We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #11 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My family and I have traveled to Morocco many times (as well as around Europe) and Riad Dar Anika excels any small hotel we've stayed at. We spent four nights there and loved everything about it. The location in the medina was ideal, only a five-minute walk to the Place Jema el Fnaa. Breakfast on the beautiful terrace was excellent. The courtyard with small pool as well as the decor in the rooms were magical. The service especially was outstanding. We were all treated like royalty, includes our kids in their late teens and early twenties who stayed up until 3 a.m. while staff stood by to serve them anything they desired. Samir went above and beyond expectations, for example accompanying my sister-in-law and her daughter in a taxi as they weren't comfortable going alone. When one of us forgot a fanny pack in the hotel lobby, he ran through the streets with it to catch up to our car. On the day we left on a three-hour car drive they knew we wouldn't have time for lunch and surprised us with a delicious meal, including bottles of water and fruit, packed in beautiful striped bags (which we've kept as souvenirs). Each of these times, our needs were anticipated without us asking. We've stayed at many five-star hotels that don't do this. We all recommend this riad when staying in Marrakech and will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
240
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Every aspect of our stay was fantastic - all the staff went above and beyond to help us. Breakfast was delicious, we were told the best places to visit, and best restaurants for lunch and dinner by Samir who was great, and managed to upgrade us for our stay which was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. Staff booked us dinner and brought us refreshments whenever we were in the riad (as well as giving us sandwiches and water for our coach trip when we went on to agadir). We did a half day tour which we really enjoyed and was great value for money vs taxis. We could not recommend this place highly enough and would not stay anywhere else in Marrakech after our amazing and more than welcoming experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We very much agree with all the other positive reviews of Riad Dar Anika, where my wife and I stayed five nights together with our daughter and son-in law. The riad itself is lovely, but it is the kind and helpful staff that makes Dar Anika so wonderful! Oh, and the food is good too :) We ate here the night we arrived and it was the best meal we had in Marrakech.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Fantastic place, I can't say enough good things about it. I've stayed at many expensive hotels on work and pleasure and this is easily the best without even being the most pricey. Staff very welcoming, great food, fantastic room, beautiful rooftop terrace and perfect location in the centre of old Marrakech. We spent 3 nights with my girlfriend and celebrated my birthday there. The staff surprised us with a cake and flowers and always went out of their way to be helpful. When we left they even prepared a packed meal with sandwich and fruit for our a journey. A true home away from home, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I've been meaning to write a review of this wounderful place since my visit here in November last year with my Mum, and only now, as I'm reviewing other people's useful comments on trip advisor about other places I'm looking to go to now, have I got round to it. That said, time has not lessened my wonderful memories of this place, from our welcome greeting by friendly and helpful staff, to the amazing oasis of calm that is Dar Anika.

The added advice and tips from the Dar Anika team meant our stay was not only memorable, but exceeded both our expectations.

We had the twin room on the first floor, which was a good size for the 2 of us, and in a great location at the front of building. The Riad itself is in the perfect location, just 10 minutes' walk from the main square Jamaa El Fna, in the middle of things, yet an oasis of calm, friendliness, peace and comfort. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the service from everyone was exemplary, and we felt at home and at ease the minute we arrived. The lounge area inside, and the outside roof terracce, complete with loungers, meant that after a busy day of sight seeing, there was always somewhere lovely and comfortable to come back to and relax before heading out again, and we were always offered mint tea and some other tasty delight to enjoy when we returned.

The food was absolutely amazing. I can't write this review without mentioning our wonderful generous breakfasts we took out on the roof terrace, looking over the roof tops of Marrakech, eating fresh fruit, home made bread, cakes, pancakes, and yoghurts, accompanied by fresh juice and tea every morning. It was the most wonderful start to the day. If you have time to book in for a meal one evening as well you will enjoy one of the best meals you will have in Marrakech. We would thoroughly recommend it. They were so generous and our room was alway refreshed every day with fruit and biscuits, and we were even given a packed lunch for our transfer drive over to the coast at the end of our stay, completely out of the blue.

We recieved brilliant advice on where to go in and around Marrakech from the manager and assistant manager, and there was always someone around to answer our questions. Nothing was too much trouble and they booked restaurants and organised a tour for us as well.

All in all this little riad was an absolute gem, offering 5 star service, a brilliant location, a wonderful ambiance, delicious food, and a warm welcome, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone heading to Marrakech. By the end of our stay we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This last Friday and Saturday, the family and I visited Marrakesh for the last stop on our Moroccan adventure. On the edge of the bazaar lies a wonderful boutique hotel. Like most Moroccan homes, it was a bit unassuming from the outside. However, when you step through the big wooden doors, it opens up to a garden, pool and common area decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. It had every modern concenience like a large flat screen TV for my young son to watch in the evenings, as well as, WI-FI for my teenager. Upon arrival, we were treated to an afternoon tea with homemade cookies. The rooms were both spacious and beautifully decorated. We were welcomed with fresh rose petals on the bed and placed throughout the room. It felt like heaven. The manager (Samir Fadwa) and his staff were quick to satisfy our every whim including food of our choosing, directions to local attractions and special accommodations including a traditional bath / message for my husband and I. All in, the family was totally pampered after a long journey around Morocco and had a fantastic experience at the Dar Anika. If there was a way to give beyond five stars, I would. If you are ever in Marrakesh and are looking for a great getaway, make sure to check out this hotel. Take it from a family of discerning travelers, the property and superior service are worth the stop.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Brilliant holiday in Marrakech made even more perfect due to our stay at Dar Anika. Samir and the team could not do enough to make our stay there any more enjoyable. After a delayed arrival our driver arranged via the hotel took us on the short journey to the Riad in comfort. On arrival we had a lovely meal on the terrace before bed. The next morning after a tasty Moroccan breakfast , Samir gave a comprehensive insight into the sights and sounds of the local area with places to visit and avoid which was very useful when exploring the town. We booked excursions via Samir with confidence in getting the best service and experienced a Hammam and massage onsite.
For all of our stay the staff were very attentive and little gestures like bringing cake and drinks to poolside when we were having a dip didn't go un noticed to make you feel special.
Would definitely recommend and use again if we returned to Marrakech - 5 Stars !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.