We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
VIP Airport Meet & Greet
Ranked #8 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed at many places around the world but Dar Anika has been the best by far. We were welcomed like family and treated like royalty. Every little touch made our experience wonderful. The manager, Samir, and his loyal staff made us very comfortable. The riad is in a great location at the entrance of the medina. Breakfasts on the sunny rooftop were a delight and the dinner was an absolute feast. Magic!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
266
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Simply superb.The owner and staff looked after us like kings.Fantastic location.
The owner gives you a map and shows you should you wish places to go and see.

Couple of points Taxis from the airport are going to cost you 100-150dhr they will try to charge 250dhr.
The walk from the taxi too the raid is 30seconds and the barrow boys will try to charge you 50dhr...ho ho.
Count your money when using a bureau de change they will try to short change you.
Go to the Kosy bar for a mojito.
Shoe shine boys will try to stiff you for 200dhr we paid 20dhr and they give you he whole hurt act....then walk away smiling.Dont get up set when bartering keep it friendly.
There is a cafe de epice which was just ok...a much nicer experience was terrace de epice in the souk... good luck trying to find it.

Too finish the Dar Anika Riad was excellent the staff the breakfast the location the managers all 5 star.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had our honeymoon in Marrakech and luckily for us we stayed at Dar Anika. As soon as we walked inside the Riad we were amazed with the authentic look and warm surroundings. On arrival to our room there were flowers and rose petals laid out on the bed which definitely gave me some brownie points with my new wife. We had booked a meal that night in the Riad in which we were given our own private area for dining and the staff pulled out all the stops to make a very romantic setting. After our first nights stay we were greeted in the morning by Abu the hotel manager who provided us a map and advised us of activities and where to eat as well as giving excellent advice on do's and dont's which proved invaluable. My wife found the bed slightly hard and they sorted this problem immediately, (I on the other hand like the matress). An absolute must is to take advantage of the massage and hammam services the Riad offers, in which we went twice. There is a heated indoor swimming pool which unfortunately we only used once and directly opposite there is a living space with TV which we unfortunately did not have time to make use of but really is a truly amazing space to read or watch TV. The Riads location is prime everything is walking distance and as soon as you walk out onto the street you can embrace the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. On our last day our flight was not until 6:20pm and they kindly allowed us to stay in our room until we needed to leave for the airport. Lastly to our delight when we left they provided a free taxi to the airport and a packed lunch. If you are looking for an authentic morrocon Riad, central location, with a great personal friendly service Dar Anika is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Riad only has 12 rooms, simply go on the website to see which one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a very special place. We couldn’t recommend it highly enough. We travelled as a family with children aged 7/10/13. The location within the Medina is perfect for all the key places to visit. Most are a 10 minute walk. Inside the atmostphere is serene, the rooms are very well appointed, and the peace away from the hubub is not to be underrated! But the greatest plaudits belong to Abu and his staff. As first time travellers to Marrakesh, this made the experience a greatly enjoyable one for all of us. Nothing was too much trouble. He confidently helped us how to plan each day. How long visits would take, when to take breaks, suggestions to eat/shop and most importantly how to haggle! (Divide by 6 and end up about 50% higher than that). They arranged a Hamman at the hotel, warmed up the pool for our three children, organised a private dinnner on the roof. The roof terrace was a great place for our children. There is a small turrent in one turret in one corner and they loved watching the husstle and bustle of the street life below them, away from the noise, dirt and heat which one can have enough of. The roof terrace is also where one has the most beautiful breakfasts in the morning sun. And whilst Dar Anika is not a large place, its is nevertheless, higher than most building around affording beautiful views especially in the evening sunset.
Any downsides? The Riad is close to a Mosque so the call to morning prayer can be rather early and may disturb lighte sleepers. Rooms 1 and 2 are furthest away. DO NOT let it prevent you staying here would be my advice.
For what its worth, we travelled on to the palatial and vastly more expensive Kasbaah Tamadot which was another experience. But on balance, we decided that we all preferred Dar Anika. We were charmed!

Room Tip: We had Suites 1 and 2. They were delightful. Suite 2 with the domed roof would be my preference. En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was a fabulous gem of a riad - beautiful roof for breakfast and sunbathing and a quiet oasis and retreat just off one of the streets leading to the main square - perfect central location for all the sites. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the transition of feelings as you enter the Riad from the street. When the taxi dropped us off we thought he had us in the wrong place. Trepidation was the overwhelming feeling as we navigated our way past the donkey pulling carts and ladies sitting outside selling gold bracelets. The door swings open and you are greeted with warm smiles and a wondrous smell. The atmosphere inside is the reverse of outside and that makes it an ideal place to rest after a day spent haggling with a market trader over the cost of a chopping board or spending 3 hours being marched round the medina by Ali who decides that we need his personal attention ( costing 100 DH obviously ).The food that was served on my birthday evening was possibly the best I have ever eaten and the way the staff looked after us and our baby Sophia was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. They even produced a birthday cake and sang happy birthday to Jow on the roof terrace . You would not get that at a Best Western. The Riads own pet Tortoise summed up the place. Measured graceful calm.

Room Tip: room 10 if you have a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'd booked the Riad to celebrate a special birthday based upon Trip Advisor scoring and was not disappointed in the least. We were the only guests with a child (well behaved 7-year old) and were overwhelmed by the charming service and dedication to our happiness. They even heated the pool for our daily 6-minute plunge.
The location is perfect to explore the old city and the rooftop terrace is an ideal place to chill after the bustle of the souks. Samir arranged a day excursion into the Atlas mountains and although this wasn't especially cheap it provided a great contrast to the heat of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.