We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolutely Perfect Place to Stay in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Drinks.
Ranked #14 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Absolutely Perfect Place to Stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Riad Dar Anika is one of the best places we have ever stayed at in all of our travels.
The Riad is absolutely beautiful. It has a gorgeous entry with a swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard. The place is exceptionally clean to the highest of standards. We stayed in Room #1 (it is spectacular and spacious, highly recommend it) and our kids stayed in Room #2 (Very large room with plenty of sleeping capacity)
The people who work there are very friendly and attentive without being overbearing and hovering. The are ready to provide you with advice on the logistics of getting around and things to do.
The restaurant is fabulous. One must have dinner there at least once during the stay. My wife and sister-in-law took a cooking class with the head chef. They learned how to make tangia and tangine. I am still reaping the benefits to that cooking class!!
The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. They would ask us around what time we would like to eat, and a table would be ready for our entire group already set up with fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit salad, pastries, and other freshly made items. It was really great because we could quickly eat and get out about our day.
The hotel is in a short walk to the main market in Marrakech. We walked with our 4 kids to the main historic sites in Marrakech using the Riad Anika as our home base.
When we go back to Marrakech we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Anika again. Everyone in our family had a great time in Morocco and the experience as a whole was enhanced by the wonderful places we stayed at such as the Riad Anika.

Room Tip: Room #1 is fantastic, large and spacious, probably one of the best rooms in the Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
191
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

for the price i would say it is worth the stay but only for 3 nights not the full 7. it is a lovely place to stay do'nt get me wrong but i feel the price is the same for one of the other hotels just out of town and the facilities are much superior and you can relax by the pools in much more safety than in this small riad. there was a very good welcome at this riad and the breakfasts were very good. stay and enjoy the facilities but if you want to relax by a large pool this is not the place to be for too long.

Room Tip: dont expect to see anything from your room window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from 5 days in Marrakech at the sumptuous and delightful Dar Anika. I read the reviews before I booked, was impressed and then doubly so when I stayed. An oasis in the midst of chaos. You have to decide if you want to be in town or just out of town in 'hotel land'. If you choose the former for a more authentic Marrakech feel, then you will find unparalleled service and attention to detail at this Riad. I can not fathom how any Riad could better them. The location to is so central you can walk on foot everywhere. The rooms are spotless and the staff - well they are the little gem that make it uber special.

Hats off! This place is worth the money and worth your visiting. Just don't step on that little turtle down by the pool or pop her in your suitcase to come home. Everyone else describes this place in more detail than me and I concur with their accounts. I'm fussy and I loved it!

Room Tip: I was in room 1 - loved it, but didn't really look in any others so can't compare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a fabulous stay at the Dar Anika - it and Marrakech exceded our expectations in every way.
They pre arranged a car to meet us at the airport and effortlessly whisk us to the hotel. The door is a simple door - but then inside - an incredible moorish decor just oozing care and quality.

We were shown to our room of good size with a large bathroom decorated in the same vein with rose petals strewn thoughout. All spotlessly clean.

And then up onto the roof for an amazing Morroccan dinner - and Morrocan wine - they have a very good Morrocan wine list.

So all very good so far - then you get up the next morning and after a sumptous breakfast, again on the roof. They hit you with their secret weapon - service.

We were given a map and they sat down with us and explained where to go, what to see, how to get there, what a caleche/ taxi would cost for this route etc. (it kills the haggling when you go -"hotel says it's this much" - price comes straight down.
As for restaurants they just booked them, arranged a driver and that was all there was to it. By the way, you give the restaurant the driver's card when you are finished and he comes and takes you back.

All of this service is very discrete and in in no way pushy - they are are just there to help you have a great time. We had a truly effortless break - The team just organised everything quietly and efficiently for us.

The location is very good - it is just a straight line walk (say 5mins) to Jamaa Al Fna Square - you can't get lost and it felt safe walking back at 11.30 pm plus.

On top of this we had the Hamman and Massage in the hotel's facilities - very good and relaxing, I was falling asleep over dinner that night. Finally they arranged a car to take us back to the airport.

This was probably the most relaxing holiday we have ever had - all down to the efforts of the Dar Anika team - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Tucked away round a corner, so very easy to miss, when the large wooden doors swung open it was like entering the Tardis. Stunning interiors, a delightful welcome, beautiful and decorous, fabulous rose-petalled bedrooms, breakfasts on the terrace, the small but welcome pool, and of course the three tortoises (large, medium and cute). But what sets this Riad apart is the service - attentive, friendly, perfect.

