We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
VIP Airport Meet & Greet
Ranked #8 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Penn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An oasis of calm in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We have just returned from a short break in Marrakech, staying at the Riad Dar Anika. We were given a warm welcome by the friendly staff and hosts, Nigel and Diana and quickly settled into our room, the guest suite.
The suite was spacious and luxurious with hand painted ceiling and a large dome above the bed. The lighting, although very atmospheric, was a little dim and it would have been nice to be have a bit more light. The room very tastefully decorated however the expanses of stone meant that it got quite cool in the early morning (not a problem when the weather warms up though!).
The rest of the Riad is beautifully laid out with a small pool, hammam and plenty of room on the roof top terrace for sun bathing, even in January. The breakfasts are fairly simple but satisfying and the fresh orange juice is a treat. We dined in once and the food, traditional Moroccan fare, was very good indeed.
The riad is ideally located just 5 mins from the main Jemaa El Fna square and lots of really good restaurants.
Overall, Riad Dar Anika is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy all that fabulous Marrakech has to offer. And when you have had your fill of the souks and hustle and bustle, you can close the door and step into an oasis of calm and tranquility that is Riad Dar Anika.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
266
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Loved our stay at the Riad.

The two main attractions were the brilliant staff and the food!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff including a middle of the night wake up for the Doctor and fetching the necessary medicine!! (Bug taken out with us by the way, nothing to do with the food!)

The food was out of this world and if you are offered the last night special meal, book it! Excellent value for money and the best food we had all holiday.

Unfortunately we weren't able to make much use of the terrace as the weather was against us but the fire in the dining room made up for it...

I wouldn't hesitate to return here or recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Staff and food!
  • Disliked — I found the bedrooms a bit on the dark side.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This was the most beautiful and welcoming hotel we have ever stayed at - it was like going from home to home. I loved the fact that we had an English couple running the hotel who could advise us of where to go and the best places to eat and the best sight seeing spots etc...
Nigel and Di were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them or their staff. The views from the terrace were breath taking and the hotel was immaculate.
The meals we also ate at the hotel were beautiful and set us up for the night life of the square in the evenings which you just have to see to believe.
This is the best holiday we have had in years and I cannot wait to book up for next year - I would never stay at a different hotel than this as you cannot beat perfection.

  • Liked — The friendly and welcoming atmoshere in the hotel
  • Disliked — Having to leave it so quickly
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINGWOOD UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We have just spent a long romantic weekend in Dar Anika Riad. The hospitalty was second to none. Nigel and Di the hosts of this traditional Riad, made us feel like we were long lost friends and in a strange way a created a feeling of home from home, in this strange noicy bustling environment of the Medina.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Dar Anika was picked for us by the travel agent because it has a restaurant on the roof. Its a lovely place, very clean and well laid out with a lovely roof terrace for breakfast. If I had some criticisms it would be breakfast needs some variety and a simple cooked option (eggs/toast) would be nice and we never ate there in the evening because you had to give notice during the by midday to order a meal for the evening.

Having said that it wasn't a problem, we ate at plenty of lovely, if slightly expensive, restaurants that were near by or a short taxi ride.

The hosts were very welcoming, I'd recommend the Riad if staying in Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Last weekend we slept in this Riad.
It was our first time in Marraekch.
Great hotel, very clean, very goog placed, just 7 minutes from the main square, at a walking distance.
Good breakfast.
Everything correct!!!!

  • Liked — Evertything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haslemere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Dar Anika is an oasis of calm and tranquility within the Medina of Marrakech. Its 10 rooms are individually decorated with unqiue features and artefacts of the area. Although you are within the medina and a couple of minutes walk from the souks and the main square, Dar Anika is completely silent ! No need for earplugs!

Your host: Nigel Turner-Hopkins and his charming wife Diane will make your stay at Dar Anika a special one with taylor made shopping and sightseeing trips available as well as help with restaurant choices. Nothing is too much trouble !

I took my teenage daughters who thoroughly enjoyed their first taste of Africa and the colour and atmosphere of Marrakesh.

If you are going to Marrakech you must stay in the Medina and more importantly you must visit DAR ANIKA.

  • Liked — the ambience and the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.