We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Drinks.
Ranked #16 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel for a 3 night stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. As the trip was a bit of a celebration (birthday & wedding anniversary) we chose a suite rather than a regular room which turned out to be a great choice. Very well appointed room, beautifully lit with traditional brass lamps, and a unique cupola above the rose-petal-festooned bed. Very attentive service from Samir and his team, making great restaurant recommendations, laying on guided tours etc. Lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace, and a nice dinner one night there too. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
189
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Morocco and we chose Marrakech for a 5 night break. We knew we wanted to stay in an authentic heritage stay rather than a large impersonal hotel. I cannot rate Riad dar Anika highly enough. By staying here you make the choice of staying with long lost friends who love having you over and cannot, seriously cannot do enough for their guests. The rooms are immaculate, tastefully decorated with stained glass windows streaming delicate colours into the room internally and externally. Each day water, fresh fruit and small cookies and pastries are left for you in your room , mint tea and cakes anytime, and a delicious breakfast served on the terrace, yogurt,fruit,cakes,eggs,msimmin,muffins,pikelets, jams, freshly squeezed juice, coffee served by the staff of this small boutique style hotel. The staff throughout cannot be praised enough, the service, the cleaning, the reservations, taxi bookings, restaurant suggestions, taxis, transfers and the genuine interest in you and your trip. Samir, the manager, and Abu and his family, the owners feel privileged to have you stay, truly the privilege is ours. A strange new place where you are scooped up by all of them, to stay in this beautiful, well priced oasis and looked after so well you will not want to leave. There is only one choice for Marrakech in our view, Riad Dar Anika, every now and then you find a little gem, this is. Its simply lovely and the experience cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I thought long and hard about the rating, could I really consider it as being excellent? The answer had to be a resounding yes, with the caveat - for the price. If you can afford the £470 per night La Mamounia, then you might not consider Dar Anika as excellent. However, for us it was great. The location, right on the edge of the Madina is good, close enough to experience the bussle, far enough away to feel comfortable. We enjoyed the Hammam, the breakfast, and the decor. The staff were really helpful and the size of the room great, with ample storage and a great bathroom. The whole environment was cool and calm - a complete contrast to the world outside!
We found the bed to be a little harder than we're used to - I acknowledge that comfort is such a subjective thing! However this issue was quickly remedied by the staff, through the addition of an additional layer of bedding.
If you’re flying in to Marrakech, make use of Dar Anika's airport pick up and drop off service - it was really good.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, overlooking the road outside. It was potentially noisy, but utilising their innov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff were fantastic, very helpful and polite, the food was delicious, the hammam and massage very relaxing. Samir the manager recommended excellent restaurants and arranged transfers and excursions all very high standard. The Riad is beautiful, in a great location only a short walk from every must see in Medina and the new town. An oasis of calm in a busy city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, beautiful x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Marrakesh and my wife's choice was this beautifull place. Since our arrival at this riad, everything was perfect, Samir is excellent with his enthusiastic way of treat people, like others reviews we had a welcome tea, cakes, a lot of information about the city and what to do. Everyday we enjoy staying in this place, if you need a massage, city tour, walking tour, guides, driver, special dinner, advices, etc...even one night Samir came with us to make sure we will be at one place my wife select for dinner (was at Medina little street and late hours). Roof terrace for breakfast, with one of the best orange juice I ever had (we used to live in Brazil and Miami) and we know about oranges. I used to travel for work, and staying at many hotels and places and countries, I can say this was one of the nicest place and service I can remember. Enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only spent 48hrs in Marrakesh so wanted to be in the action and Dar Anika was ideal. It is in an easy to find location on a main street with beautiful rooms, staff and facilities. Many of the riads we had researched were in hard to find small side streets so we were very happy to find a Riad that was so easy to locate. The staff were eager to please and offered good advice on holidaying in Marrakesh.
The airport transfers and rooftop terrace were a great addition.
We also loved the resident Turtle that lives on the roof.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a superior/de luxe room here for a three day break for two. What a find this is! We are not prone to effusive or overenthusiastic reviews, but here is one to redress the balance. It would be hard to criticise this riad in the old city. The organisation, the welcome, the service throughout our stay were fantastic. We were pampered beyond our expectations - we would definitely recommend the hammam followed by a massage as a way of relaxing after a day of travelling. That put us in the mood for a delicious traditional Moroccan dinner which was certainly one of the best meals we had during our stay. Breakfasts were also excellent and food plentiful.
The riad itself is small with only 12 rooms, only half of which were occupied. It is a very comfortable and intimate place to spend a few days. The welcome included tea, cakes, rose petals spread everywhere, fruit & complimentary drinks in the room, a chat with the owner (including helpful tourist tips, restaurant reservations etc). Biscuits and nibbles were put in the room daily. Service from the entire staff was always courteous, unintrusive and delivered with grace and a smile.
Standards of cleanliness were incredibly high - it was spotless - and it is in excellent decorative order.
For a romantic weekend, this absolutely ticks all the boxes. Worth every penny. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't huge, as they generally aren't in the old city, so for a bit of extra space it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Hotel
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.