We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moucharabieh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Moucharabieh to your Saves list
Riad Moucharabieh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in this riad. The room was large enough, with rose petals everywhere, nice and cool in the August heat of Marrakesh. The pool was just excellent to cool down, too. The breakfast on the roof-top terrace was the most romantic moment of our whole stay in Morocco. We once had dinner on the spot - we had one of the best meals while in the country.
Yes, the neighbourhood (as mentioned by other reviews) is a bit worn down, kids running and shouting after us, smelly market stands, but it is the same everywhere in the "medina".
Spend more time in the riad if you have enough of the outside "chaos"!
Thank you Nora and Majid!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Moucharabieth for 6 nights for our honeymoon at the beginning of June. Hidden down a small alley, once through the door, this is truly a beautiful Riad. Adorned with roses and rose petals everywhere, it is plain to see that it is run with much love by all the staff especially Nora and Majid. Our room was very clean, with maid service every day. All of the seating areas were extremely comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast up on the roof terrace was an excellent start to the day. Nora and Majid made us feel very special. Also a full body massage at the Riad Moucharabieth should not be missed! We would definitely recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to look at all the rooms in the Riad as we were the only guests staying for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May 2014. This is an oasis of calm in the mystical magical chaos that is the Medina. Staff and owner worked really hard to make us welcome. Don't be put off by the outside approach to the Riad, once you get behind the front door it is wonderful and very atmospheric.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This riad is a lovely oasis in the chaos of Marrakech's medina. The rooms are large and beautifully Moroccan in design, the public areas comfortable and relaxing and the staff is professional and welcoming-there is also a beautiful rooftop patio looking over the city's rooftops. The beds are serviceable, if not overly comfortable but the bathrooms look like something out of an Arabian Nights tale- large and wonderfully tiled. There was also a good hair dryer! If you are looking for a unique experience that reflects Moroccan hospitality, the Riad Moucharabieh is a perfect spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The rooms are a little dated, but overall our stay was fantastic. Roses abounded, even in the toilet bowl. The staff was attentive, but not intrusive, and very accommodating. We spent two nights there but would have loved to stay longer. There have been some comments about the call to prayer being loud. That is true, but consider where you are. We had no trouble going back to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I just returned from two weeks in Morocco where we stayed in several riads. These are former private homes, more like city palaces, that have been converted into intimate hotels in the old town centers. The one where we stayed in Marrakech was the Riad Moucharabieh. Like most riads, the non-descript exterior hides a wonderful experience once you step inside. We were greeted by our host Nora, who welcomed us with hot mint tea as we gazed upon the indoor pools, palm trees, flowers, elaborate tile work and wood carvings that abound in this 14th century dwelling. Dinner is served in an cozy enclave and breakfast on the roof-top patio. Meals in Morocco are elaborate affairs and wine can be purchased for dinner. Mixed drinks are available in the parlor and are complementary. Nora and her staff are wonderfully accommodating to their guests. We loved Morocco, its people, food and riads, where we were treated like sultans. Joe and Libby West.

Room Tip: We book our Moroccan trip through "Experience It" travel service which can be found on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Moucharabieh was an interesting experience for Marrakech. We trekked a short distance into the Medina as a thunder storm came over the town, making dodging donkeys and motorbikes even more challenging. We were welcomed at our car by the gentleman of the house who proved to be pleasant and welcoming for our whole stay.
The riad lower floor is an eclectic mix of furniture, palms, tables, a gramophone and mirrored wall panels that play tricks with the size of the place. A spa pool in the middle makes for a nice change. The adjoining courtyard has an icy plunge pool surrounded by a lounge area and grand piano.
Our room was dark and quaint with a queen bed, separate sitting area around a fire place, a wardrobe with temperamental doors and a nice looking bathroom. The ambiance was pleasant enough for a riad room. There was in room wifi, but it was stronger and quicker in the courtyard.
The room had a few annoyances including a shower that drained very slowly and a toilet that intermittently would not refill after flushing without fiddling with the cistern.
A roof terrace looked inviting but was packed up and not in use.
Dinner consisted of a very tasty repertoire of Moroccan salad vegetables and chicken tagine. Breakfast was less appetizing with bread that left us craving baguettes and unpleasant coffee which left us craving espresso.
The manner of the lady of the house was pleasant to us, but noticeably unpleasant to our driver which somewhat soured the stay.
A quirky little riad that is somewhat more homely and cluttered than palatial as suggested on the very flattering website photos.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moucharabieh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moucharabieh

Address: 27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#186 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moucharabieh 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Moucharabieh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moucharabieh Marrakech
Riad Moucharabieh Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moucharabieh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.