We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric, welcoming and comfortable - a great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djemanna

Save Saved
You added Riad Djemanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Djemanna
69 derb el Halfahoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, welcoming and comfortable - a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Off the Main Street, a short distance along a side street, right down an alleyway that becomes narrower as it twists and turns past recesses and doorways, growing uncertainty about where we are headed. Then we reach the door of the Riad with its heavy metal door knocker. Two sharp raps brings someone to open up and we see the first wide smile of welcome.

This is a delightful home from home. That's how manager Zohra Bekkari describes it and that's what she wants you to enjoy. She succeeds. This is a delightful B & B/small hotel. The rooms are on two levels around an open courtyard. Breakfast is served up on the sunny rooftop an dinner (of choice) in the beautiful Moroccan decorated dining area. It's a great introduction to Marrakech, full of atmosphere, welcoming and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This lovely Ryad is on a very busy street. There is a large wooden door,
The doors are opened and you are welcomed by the friendly staff, you enter into a vestibule that opens to a wonderful open air court yard. The Ryad manager greets you and immediately offers you traditional Moroccan welcome tea,
Beautiful Roof terrace with fee Wi Fi, Staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome - they are wonderful - but struggling with the general decay of the place. Breakfast adequate but average...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our first experience of staying at a Moroccan riad. Zohra and her staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Being a genuine riad it is tucked away up narrow walled passageways which can be a bit worrying at night if you are of a nervous disposition!!
Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning sunshine was glorious. I was amazed at how completely quiet it was considering we were in the middle of a city.
Apart from one taxi to a restaurant we were able to walk to all the sights of Marrakesh from the riad.

Room Tip: we decided to have the Perle room on the first floor to get a bit more daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

The Riad is 10 minutes from the central square. It is in the middle of the old town only ten rooms with superb decoration. Lovely roof terrace. Very personal and friendly service
Meals cooked on demand. You need to book the day before. Best cous cous.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

have stayed many times in Marrakech and can strongly recoomend Riad Djemanna,
Tranquil, helpful staff, clean , good food , beautiful tradional decour. It's a short walk from the square. We, two girls, felt quite safe staying at the riad and walking a short distance along a couple of alleyways to reach he road.The staff will meet you the first time to show you the way from Dar Moha a famour restaurant on a corner nearby.
Great knowledgeable trips out can be arranged with Kamal Oujaa, an experienced Morrocan driver at Zen Tours, whom we we always use and can be contacted by reception..
Puffin Taylour of Sark Channel Islands

Room Tip: If you pay a little more you get a larger room with more space BUT all rooms are good. i had a look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just got back from 4 days in Marrakech and have had the most wonderful time. The Riad was beautiful, a real oasis in a bustling and busy city. The staff were wonderful and we felt that we were treated very well indeed; they could not do enough to make our stay perfect! The service is personal, very friendly and caring. We were given very good advice and some excellent recommendations. Marrakech itself is amazing, loved the sights, sounds and tastes; also found the people very friendly and welcoming. We had great fun shopping in the souks, haggling with the shop keepers, who were obviously trying to get as much as possible, but we always felt happy with the prices we paid for our purchases.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

as a single female travellor i found this riad to be an excellent place to stay. very near the heart of the medina, on first arrival difficult to find but the taxi driver helped. the staff were helpful, gave recommendations/advice if asked. the breakfast was excellent on the roof terrace. each room has air-con (thank god) , were small but comfortable and morrocon in decor. the evening meal needs to be booked in advance but was excellent. i would definately stay in this riad again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Djemanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djemanna

Address: 69 derb el Halfahoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Djemanna is ideally located at the heart of the medina, two steps from Jemaâ-El-Fna square and the main souks “local markets”. You will be hosted in a charming Riad of typically Moroccan architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Djemanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djemanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.