We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing all around, especially the service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #10 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing all around, especially the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, Samuel and his team did an amazing job of making us feel right at home in their beautiful Riad in the Medina with perfect access to the Souks and Square as well as the street for car service or taxi to anywhere you wish to go. Don't worry if you are not sure where to go, because Samuel and the team will make great recommendations. We played 4 days of golf, and loved it, and the team planned our delivery to and from the golf courses every day, and dinner each night was based upon their recommendations, including a great Moroccaine meal in Dar Anika the first night. Everything was delicious and my wife and I were full for two days after that meal. The restaurants were all great recommendations and variety each night. We spent several days strolling the souks right from the Riad and contributed well to the local economy and bought some great treasures to remember our second trip to Marrakech. About half way through the week, we had the pleasure to meet Abu, the owner, and it is clear that the warm hospitality and great service at Dar Anika comes from the top. He recommended an amazing restaurant for our last evening, and sent his team to get us some of the best Moroccaine Pastries to bring home to a dear friend, and some for ourselve too. The breakfasts, the teas, the terrace, the service, the family atmosphere, I could go on and on, just go and I assure you, you will be glad you did! It was so great, my wife will go again with her sister real soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, which is one of the largest, and it has a unique dome roof with small frosted w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
233
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at Riad Dar Anika from 1st to 4th March 2013 with my Daughter and two friends . We were treated with care and respect and were totally spoiled with attentive service ( not obtrusive and very professional). The staff were friendly and always willing to help and the managers were most helpful with local tips etc. and would take the time to chat to us.
The rooms we had were excellent although I would recommend room number 2 as it seemed lighter than mine (which was number 7). Both rooms were very comfortable and decorated on arrival with rose petals which was a lovely touch.
The breakfasts were fantastic with fruit,yoghurt, pancakes. bread eggs etc. and even English tea! (Yes we also had Mint tea). We often had tea on the roof terrace after a day of sightseeing which was most welcome and a restful spot.
We were also given a packed lunch with a small gift on departure which was also unexpected and gave a caring impression of the Riad.
The Riad itself was a tranquil place where we could totally relax and feel very comfortable in.
I would totally recommend this Riad to any travellers to Marrakech it was close to a lot of the tourist places which we wanted to visit and we could walk there easily ( 2 of us were seniors).
My thanks to the managers and staff at the Dar Anika.

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely I had room 7 which was also nice but a bit darker as it was situated on lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As all the reviews on Trip Advisor were SO good, I was a bit worried the riad was almost destined to fall short. On arrival, you are welcomed warmly and plenty of time is spent with you explaining where to go and answering any questions on the area. This Riad only has 12 rooms, and over the days we stayed it began to feel like home! The layout is great as there are plenty of places to have a relaxing mint tea whether it be on the terrace, in the lounge or on one of the other floors. The team there are brilliant; genuinely friendly and surpass themselves to go that extra mile for you. Small touches like fetching blankets so you can sit outside to watch sunsets at night when it's cooler, packed lunches, remembering how you like your eggs/tea in the morning are a welcoming change from chain hotels.

We also had the set dinner - wow. All i can say is I have never seen so much (yummy!) food in my life. It was great! The Moroccan salads were the best we had all holiday and the lamb was delicious. Breakfast was also plentiful and set you up for the day ahead- great home-made yoghurt and bread daily.

The location is also perfect. An easy stroll to the main square and really close to 3 of the main attractions. Bedrooms were spotless and lovely comfy pillows. Also liked the dressing gowns.

On the plane home, we overheard some other people discussing their stay in a 5 star hotel and they said the service they received was half hearted at best. Choose this riad and I can guarantee you will have the opposite experience- this riad and it's fabulous team made our holiday so special as they really did deliver wonderful service. I hope to go again soon!

Room Tip: Room 3 was nice as quieter as did not face on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the melee of the street markets in Marrakech, you go through the black door into the tranquility of Riad Dar Anika. Without doubt this must be one of the best small hotels in the world. Never have we experienced service like this. From the rose petals around your room when you arrive to the friendly helpful staff, the service was exceptional.

The dinner is a MUST. You will be amazed by the quality and the quantity (the only complaint is that the tables were too small to hold it all).

Abu insisted that we did not tip anyone individually (and the staff did not expect it), but we just had to give a tip at the end.

All this does not come cheap, but when it came to paying the bill, most of the small services like tea and cakes, were free of charge. How many other hotels would do that for you?

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Marrakech is quite unlike anywhere in Europe. It is more than you can imagine.An assault on the senses in every way. Dar Anika is an oasis of calm in the Medina.
From our arrival at the airport to our departure everything is taken care of. On the first night we had dinner in the riad and this is something I would recommend. For authentic Moroccan food I dont think you will do better.
The staff our great and Samir is a font of knowledge and is happy to recommend trips, what to do and what not to do.
Some really nice touches, such as the welcome mint tea and cakes right through to our packed lunch for the plane journey home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thank you, Trip Advisor friends. Your stellar reviews led us to a truly wonderful 5 day stay at Riad Dar Anika. Particularly appreciated: the welcoming ceremony; the spotless and upgraded room; the hour-long "introduction to Marrakesh" the first morning with Abu, owner and host extraordinaire, who gave us excellent information and confidence to make the most of our stay; a most comfortable location at the end of the souk, which I found I much preferred to other riad locations around the area; and the staff, who actually went out to try to buy a converter at 9 pm when ours broke, who remembered our names, and who seem to be really enjoying their jobs. Unexpected bonuses: lovely rooftop terrace for the hearty breakfast; complimentary, yummy, traditional soup served each evening; help changing US dollars without having to go outside; help arranging a tour and airport transfers; and a colorful community of people just outside the door who have been living there for over 30 years. So unexpectedly relaxing to be so well taken care of in this very unfamiliar city. I could just simply move into Riad Dar Anika; we will certainly be bringing our far-flung family to enjoy the hospitality. Could not be any better. Cannot think of one suggestion for improvement, which my friends will assure you is highly unusual for me. Don't hesitate. BTW: Marrakesh is wonderful, too.

Room Tip: Our twin bedded room, #4, had tinted glass windows looking onto the brightly sky-lit interior courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Dar Annika for 4 nights having chosen it because of other Trip Advisor reviews. We had a fantastic time and were treated beautifully from the second we arrived until we left. The staff were pleasant, attentive (to the right degree) and provided everything we could want. We had a very pretty room (number 6) which looked out onto a street leading up to the main square (5 minute walk) Our initial thoughts that this could be a noisy room were totally unfounded.On our last night we had a meal at the riad which was superb...by far the best meal we had and a highlight of our stay. Samir and all the other staff did an excellent job!

Room Tip: Number 6 was lovely. I think the only one with windows(very pretty with coloured glass) looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.