We spent 2 nights here with our two 11 year olds following 5 nights at Kasbah Angour near the Atlas Mountains (see part 1 review). Abu was our main host here, and his tips on what to do and when, and where to eat were great. When we ate at Pepe Nero on the first night, it was a beautiful setting complimented by very good cuisine (they have Moroccan and Italian menus). (btw, walking to the restaurant some cheeky gent told us it was closed - no doubt trying to win custom for another place - luckily we had reservations so didn't fall for it).

However, Abu's second recommendation on our last night was sublime - Dar Rizlane was beyond exquisite: the gardens, the food the service were amongst the best I have experienced anywhere. It cost a lot - around £150? - but as near to perfect as a meal in Marrakech can be.

Marrakech was very hot this week, 38 degrees, and the assault on all the senses with the souks and the Medina square as mad and as noisy and as busy as ever may not suit everyone, but it is a magical place, with great exotic sights and smells at every turn. The ever present and buzzing mopeds and scooters are not welcome partners in the alleyways.

On our first afternoon there, Abu recommended we ask our guide to take us direct to the souks and visit the Bahi and Saadian tombs the next day ourselves as they were very closeby. Unfortunately, the guide wouldn't listen to us and it took an hour and half in very hot conditions before we finally arrived in the markets. We weren't happy with him, as the souks are only about a 10 or 15 minute walk from Dar Anika, but he did show us some great stalls. You have to be prepared for the way of the guides - they take you to a shop - usually a pharmacy/herbalist, a carpet shop, a carpenter etc where there's a medium to hard sell, but on about the fourth or fifth 'no thank you' the message is received. But there is so much I'd like to buy! If you do want to buy something, always offer less than half their asking price and work up a little from there. Never pay more than half their original asking price. Walk away, then you will get a good price! At one stage, we got drawn (via our guide) into a carpet shop, tired and hot, and we politely withdrew quickly, before our guide had re-appeared. I suggested (only half jokingly) we make a run for it.

A guide is useful the first time there, but no its not impossible to find your way round the Medina with a decent map.

Dar Anika provided a wonderful, peaceful respite from the hustle and bustle and noise of Marrakech; on our last day they provided very tasty lunch bags to take to the airport with us.

It's a fabulous place and just doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: Although the kids had a room with a street window, noise levels were slight, and disappeared late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the approach to the entrance this must be one of the nicest Riads in Marrakech. Welcomed with mint tea, milk, and dates, after a while Samir greeted us and gave us a full introduction to Marrakesh, including map advice and recommendation where to eat. Lovely covered courtyard with rooms off on first floor, very comfortable, little warm at night but we did not think it justified asking for the air con to be turned on. Great evening meal, lots of elements, whole tableful of dishes. Breakfast with eggs served on roof. Attentive service, we could have benefited from better French as some things weren't clear to us when Samir was not there but the staff could not be more helpful, including sending us off with lunch on last day. This is great location we walked everywhere in the old city from it without the hassle of crossing the new roads. Very highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Riad dar Anika. What a beautiful hotel! And the staff was simply fantastic!
Arrival:
We got picked up in a lovely car from the airport and driven straight to the hotel. There we were welcomed and sent up to the roof terrace straight away for a complimentary breakfast as we arrived in Marrakech at 9am.
Food:
The food was great - delicious yoghurt, fruit salad, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, break, a different cake every day and an omelette. We had dinner at the dar Anika as well one night. The setting was fantastic on the rooftop, the food was truly outstanding but maybe just as good as the food was the service – we loved witnessing how proud the staff was to introduce us to the delights of the Moroccan cuisine which was lovely.
Staff:
Every staff member was extremely helpful and courteous always there to help you in any way by making recommendations upon request. Tea and Moroccan soups were offered to us throughout our stay. Fantastic staff, management and owner – I’d definitely come back to stay at the dar Anika!
Rooms:
Beautiful rooms! Decorated in deep colours and quality accessories – from handstitched bedspreads to gorgeous pillows and quality shampoo.
Pool:
I was looking for a hotel with a pool but booked the dar Anika despite its moderate 4-meter pool. When I arrived I learned that due to architectural reasons there are actually very few pools in the city. The small pool at dar Anika is perfectly fine to get refreshed and you can go on a trip to one of the beautiful spas for a swim or a Hammam if you like. I recommend the massage at the Golf Atlas hotel outside of the city walls.

If you book the dar Anika I am sure you will have a beautiful stay – suitable for children and couples alike. A great small hotel!

My thanks go to Samir and all the staff,
Anne

Room Tip: We loved room 7! All rooms are quiet at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Hotel
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.