We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - fantastic food and great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #8 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - fantastic food and great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Riad dar Anika. What a beautiful hotel! And the staff was simply fantastic!
Arrival:
We got picked up in a lovely car from the airport and driven straight to the hotel. There we were welcomed and sent up to the roof terrace straight away for a complimentary breakfast as we arrived in Marrakech at 9am.
Food:
The food was great - delicious yoghurt, fruit salad, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, break, a different cake every day and an omelette. We had dinner at the dar Anika as well one night. The setting was fantastic on the rooftop, the food was truly outstanding but maybe just as good as the food was the service – we loved witnessing how proud the staff was to introduce us to the delights of the Moroccan cuisine which was lovely.
Staff:
Every staff member was extremely helpful and courteous always there to help you in any way by making recommendations upon request. Tea and Moroccan soups were offered to us throughout our stay. Fantastic staff, management and owner – I’d definitely come back to stay at the dar Anika!
Rooms:
Beautiful rooms! Decorated in deep colours and quality accessories – from handstitched bedspreads to gorgeous pillows and quality shampoo.
Pool:
I was looking for a hotel with a pool but
booked the dar Anika despite its moderate 4-meter pool. When I arrived I learned that due to architectural reasons there are actually very few pools in the city. The small pool at dar Anika is perfectly fine to get refreshed and you can go on a trip to one of the beautiful spas for a swim or a Hammam if you like. I recommend the massage at the Golf Atlas hotel outside of the city walls.

If you book the dar Anika I am sure you will have a beautiful stay – suitable for children and couples alike. A great small hotel!

My thanks go to Samir and all the staff,
Anne

Room Tip: We loved room 7! All rooms are quiet at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
223
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It started with a short drive from Marrakech airport, to the old city Medina at the beginning of a busy street Zaitoun El Kadiem (Old Olive Street) at the entrance of the old Souk (market) leading to Djemma el Fna.
Not knowing what to expect, except some photos we saw of the Riad (Boutique Hotel) in the Internet, we were directed to an old beautifully carved door, the moment it was opened, we were greeted by Abu, Omar and Khalid part of the hotel management, we knew that we were into an experience.
At the entrance there was a small reception area, handled by two pleasant ladies, directly to an amazing courtyard with a massive skylight extending to the upper parameters of the yard, during the winter times it is covered with a transparent membrane, during the summer the membrane is removed totally, at all times light always comes through. The main structure of the building overlooks into the yard to the right there is a swimming pool, directly straight the hammam, to the left a sitting room, some guest rooms on the ground floor and the rest on the first floor in total 12 guest rooms, all with views on the yard, on the second floor there is the roof terrace, beautifully landscaped, focus point Arabian tent, potted plants, trees and flowers, with views over the old city, and Atlas mountain. All floors are furnished in a traditional period style with the influence of mature plantations. In addition to the hotel staff, furniture, fixtures and fittings, there are two tortoises, a chameleon and a stuffed toy monkey on a palm all permanent occupants.
Once inside the Riad strangely the noises of the busy streets disappeared, our luggage were taken immediately to our room, politely we were asked to leave our passports for registration and then taken through the main courtyard of the hotel to a beautifully decorated sitting room with the traditional old style of the Riad , we were offered wet towels to freshen up followed by some traditional soup, dates, Moroccan tea and local sweets, all prepared on the premises, followed by a brief introduction to the hotel and the city. Going up to our room, we were faced with an amazing internally decorated and finished room, red rose petals were used to enhance the decoration, there were complimentary fruits, water and nuts. Although the Riad is of old construction, it has been modernized to a very good standard which is very evident in the rooms and the bathroom facilities.
Our complimentary breakfast, we used to have it daily on the roof terrace with some guests already finished, soaking in the sun with a book, some coming to have breakfast. Afternoon tea is offered daily, with dinner normally served with local dishes in the courtyard, some nights there will be local musician playing traditional music to accompany the food and wine. We must say dining in the Riad is an experience and is a must, so is the hammam translated bathroom, but it is a way of bathing in the old traditional way.
Leaving the Riad to visit the Souk, local attractions and excursions it was always nice to come back to the Riad as a retreat, looking forward to a clean room, shower a glass of wine to relax and to embark into the evening. It is almost like an oasis in the middle of the desert.

