We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Daria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Daria to your Saves list
Riad Daria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   186, derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Went there with my family in November 2010. It is not the most beautiful riad in marrakech but it's pretty nice and above all QUIET.

The staff is welcoming and the rooms are comfy. Price is also good.

The breakfast is excellent, but in Morocco it is absolutely normal!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just got back from great long weekend in Marrakech and this Riad in the Kasbah area really added to the great experience.
Staff were friendly and always willing to help without holding their hand out like a lot of the locals even while they were organising a family wedding reception that was held at Raid during our stay.
Breakfast was nice and if you enjoy food and want to reat yourself book an evening meal at the Sultana just 10 minutes wallk way.

Room Tip: Pay the little expra for the superior room or the Suite they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We spent one night at this beautiful Marrakech Riad with the bedrooms facing inwards towards the lemon trees in the central courtyard - an oasis of calm and coolness in the frenetic last night of Ramadan in Morocco.

Room Tip: One room we looked at had what seemed a rather small double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a beautiful example of a restored authentic Riad. The rooms are positioned around the central and majestic courtyard, shaded by fragrant orange trees. All the rooms are individually designed in traditional Moroccan colours and textiles, and ours had the most incredible stone fireplace. The Riad is conveniently close enough to Djamaa El Fna to walk to, but far enough away to escape the noise. It's also far enough away so that you can lose yourself for an hour in the narrow lanes of the city, whether intentional or not!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed for four nights, very welcoming and accomodating. You do need to be prepared to walk for 15 -20 minutes up to the main centre of the Medina. Though through small thoroughfares that are part of the Medina anyway we did not feel in the slightest unsafe.
Good breakfast that were available at anytime to suit our needs and not theirs, even were able to sample the Moroccan wine, which we would recommend anyone to try.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This is a lovely Riad with friendly staff, BUT it is a long 25 minute walk to the main part of Marrakech through a very poor district with virtually no other tourists. This walk did not feel safe at night.

The inner courtyard of the Riad was covered with plastic sheeting which really impacted on the ambience of the central courtyard and roof terrace. The pool mentioned on their website is very small, in the reception area and purely for show.

As an alternative, I would strongly recommend staying at one of the large tourist hotels just outside the city walls and get the "Riad experience" by booking a traditional dinner in one of the many Riads near the centre. I think most travellors would welcome a dip in a swimming pool and chilling out round a hotel bar after a day in the dust and hussle of Marrakech. Price wise the large hotels are often cheaper than this Riad, and closer to most of the tourist attractions.

Apologies to the manager and staff at Riad Daria but we would really have appreciated such information prior to planning our trip. I hope this helps others in planning their trip to Marrakech.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This was the first stop during on our Morocco holiday. We had a huge room - a suite in fact - that was reasonably priced given how well-appointed and handsome it was. It included its own little courtyard with a wrought-iron trellis / cupola through which you could stargaze of an evening.

The building is very handsome indeed - quite plain from the outside but beautifully designed and laid out around a central courtyard containing two gorgeous mature orange trees. Fantastically authentic North African style!

The hotel staff were helpful, informative, well-trained and friendly. The food, although not necessarily cheap, was simply excellent and the entertainment during the 'Royal Couscous' evening was great fun.

The location is a bit surprising - very much in the Medina, surrounded by a maze of tiny streets and some quite run-down areas. This is, however, Marrakech, not Chelsea.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#109 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Daria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Daria

Address: 186, derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Daria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Daria is a very charming guest house the heart of the Kasbah in a quiet neighbourhood. Originally an old palace owned by the King's family, it has been lovingly renovated in the traditional Hispano-Moresque style of architectural, retaining many of its authentic features and is now a luxurious riad with five rooms and two suites, and is easily accessed by car. Accommodation 2 suites of 65m2 with chimney place, small dressing room and private patio, 3 spacious rooms of 22m2, each with room for an extra single bed, 2 rooms of 12m2. Riad Daria has two floors: The Ground floor patio-garden with: - A large and light lounge, - A dining room which can be converted into a meeting room, - Two large rooms and a suite with four-poster bed -Two patios, one with splash pool, the other with a fountain and shaded by orange-trees. The first floor with: - Three delightful rooms, two of which are inter-connecting, - A large sunny suite with an open-air cupola, which is covered in the winter, - A television lounge with satellite TV. A very large terrace with orange trees and flowers, and some private spaces, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutoubia mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Daria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Daria Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Daria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.