We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Anika could not do enough for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #12 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dar Anika could not do enough for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Before we even arrived Dar Anika had regular email contact giving us advice on services they provided and things we could do once in Marrakech. We booked transport from the airport, hamman, massage, a guided tour of the city and a traditional Moroccan dinner for the night of our arrival even before getting there.

The pick up from the airport was seamless and we were glad that we had a driver that knew where to take us as the door to Dar Anika could be missed if you did not know where it was! Once you enter you are greeted by a beautiful tranquil oasis which is in stark contrast to the crazy hustle bustle of the Marrakech streets!

On our arrival we were taken to sit in a lovely lounge with a live fire and given fresh mint tea, milk, pastries and dates to refresh ourselves. Once we were settled the manager Samir came to sit with us and he gave us a map of the city and marked different places we should see such as the palaces, souks and gardens and he also showed us where to go for lunch and dinners. He even offered us a free room upgrade, but because our room had been so beautifully decorated with rose petals I didn’t want to move!

The dinner at Dar Anika is delicious, but you need to make sure you have not eaten too much at lunch time as you receive a feast! The complimentary breakfast is also fantastic as you receive loads of dishes such as yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, pancakes, cake, warm bread, SOUP!!, and any type of eggs you care to name!

The guided tour of the city is a must as it helps you to get your bearings and allows you to see parts of the city you may miss if you were just to walk around on your own.

In the evenings Dar Anika were so fantastic and allowed us to use the lounge as our own personal place and we watched films on the TV by the fire with a bottle of wine on a couple of occasions. One night we went to Comptoire, (a restaurant with belly dancing) that Samir has recommended and that was really fantastic. Another MUST SEE is the Circus. You are able to hold baby lions and the circus acts are astounding! It is great great value for money!

We were unfortunate with the weather as it was quite cold and rainy on a couple of days, but on those days Dar Anika arranged for a lady to come to the Riad to provide Hamman for us both, then separate ladies to come in and do traditional Moroccan massages and Samir even organised free of charge for a lady to come in a do henna for me.

The Wi-Fi has a good connection and my partner was able to deal with work emails quickly and efficiently.

The staff at Dar Anika cannot do enough for you. We had great banter with our waiters and on the day it was sunny we were able to eat breakfast on the roof under a beautiful tent.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend Dar Anika for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Due to the fact that there are only 12 rooms the service is so personal and Dar Anika will bend over backwards to make your stay a special one. On our last day we were even given complimentary glasses of wine whilst we waited for our taxi to take us to the airport and then we were given a delicious packed lunch to take to the airport!!! I would most definitely go back and would recommend Dar Anika to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
238
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Look no further than Riad Dar Anika, calm, relaxed and informal. I felt like a king as every whim was catered, from transportation and transfers, to the medina tour with private guide. Dar Anika staff show a real interest in guests comfort and holiday enjoyment and go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable.

The courtyard at the heart of the building has a heated pool on one side and a cosy enclosed lounge with fireplace on the other side. A private on-site hammam can be arranged, followed up by a private massage. Mineral water, flowers and Moroccan pastries are found in the room on arrival. All rooms are modern with telephone, Wi-fi, safe, and air-conditioned and equipped with private bathroom. Enjoy the roof terrace, with a view of the snow-covered Atlas Mountains in the distance.

The location is close to the Badii Palace, the Saadian tombs and the bizarrely interesting Djemaa El Fna square with all the hustle and bustle of the souk outside the door.

Possibly the best breakfast ever!

Dar Anika went above and beyond my expectations, a real pleasurable stay that could be hard to beat with its very personal attention to service, ensuring every individual need is met.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This small Riad is practically perfect in every way. The location is ideal as it is within walking distance of all the main sights, and a short drive from the airport and the mountains. With a small number of rooms, the staff are able to offer an unsurpassable level of service and adapt to individual needs. Collection from the airport, taxis, guides, day trips, Hammam, everything organised seamlessly and with style. Beautifully converted building with pool and glorious roof terrace. All the rooms are a generous size (but spring for a suite if you can) , traditional decor coupled with all mod cons. The food was exceptional, I can't remember the name of the "squashed croissant" bread we had for breakfast but it lives on in my memory!

Room Tip: Suites are good value if you are staying for a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pangbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

it shows the power of trip advisor as we wouldn't have known about this hotel without trip advisor but It really is as good as everyone says it is. The hotel was an oasis of peace with service that royalty maybe used to but I have certainly never experienced anything like it. From the minute you step out of the bustle of the streets through their large Arabic door they greeted us with drinks and asked us what we would like to do over the weekend. They sorted trips and meals and gave us a surprise picnic but were also gentle and quiet and "not in your face ". They were spot on with advice on how to deal with frequent "offers of help" on the street. We had a fabulous 4 days and have recommended to friends and family. Small hotel but big on service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I highly recommend this Riad as probably the best place to stay in Marrakech. The location is very convenient and it is definitely more fun to stay inside the Medina than to stay in one of the soulless hotels outside the ancient city. It is a stone's throw from the marketplace. The Riad has been beautifully converted and the rooms, although not luxurious, are spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff are very attentive and knowledgeable and everyone is very cheerful which really makes a place for me. Dinner was exceptional and the staff's attentiveness only added to the pleasure of dining in house. Breakfast was good quality and everything was freshly made from the bread to the orange juice. The little touches are there in abundance, from the gracious way requests are dealt with to a surprise pack lunch just before our departure really made Dar Anika a gem. The guide and driver recommended to us were also excellent and we felt very comfortable with them. All in all a great experience. Many thanks Sameer and staff.

Room Tip: The Mosque is directly across the Riad so there might be an unrequested wake up call in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Staff are amazing, very welcoming, extremely helpful, from arranging the pick up from the airport, to pin pointing attractions on the map. The food is magnificent, both breakfast and evening meals (highly recommend the camel and prunes tagine). Perfect location to get to all tourist attractions and the Souks. I can't thank Fadwa, Alana, the guys and the management enough for all their help in making my husband's birthday truly wonderful. Would not hesitate to recommend this Riad and we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff who couldn't have done more for us during our stay. The delicious breakfast was served at a time of our choosing by the gorgeous court yard pool. The rooms were exquisite. We never had to worry about getting a cab as the staff always ensured transport was organised. The staff even organised to look after our luggage for a few days when we went to the coast. Really, nothing was too much. Was simply amazing. My only regret was not eating in the restaurant ...perhaps an excuse to make a return visit.

Room Tip: We had the a room on the Ground Floor by the pool which was really lovely. We also treated ourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.