We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dinner in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jomana

Save Saved
You added Riad Jomana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Jomana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Dinner in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 7 nights. We organised an airport transfer that picked us up promptly from the airport and were very glad we did as we would have had trouble finding it. However the following day the staff showed us how to get to the main square and gave us a map of the city as well as answering the many questions we had about our stay. The rooms were huge, beautifully decorated and well worth the money. We booked suite 2 but were upgraded to the larger suite on our first night which was a nice surprise. The location is perfect for all the major attractions including the main square and the souks, but just far enough out that it wasn't too noisy. There are prayer calls, but we weren't bothered by them at all (if anything they added to our stay). Breakfast is a mix of Moroccan cakes/pastries with butter and jam, tea/coffee, juice and yawmy yoghurt. There is some variety from day to day. The highlight was definitely the dinner which we had at the riad 3 times, delicious and lots of it too! The staff are all extremely friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a good one. Alll in all top marks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    50
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
104
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this riad for 3 nights in June and had a fantastic time. The riad was excellent for several reasons.

I had been in contact with the riad via email to arrange a transfer and also dinner on the first night as our flight arrived late in the evening. The staff were quick to reply and even confirmed the night before our flight. I recommend that when asking for the taxi you make the riad aware that you will need to change your money at the airport to make sure that they wait for you. When we arrived at the riad, we were greeted with lovely mint tea, biscuits, water and a map of the city, which the owner had marked the location of the riad on. This was really helpful, as the lonely planet guide is just not detailed enough in some parts.

We had booked a suite for our stay but were not shown to one and the owner explained that they had accidentally given the room to someone else. He was, however, extremely apologetic and said that he would sort something out whilst we were having dinner. Eventually we were shown to this absolutely amazing suite which more than made up for any confusion at the start.

Dinner was a lovely affair. It was basic, but the chicken tagine was absolutely delicious and the best we tasted throughout our stay. Breakfast was equally good - plenty of food to keep you going and delicious pancakes and breads.

The riad itself was clean, beautifully appointed and had the most amazing rooftop terrace. The owner was always around to offer mint tea and ask us if we needed anything. Other reviews mentioned the wi-fi – we found this to be very adequate for what we needed and could use it in our room although it was best down in the courtyard.

The location, in my opinion, is also perfect. It is a 15 minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of the square and there is an easy route to follow. Once you have done it the first time, you won’t have any problems finding your way back.

All in all, a lovely stay that was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for the suite. The red suite is the biggest and the best - absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for four nights in May. The Riyad is beautiful and close (but too close, thankfully)to most major attractions. Perhaps the best thing about this place is the excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are very helpful and go out of their to make sure you have a pleasant stay. Free wifi and laundry service are also a major plus. I would definitely recommend Riyad Jomana. Affordable and worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great stay at the Riad, comfortable beautifully furnished rooms, easy pick up from the airport and delicious breakfasts. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace and the peaceful setting away from the main hustle and bustle of the city. It's well located if you'd like to walk to the Majorelle Gardens or into the Jmaa, we only got a little lost the first day. We would say, however, that the one dinner we had in the Riad wasn't very good and cost WAY TOO MUCH. Our fault for not checking the price first, but we certainly didn't expect it to be 40 euro. Overall we highly recommend the Riad. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creazzo, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived to the riad after a horrible experience at the airport. We were hot and tired and not really sure what to expect.. We were greeted at the door and immediately provided with mint tea, water and some snacks which turned our entire day around..it was exactly what we needed.. The room was gorgeous and roomy. The rooftop terrace was lovely and everything was within walking distance..I would highly recommend this riad! We had no trouble finding it and felt perfectly safe while there..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Median greeted by a young lady who took us down the endlessly winding streets to Riad Jomana. This helpful lady was one of the highlights of this Riad which featured doors with no locks and very unclean floors and dirty stained pillow cases. The 4:30am wake up call from the mosques is incredibly loud so if you're a light sleeper don't stay in the Medina. Also beware of very unhelpful and fairly occasionally insulting teenagers/children in the area. My wife and I were offered to buy some sweets from some 5 year olds round the corner from where we were staying, after politely declining and walking off we were treated to a lovely "[--] you" from one of the children, that's Marrakech!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was met by a taxi at the airport which was arranged by the staff at the Riad Jomana ( they send a helpful email to ask if you would like this service before you travel- i suggest you do as it makes it a more relaxed arrival in this busy city and its cheap- 10 euro) . A really friendly smiley woman greeted me at the square and walked me through the maze of alley ways to the riad. I was given a very warm welcome and given mint tea and I had pre booked an evening meal which was served to me on the lovely roof terrace.
Throughout my stay I was always greeted with a smile and nothing was too much trouble ( and I was always asking stuff about what to, do where to go and how does this work etc) The staff here are what makes the stay so worthwhile but the riad itself is beautiful and the rooms are really clean and very comfortable as well as excellent value.
After a tiring day of dodging hasslers grabbing you to come into their shop, the heat and smells of this crazy city the Riad Jomana is a little oasis of calm and peace!
YOU HAVE TO COME HERE!

Room Tip: all the rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jomana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jomana

Address: 62 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#147 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jomana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jomana, haven of peace and user-friendliness, will know how to enchant you with its Spanish-Moresque architecture. House of charm in the heart of the ochre city, jewel of intimacy and ultimate refuge for travellers in search of authenticity. Sober residence, formerly belonging to the former caravan leader, Riad Jomana has 2 suites and 2 rooms, articuled around a charming patio with Moresque fountain, terrace with tent. Unforgettable culinary journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Jomana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jomana Marrakech
Riad Jomana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jomana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.