We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moucharabieh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Moucharabieh to your Saves list
Riad Moucharabieh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a beautiful Riad, with friendly staff....nice size rooms with large showers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
crib point
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We arrived late in the evening & were offered (the mandatory) mint tea & some bowls of dried frutis & nuts. We were asked what we would like for dinner. I had been battling a stomach bug all day & asked for soup. I was told there was no soup just tagine & couscous. Why ask in the first place?
We were taken for a tour of the place. The whole riad is quite poorly lit & navigating up & downstairs was a real problem. We were shown to our equally poorly lit room. The room was quite small, clean though. The room was not well insulated as we could hear everything from the other rooms - toilets flushing, talking, showers running. The real problem was some other guests - a group - were dining downstairs & the nosie from their talking & laughter gravitated upstairs & we had to wear earplugs to get to sleep.
The next morning - me still really unwell - headed downstairs for breakfast. I had orange juice & a black coffee (all my stomach could handle). There was 2 crumpets, cut in half, 4 small assorted puffed bread things & 2 "Moroccan Pancakes" with an array of condiments. No fruit.
The breakfast for our next morning was the same, only we had a bowl of fruit too!!!
The real downside was the staff - with the exception of one wonderful gentleman that tried his absolute best to keep us happy. The 2 women that run the riad smiled only once at us.
I was so obviously unwell on the second day we were there. They knew I was in the room on my own. They knew my husband was going out for a pre-arranged tour & not once did they come to check to see if I was OK, needed water - nothing.
The location is a bit "seedy". You have to nivigate past the markets & down a couple of alleys, ill lit & smelly.
There is no internet, no fridge in the room, no tv, no telephone!!!!
No smiles, no welcoming feel!!!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Riad Moucharabieh and it was an absolutely beautiful riad. Upon arrival we were greeted by our hospitable hosts who offered mint tea, dried fruit, and nuts and we felt immediately welcomed. You really get the feeling that you will be well taken care of. There were fresh roses adorning the jacuzzi, which was a bit strangely arranged in the center of the courtyard, but pretty nonetheless. Our room was very spacious and there were rose petals on the towels placed before the shower (and even in the toilet!), such a nice little gesture! The mosaic shower was gorgeous, a piece of art in itself. Since I have a gluten allergy and can't eat bread, Majid prepared an omelette for me both mornings, and that was much appreciated. The location was good, right in the middle of a market, with an internet cafe very close by, and not too far from the Djemma el-Fna. It was very quiet within the riad and we were able get a couple of good nights' rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parthenay, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights on B&B basis.Welcome and explanation very good and sure that for 1 night it's OK but we noticed that this place needs a good refurb..it's got that Arab mystique,sure but you notice the peeling paint,the fountain that leaks on the terrace and the blast from the nearest mosque @ 3 and 5 am!Dinner was offered @ 35 Euros/person and some other UK guests,who had been there a few days,told us that the tajine was swimming in oil and the wine was awful..you can eat far better and much cheaper at loads of places in the Medina
The room was smaller than expected with terribly low lighting(so you can't see the poor state of decoration!) and the shower was poor.The location is off a side street from the market and you have to put up with the bikes,scooters etc which seem to want to knock you down all the time!
The staff,however,were very good,from Majid one of the managers to the cleaning lady,very polite and nothing was too much trouble.We were not charged for a load of beers which we had each night.
Breakfasts were boring..the same thing every morning and not too tasty either.For the price we paid we could have stayed in super luxury in the Sofitel! Had a better hotel in Fes,which was a tour group property and had half board for half the price of this riad!
Won't be going there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed in Marrakech for 3 nites; had excellent breakfast daily; comp wine and goodies before dinner; ate one excellent dinner there. Staff good. Make sure you know what is included and what is free. Leave nothing unclear. Approach to riad is unappealing but once you are inside, excellent. Reasonable priced. Great roof garden facility. One minute walk into medina. Watch out for crazy motorcycle drivers there. Off season for tourism. Nice time to go. After New Years prices go down.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Excellent Riad, staff helpful, gorgeous sitting areas, reading rooms, library, and pool. Comfortable beds, nice fluffy towels. Neat, tidy, fresh roses everywhere. Dedicated cleaing staff, no dust bunnies! We found breakfast to be different daily over our 5 days. Location easy to get to since its on the edge of the Medina. Take a right at the spice stall with the large piles of cumin and lavender and go down the narrow street. We were booked into this Riad by our tour "Experience It" who handles Morocco exclusively and I have to say they choose very well for us. There were three of us in our group and the staff was very accomodating. Very much enjoyed sitting around the Riad in the evening with a glass of wine, a welcome retreat after our shopping excursions and ventures to the mountains. Riad has two large courtyards with the library and reading rooms, flanking them, easy to get privacy and quiet if you choose so. Would go back, no question.

