We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Anika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIRECT BOOKING INCENTIVE.
Ranked #6 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Marseille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As I work for an airline, I have the privilege to travel a lot. I've visited many hotels, riads and resorts mainly around Europe and, as far as I'm concerned, I can say that it's very difficult to find something even close to this Riad. The structure have been completely rebuilt using high european standards while preserving the genuine Moroccan style. Everything have been studied to make it comfortable. On top of it, the service to the customer it's something incredible! You'll have one (or even two) people looking after you! This place it's fantastic and it's already the second time we are going there (next year we are going there aswell).

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable at the same level, but if you choose a "superior suite" you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
232
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A wonderful experience - exquisite service & food. The staff are all well-trained and provide very professional quality of service. The location is just right - close to the centre without being in the hustle and bustle of Djemma el Fna. Perhaps too much food? But who's complaining? We can't recommend the Dar Anika highly enough and we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a haven for us away from all the wonderful madness outside....the staff are outstanding and could not do enough for us...Abu and Samir (think we have the names right!!) were beyond excellent. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted beautifully with milk, cookies, treats etc, The breakfasts on the roof terrace are something we will never forget. The mint tea and freshly baked goodies were to die for. Please go for the cheese omelettes baked in tagine dishes - delicious!. Also lovely coming in from a night out and have a last drink of the evening in front of the real fire which you will have to share with their pet tortoise who also loves the warmth of the fire! We stayed for 5 nights and it was for my husband's 50th birthday...we asked for a room swap and they did with no problem. They even provided my husband with a gorgeous birthday cake on the morning of his birthday; which was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated. Rooms are gorgeous with bath robes and rose petals scattered over the rooms are a lovely touch. The hosts were fantastic with giving us excellent advice about where to go and even booked us taxis and restaurants. Just excellent personal service without a doubt! Please stay here...you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location in the heart of the Medina made it easy to explore the city. A unique Morrocan experience, decore, food and service. As a first timer to Marrakesh the city can be a little daunting the hotel Manager, Samir, showed us what was important to see gave us maps and the confidence to make the most of the trip. Lots of little extras, purchased our ongoing bus tickets and even packed a lunch for us on the day we departed. Our thanks to the team for making our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First time / first night in Morocco. Arrived around 6 p.m., to a somewhat chaotic street scene on the edge of the Medina. Then, into paradise (in every way). Warm greeting from Tarek and Joab (so sorry as I know I've butchered the names of these fabulous fellows), followed by milk and dates, then mint tea and cookies. Romantic interior, including rose petals on the way to the room, then in the room (all over, including the bath). Romance plus! Invited to relax and clean up before our dinner. Do not miss out on the dinner (which I sort of reluctantly signed up for figuring we'd be a bit road weary our first night). So glad we ate at the Riad . . . the food was great and just kept coming and coming. Amazingly warm, attentive service at dinner, and during our entire stay. Breakfast on the terrace, which was much more than merely a continental-style breakfast, i.e., eggs any style. 5 minute walk to the main square. Wonderful people watching from the terrace in the early a.m (with great sunrise) and end of the day. Stayed two nights, perfect stay. Highly recommend this Riad. Note that I booked this Riad through Priceline, so not only was it perfect in every way, the price was less than $100/night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly I want to say a Big "Thank you" to Samir, Abou and Halima for the overwhelming hospitality they showed us. Being Irish, our national motto to visitors in Gaelic is "Cead Mile Failte" which means 'a hundred thousand welcomes'; well this is exactly what we received in Riad Dar Anika!
When we arrived, we were greeted by the warm and friendly Samir who ushered us into a beautiful Morrocan style lounge were our hands were cleansed with rose water and we were first given ornate chalices of t mint tea, which was traditionally poured from a height. Followed by glasses of almond milk, dates and some Morrocan pastries. We were then left there to relax and soak up the mystique of our surroundings while we unwound from our journey.
