We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ariha

Save Saved
You added Riad Ariha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ariha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Very pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Thanks in particular to Abdou, who went above and beyond to ensure our very pleasant 2 night stay in Marrakech. He and Amina are truly an asset to the Riad, always friendly and happy to help wherever needed. The Riad is centrally located with easy walking distance to most of the sights, but quietly located for Medina standards to enjoy a quiet afternoon after battling the business that is Marrakech. We were travelling with 5 people and would happily return after this experience at Riad Ariha!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    52
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
146
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wonderful management who are genuinely committed to guests having a good stay -- to your comfort, safety, enjoyment of Marrakech. They gave great advice about reasonable rates to pay for the variety of items sold in the souks (all without pushing you toward particular vendors). Amina, Abdul and the rest of the staff are lovely people. All the guests seemed to be equally pleasant -- there were friends, romantic couples as well as a mother, daughter and grandmother on vacation, so good for a variety of guests.

If you want an authentic Moroccan meal, order dinner and dine by candlelight near the fountains at ground level. The rooms and bathrooms are charming, clean and stylish; there are nice lounging areas on the ground floor and at terrace level.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week in May and were very impressed. The place is spotless and the food as good if not better than any we had outside. The staff could not have been more welcoming and we felt very comfortable and at home there. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves apart from one other couple, and maybe the place might not have been quite so restful if all the rooms were occupied but this is a minor point. We stayed in Jacaranda on the second floor which has an amazing roof dome with stained glass.
The only possible drawback is its position, similar to many others in the area, as it is down many small winding alleyways, but this is also a strength as it is a welcome sanctuary after the frantic outside.

Room Tip: We had booked a ground floor room but decided to upgrade to a second floor overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

My partner Leo and I loved staying in this wonderful, clean and stylish riad. I read in another review that it's Farrow and Ball meets Marrakech and that seems very much the case!

It has a lovely, bright courtyard with a beautiful bougainvillea climbing the wall. It's a truly peaceful place to have breakfast and come and recuperate after a hectic day in the centre of Marrakech.

The staff are an absolute joy. Amina and Abdul are so good natured and friendly and so helpful.

The breakfast was really nice, fresh fruit, omelettes, bread and jam- you can eat dinner in the Riad though my partner and I weren't able to.

Our bedroom was stylish and clean with a very comfy bed. We particularly liked the bathroom!

It's a 15 minute walk from the centre of Marrakech but we actually really enjoyed being away from the madness!

All in all it's a very chic and affordable place to stay- highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Riad is in a quiet location which is most welcome after the craziness of the surrounding area. It's only about a 15 min walk through the Souks to the main square. The Riad is small but this is perfect as it's always quiet. The rooms and main areas are spotlessly clean and the staff can't do enough for you. If you're lost they will come and find you, they will suggest and book things for you to do...nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Just a few tips about Marrakech.........if you need directions ask a woman or policeman-they will always tell you the right way. Barter in the souks-it's expected. Have a price in mind that you want to pay and start lower, if you get to the price and it's not agreed walk away-they will generally call you back and agree the price
Visit a hammam-the Heritage Spa was amazing and also Cafe Arabe serves fabulous food and serves alcohol. Oh and finally...take a hat as it's scorching hot there

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and I would choose one on the second floor as they're a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

During my many visits to Marrakech, I have found it difficult to find a conveniently located, traditional style riad at the lower end of the price range which I have actually enjoyed staying in. Riad Ariha however, ticks all the right boxes. It is beautifully decorated in a wonderfully calming palette of white and greys and with prices starting from just £58 per night, it is surprisingly affordable. Only small negative is that it is a bit further from the hustle and bustle of the main square and souks than you might hope. It is about a 15 minute walk but the other positives far outstrip this small negative. By the time you have been served a delicious breakfast in the little inner courtyard and whiled away the hours on the roof terrace star gazing, it becomes very difficult to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Amina and Abdul made my wife and I very welcome. The Riad concept of hotel, found in the Medina of Marrakech, was very enjoyable. This one has five bedrooms, modern and is very well arranged. We had three nights there. It was perhaps a 1 - 1.5 km walk through the souk to the Jemaa El Efna (main square). It is only 50 meters to the Restaurant Dar Zellij, very good food at a good price, and 400 meters to the Heritage Spa, where my wife and I had a shared hammam experience. On one rainy night we had dinner in the hotel. We had tajina-cooked meals and they were well priced and tasty. The WiFi service in Riad Ariha was very good and easy to connect. Amina helped us find our way around and offered useful tips and advice. She arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains where we followed the Ourika River to a waterfall near its source. It was a good place and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: It is about 100 meters from where the taxci dropped us off to the Riad Ariha. This is common in Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ariha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.