In total we stayed eight nights we were sad to leave, the service we received, the attention to our needs and to small details, the readiness of the staff to help and please, all was beyond our expectations, Dar Anika is a boutique hotel with a massive big heart, for sure we will visit again.
Thank you to the management and all the staff to have made our stay memorable one.
Rima & Ata

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My second stay at this fabulous boutique hotel which can't be beaten for comfort, location, service and the best food we had whilst in Marrakech. Even tho the weather wasnt that great it was so nice to relax in the salon with all the comforts of home. The staff are so amazing and the food unforgettable please don't miss the opportunity of discovering this hidden gem, I guarantee you will be back for more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Execellent and warm and carring service.

You must ordre dinner once at Dar Anika at Your stay as it is execellent.

We got all the help and advice for visits, tours, resturants etc. as we needed.

If You want to visit Marakech, Dar Anika will be a good part to make the stay in Marralech a succes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent a night at Riad Dar Anika in April having arrived in Marrakech earlier on in the day. We were efficiently collected from the airport and brought to the door of the Riad. From that moment we received the most outstanding service imaginable: we were greeted in person and offered refreshments to relax. We were allowed to drop our bags early in the room where we discovered the most beautifully adorned room, decorated with rose petals and with a stunning basket of roses to celebrate our daughter's birthday that day. We went off on a guided tour of the Medina, arranged previously through the Riad and returned for evening dinner. The dinner was a wonderful experience, tasting so many different specialities; so much was provided that we didn't come close to eating everything on our table. To cap off a perfect evening, a cake had been arranged by the Riad for our daughter. The following morning, a generous breakfast was the icing on the cake. Seriously excellent service, outstanding attentive staff, wonderful surroundings and a beautiful and comfortable room: Book a visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at beginning of March with our mums as a surprise treat for them. Can't thank the staff enough for their warm hospitality & care. The little touches were lovely, all the staff are happy & helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved the breakfast, mint teas & the great haria soup with homemade bread & cakes. Location is perfect & we did so much in a few days. Thanks from Debs, Ann & Margaret & me. Keep up the good work Dar Anika :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived in Marrakesh airport to be met by a driver from the Dar Anika, who helped with bags and took us through the chaotic traffic of Marrakesh to the calm and beauty of this exotic Riad. After a welcoming mint tea, we were shown to rose petal covered rooms by smiling staff. The hassle of the journey evapourated in the scents of shower.
An extensive dinner followed with several gently spiced courses appearing under the tagines. We had arrived in some sort of exotic heaven ! Candles floated on the surface of the swimming pool, a muiscian played in the corner, but suddenly tranquillity was interrupted by drumming and singing as three ladies appeared to demonstrate their quivering hips ! Soon peace returned and we retired to the comfortable bedrooms their Moorish designs.
Breakfast was on the roof, surrounded by flowers in "ali baba" pots. Delicious pancakes and local bread accompanied eggs of your choice, a subtle yoghourt, fruit, juice - in fact almost anything one could wish for.
The next three days were spent on a desert Safari, organised by Abu the owner of Dar Anika. All went like clockwork thanks to excellent planning by Abu and his team. Back again in the comfort of the hotel we found out about the delights of Marrakesh Medina; everything is close by: the Bahia Palace the Jemaa El-Fna, carriages to take you round the city, restaurants recommended by Abu and the fascinating bustle of the passages filled with merchants selling all kinds of produce.
The staff are helpullness itself, they produce tea whenever you return tired from your shopping. The hotel exchange rate is competitive, everything is spotless, the pool is cool after a hot day, and we enjoyed being pampered immensely . Can I think of any negatives ? The Muezzin's call to prayer can disturb one's sleep, but that is what he intends to do !
I cannot recommend this small hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.