We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm Amongst The Chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm Amongst The Chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the transition of feelings as you enter the Riad from the street. When the taxi dropped us off we thought he had us in the wrong place. Trepidation was the overwhelming feeling as we navigated our way past the donkey pulling carts and ladies sitting outside selling gold bracelets. The door swings open and you are greeted with warm smiles and a wondrous smell. The atmosphere inside is the reverse of outside and that makes it an ideal place to rest after a day spent haggling with a market trader over the cost of a chopping board or spending 3 hours being marched round the medina by Ali who decides that we need his personal attention ( costing 100 DH obviously ).The food that was served on my birthday evening was possibly the best I have ever eaten and the way the staff looked after us and our baby Sophia was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. They even produced a birthday cake and sang happy birthday to Jow on the roof terrace . You would not get that at a Best Western. The Riads own pet Tortoise summed up the place. Measured graceful calm.

Room Tip: room 10 if you have a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
223
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'd booked the Riad to celebrate a special birthday based upon Trip Advisor scoring and was not disappointed in the least. We were the only guests with a child (well behaved 7-year old) and were overwhelmed by the charming service and dedication to our happiness. They even heated the pool for our daily 6-minute plunge.
The location is perfect to explore the old city and the rooftop terrace is an ideal place to chill after the bustle of the souks. Samir arranged a day excursion into the Atlas mountains and although this wasn't especially cheap it provided a great contrast to the heat of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had an excellent five day stay at the Riad Dar Anika. The location and service are the two best features of this hotel. The manager gave us a detailed 'briefing' on where to visit, and where to avoid. The hotel is spotless and the dinner we had at the hotel was the best meal of the trip (try the beef and prune tajine). The hotel's location is excellent...out the door, turn left, and it's five minutes walk to the central square!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at Riad Dar Anika on our first visit to Marrakech. Wasn't sure what to expect and am pleased to say that the place did not disappoint. Very smart and clean, this beautifully restored Riad is a real gem. Excellent staff, service, food and accommodation. Also benefits from an ideal location on the Medina, a small indoor swimming pool & lovely roof terrace. Am unable to find fault and can heartily recommend. Will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a long weekend break with our teenage daughter. A real oasis in a busy bustling environment. The riad is perfectly located for nearly all the popular tourist sights, all within 10-15 mins walk away. We were greeted with mint tea, fresh pastries and fruit on arrival and then were given an introduction by Abu about the various sights etc. as well as valuable tips on getting around what to be careful of and a map. The rooms were well furnished and equipped, absolutely pristinely clean, as was the rest of the riad. Breakfast was served on the balcony, fresh fruit, homemade delicious yoghurt, cakes, breads and pastries. All cooked fresh and served warm. We ate dinner in the riad on one evening and I can only describe it as a banquet! Fresh local food, home made and lots of it!!! In fact it was the best food we had in marrakesh. The service throughout our stay was excellent, very personal without being intrusive. Tea, coffee and cakes served on return at the end of a day sightseeing was a real treat. Whilst outside the riad all around was very noisy it was very quiet and calming as soon as you entered. We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dar Anika is a gem. My husband and I spent five of seven nights of our honeymoon here, and were treated with the utmost care and kindness. As a case in point, our first breakfast – already amazing, given the wonderful selection of food (oh, the yoghurt!) and the charm of the roof terrace – was further enhanced as the Dar Anika staff presented us with a delicious, personalised ‘honeymoon’ cake.

The hotel from top to bottom – including each individual hotel room – is gorgeous and designed with care, and the staff reflect this precision; they are kind, diligent and proactive, and they aim to please. The managers are accessible and approachable, and make time to ensure you are equipped with the best tips (i.e. where to eat, staying safe) before you head out into the hubbub of the Marrakech souks and streets.

Its location is also brilliant. A five minute walk can land you at the main square (Fna) to the north or the Badi Palace to the south. A 10-15 minute taxi ride can get you into the ‘new town’ as well, if you’re seeking a different kind of meal or nightlife, or if you need to get to the bus or train station.

If you’re looking for an extra special stay in Morocco than Dar Anika will not let you down.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel for a 3 night stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. As the trip was a bit of a celebration (birthday & wedding anniversary) we chose a suite rather than a regular room which turned out to be a great choice. Very well appointed room, beautifully lit with traditional brass lamps, and a unique cupola above the rose-petal-festooned bed. Very attentive service from Samir and his team, making great restaurant recommendations, laying on guided tours etc. Lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace, and a nice dinner one night there too. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.