the riad and in the room, cozy room, bathroom (open to bedroom), staff went way above and beyond to be friendly and help us :)
Very well located in an authentic "neighborhood".


.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jomana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jomana

Address: 62 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jomana 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jomana, haven of peace and user-friendliness, will know how to enchant you with its Spanish-Moresque architecture. House of charm in the heart of the ochre city, jewel of intimacy and ultimate refuge for travellers in search of authenticity. Sober residence, formerly belonging to the former caravan leader, Riad Jomana has 2 suites and 2 rooms, articuled around a charming patio with Moresque fountain, terrace with tent. Unforgettable culinary journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Jomana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jomana Marrakech
Riad Jomana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jomana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.