The Riad itself is located right in the heart of Marrakech amidst all the hustle and bustle of the souks, and the mystical palaces and mosques. It is only a few minutes walk from the famous Djemaa el fna, the massive square where you will see snake charmers, and monkeys, and souks selling everything you can imagine. Yet once inside the doors of the Riad, you will find yourself in a peaceful tranquil oasis.
You must have dinner in this Riad at least once as it was the best traditional Morrocan food we tasted. On our first night the chef Halima made us a feast of several different tagines. It was Superb! She also took me down and showed me the kitchen one evening as I showed an interest in how the food was prepared! I was delighted!
Abou, the owner, was so helpful and told us all the sites to see, and where was good to eat etc. a lovely man!
Every evening we were offered a bowl of Harira soup to comfort us.
Samir would organise our taxis to take us to and from restaurants and he even organised and paid for our bus journey to Agadir when we were leaving. On top of that we were given a packed lunch for the journey!
An absolutely amazing, memorable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first visit to Morocco and "WOW!!" what a Christmas break we had. On leaving a wet and cold England on the 22nd December we were a little apprehensive as we relied heavily on the reviews on Trip Advisor's website in making our decision to stay at Dar Anika. Not only did Dar Anika meet our expectations, they exceeded them!! Having organised our airport transfers with the most helpful and friendliest of drivers, we were subject to the most incredible welcome we have ever experienced! We were greeted in the traditional Moroccan way by the most wonderful staff who provided us with milk and dates followed by mint tea and pastries.
The riad is just wonderful; it's so quiet and peaceful inside even though it is well positioned close to the El Badi and Bahia Palaces and a short walk to the Jemaa-el-Fna Square. The decor is lovely, with plenty of comfortable seating areas inside and on the terrace. There is a pool and a hamman. Our rooms (1 double & 1 twin) were spotlessly clean and decorated with rose petals. Bottled mineral water, pastries, fruit, bathrobes and toiletries were provided. We have travelled extensively in Europe and we have never experienced such hospitality in our lives before. We were made to feel extremely welcome and special; in fact, truly spoilt! The hospitality was what you would expect of a 5* hotel, but without the high price tag.
All the staff at the Riad are helpful, kind, polite and friendly. The food is exceptional and plenty of it too. Breakfasts were served on the terrace and consisted of fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice, warm bread rolls, pancakes, condiments, cake, a variety of egg dishes and good coffee, even English tea! The 3 course meals offered in the evenings were freshly prepared daily and of the highest quality. The wine which was recommended by the waiters was extremely good too. The waiters are well trained, knowledgeable and couldn't do enough for us.
Samir, manages this impeccable riad. He is very friendly, approachable and helpful. He makes time to hold a meeting with you at the beginning of your stay to give advice and make suggestions on where to go, what to see, where to eat, arrange excursions, inform you to how much to pay for taxis or horse and carriage rides etc., and provide you with a packed lunch on the day of your return. We were really impressed that he provided us with his mobile telephone number in case we felt that we needed help or got lost - this was very reassuring. He organised a wonderful Christmas gala meal on Christmas Eve which included aperitifs, wine, water, wonderful food and traditional Moroccan & Berber entertainment as well as an Xmas tree! We also discovered some wonderful roses in our rooms with a note from the staff of the riad wishing us 'a merry Christmas'. His attention to detail and thoughtfulness was again a lovely touch. Samir also arranged a day trip to the Ourika valley to visit 3 Berber villages for us with the driver who collected us from the airport. The driver deserves a mention too as he made this trip a 'must do'. We felt in safe hands throughout. As well as being a good driver with a large comfortable air-con car, he was friendly, helpful and provided us with much information on the area and the villagers. He even surprised our sons by giving them the opportunity to get dressed up and have a camel ride (they thought they were only stopping for a photo shoot!).
We also met Abdul, the owner of Dar Anika. A lovely man, who should be very proud of Samir and all the staff. He has created a place to stay within the Medina, which is truly magnificent.
This was our first visit to Marrakesh and it has been such a fantastic experience and one we will remember always. We would love to return sometime in the future and will recommend Dar Anika to anyone wanting to visit Marrakesh.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.