  • Liked — location, beautiful woodwork, tile, sitting areas, quiet atmosphere, accomodating staff
  • Disliked — no internet available
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Just got back from a first visit to Marrakesh and the stay in this riad.

Firstly the location. Upon exiting the taxi, we were escorted through a busy swarming market. It's only a 2 minute walk from the main gate, but the smells and sights to a new traveller visiting Marrakesh is almost overwhelming. Your first thought is "oh my God....where are we being taken?". However, we walked down 2 narrow sidestreets and entered a small corridor into the riad.

First impressions are how quiet it is. And you feel like you are in a small oasis somewhere. A charming Morrocan type building with tiled floors, walls, wood and lanterns. Plenty of plants dotted around. It felt cool and clean and was charming to sit back and enjoy the view. We were offered mint tea with some nuts which was very nice. We were then shown around a few bedrooms and the faciilties and given the choice of 2 bedrooms. There was a seperate chilling out room with TV, a plunge pool, a jacuzzi (not very private as in front of reception area) and the roof tearrace. They offered lunch and dinner facilities along with massage.

The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and functional. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was again clean, with a large shower. Rose petals flanked the floor and in the loo!. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed at least twice a day. The cleaners seem to be around the riad all day cleaning !.

The room had air conditioning and also a ceiling fan. These made the rooms cool.

The roof terrace was lovely. I would not agree with other reviews in that the view is stunning - unless you like to see lots of satelitte dishes and corrugated iron and breeze blocks on top of every roof top. Yes - you can see the occasional mosque, but stunning it isnt. But this is not the fault of the riad!!!.

The roof terrace had lots of sun chairs, but if you are sunbathing, they were not loungers ie; if you want to sunbathe your back, you would have to lie on the tiled floors. The terrace had 2 areas of canpoies by which to gather shade.

The riad offers home cooking at 225 dirhams each for lunch or 325 dirhams for dinner. On the first night we had Morrocan sald followed by lemon chicken with wine. A beautifully cooked meal.

Now onto the negatives….

Breakfast is a more unsatisfactory affair. Don’t get me wrong – I believe that you should have traditional type breakfasts. The problem was that it was the same thing. Day in day out, we had the same concoctions of Moroccan pancake, breads and fried doughnut things. You need a robust stomach to swallow that down for 7 days on the trot!. My only grievance on breakfast was that it lacked variety. Perhaps some yogurt, or cereals or even plain bread would have made the difference.

The service from the staff is attentive, but we were shown certain amounts of inflexibility during our stay. Our agent said that we could eat breakfast or dinner up on the rooftop terrace, but when we requested this, we were given excuses and a sudden lack of understanding. Funny that some guests later in the week were given this service – perhaps because they were French and we were English!!!

My partner also fell ill for a day and in fairness they supplied water. But when I asked for some bread, again I was told it was not possible. I know that we were staying in a different accommodation, but this was a frustration as I did not have the local knowledge to find some bread for her.

Lastly, the location – it is a good 20 minute walk down to the souks and the main square. Also a 20 minute walk into the new town. I know that there are riads closer to the square and you should bear this in mind. A taxi organised by the staff at the riad cost me 50 dirham. Yet when I jumped into one outside the riad of my own accord, it cost 20 dirham. Make your own conclusion.

Overall….did it deliver?. Yes it did. But I now know that there are other riads out there that are slightly better in facilities and in a better location. But as a starter, it was fine

  • Liked — Its Charm
  • Disliked — The lack of inflexibility
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moucharabieh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moucharabieh

Address: 27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#169 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moucharabieh 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Moucharabieh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moucharabieh Marrakech
Riad Moucharabieh Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moucharabieh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.