We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad in a great location, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djemanna

Save Saved
You added Riad Djemanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Djemanna
69 derb el Halfahoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Tervuren
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Riad in a great location, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just got back from 4 days in Marrakech and have had the most wonderful time. The Riad was beautiful, a real oasis in a bustling and busy city. The staff were wonderful and we felt that we were treated very well indeed; they could not do enough to make our stay perfect! The service is personal, very friendly and caring. We were given very good advice and some excellent recommendations. Marrakech itself is amazing, loved the sights, sounds and tastes; also found the people very friendly and welcoming. We had great fun shopping in the souks, haggling with the shop keepers, who were obviously trying to get as much as possible, but we always felt happy with the prices we paid for our purchases.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

as a single female travellor i found this riad to be an excellent place to stay. very near the heart of the medina, on first arrival difficult to find but the taxi driver helped. the staff were helpful, gave recommendations/advice if asked. the breakfast was excellent on the roof terrace. each room has air-con (thank god) , were small but comfortable and morrocon in decor. the evening meal needs to be booked in advance but was excellent. i would definately stay in this riad again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This small riad in the middle of the medina in Marrakesh is the perfect place to stay if you want nice staff, great food and the perfect location. The hotel being in the medina, you need someone to show you the way the first time but it's quite easy to remember. it's very close to the Djema El Fna and the souk.
The hotel serves a very good breakfast with different jams and crepes and although we went in December/January, we could have breakfast on the terrace. Delicious!!
The rooms and the Riad overall are decorated in traditional Moroccan style with a lot of taste.
Guests can have dinner in the patio, if booked before (in the morning for the evening). We had dinner there on the 31st of December and enjoyed it a lot. The dishes served were excellent.
My husband and I are very happy of our stay and will stay in this wonderful Riad next time we go to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Genteel, inclusive, generous, friendly, quiet, calm, great location. What more to say? This is just a perfect place to stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had a brilliant time at Riad Djemanna, we felt safe, well informed and well cared for through out our stay. All member's of staff are excellent. They know how to provide a good service. The rooms are nice and cosy, a bit dark but cooling in the heat. The beds are firm and supportive but not luxurious... we slept really well though! The breakfast is simple consisting of variety of breads that we enjoyed, I must say they have ironed out the points raised from poor reviews!

Staying at Riad Djemanna definitely lets peek into Moroccan living. Its not a large hotel and that was the best thing about it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

My friends and I just came back from a long weekend in Marrakech. We booked to stay in this riad, following good reviews. When we arrived to the riad (taxi was arranged by the riad), we were welcomed by the manager, who seemed very pleasant. The riad itself was lovely, even though it was tucked away within the little alleys near the souk area of Marrakech. We were offered mint tea and biscuits and then the manager kindly offered to arrange reservations for certain restaurants we wanted to visit. She also offered to arrage taxis for us, which we agreed to for the first day, as we were 7 girls and wanted to be safe. We realised that the cost was over-priced, but went for the taxi anyway. Now over prior email communication we had enquired into changing our money into Dhirams at the riad, and we were told this was possible, and so we had said that we probably will change money at the riad. The rate given to us was lower than what we had thought. On arrival at the airport we saw that the rate there was much higher, so we changed money there. After the manager had finished registering us in, she asked about the changing money, to which we said thank you but we got a better rate at the airport, so we exchanged money there. We understand that we had informed her that we most likely were going to change money with her, but we had not been asked any confirmation of this, so we assumed this decision was up to us. The manager suddenly became very angry and began raising her voice to us, calling us dishonest, and demanding what we were going to do about the fact that we had already changed money. We apologised to her and explained that as we were under no written and signed agreement to exchange money with her, we decided to do so at the airport as the exhange rate was better. Eventually the issue subsided and we continued on with our day, despite the feeling of tension in the riad.
The next issue came about the next day after breakfast. We were provided with breakfast on the roof terrace which was pleasant. Breakfast was included in the cost, and consisted of tea, fresh orange juice, various breakfast breads and jam. We asked for eggs and another glass of juice, which was provided. After breakfast when we were about to leave to go out, we were told that eggs and the extra juice incurs extra charges, to which we replied, we were not informed of this. When you are told breakfast is included, you assume that all of breakfast is included. They let this go for that day as we explained that is was unfair as they had not told us of the extra charges.
All in all the attitude and responses of the manager made our stay very uncomfortable and awkward. There was another lady who helped us most of the time, and she was very nice. In addition other staff were pleasant. The riad itseld was nice, and the rooms comfortable and clean. As it was a riad we had to be quiet after about 10pm, as sound travels very easily. I would not recommend a large group of people to stay in a riad, better for couples or groups of 2-3 people.
The taxis arranged by the riad were very over priced, as we ended up finding our own local taxis. So be aware of this.
Unfortunately all our experiences made our trip a struggle and we came back relieved.
In summary this riad was a nice place but our experience of the management and service was poor.
Other points to remember about marrakech, especially for groups of girls travelling there:
you can be hassled a lot by local men!! We did not feel particularly threatened but you had to be very aware, and we dressed appropriately. Be careful about picking taxis, whenever we tried to hail down taxis, there always seemed to be groups of men who wanted to help us, but they were all working together. Being a tourist you expect that you will be quoted high charges, really haggle with them. But expect to be ripped off. This applies to the souks as well, just be vigilant and remember they are always over-charging you.
Marrakech is a very difficult place for vegetarians, half our group were vegetarians, and we really struggled to find decent food. We went to a couple of fine dining places, with very limited menus. Chefs were not prepared to rustle up simple vegetarian pasta dishes!! We went to a highly recommeded place to eat called Jad Mahal...all I can say is...disaster! It probably helped to ruin the whole trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This was my first time in marrakech and I really wanted to make sure that the Riad we got was top notch! I wanted to book one of the riads that were given the best reviews on tripadvisor (like in the top ten) but most of them were booked up a long time before, so I was left to shop around for another Riad.

I found this Riad on Presitigia.com (or something like that) and the pictures looked amazing. I rang the hotel directly to get some more information and Zohra the hotel manager gave me a better rate than on the website!

At the time of booking, Zohra was very helpful and polite on the phone. I decided to go with the Rubis suite as that apparently had the most sunlight and was a larger room.

We arranged transfers with the hotel. It all went swiftly with the driver waiting for us with our name on a sign.

When we arrived the taxi driver stopped at the corner of a road and we have to do a short walk to the riad by foot. The porter from the Riad met us at the corner and helped carry our luggage.

The riad is down a small alley way - had I not read other people's reviews I would have found this a bit odd, however after reading reviews beforehand I learnt that most riads are down little side streets and its nothing to be alarmed about.

Once through the door, we came through to a little reception and was lead into the courtyard where we given customary mint tea and pastries.

Zohra greeted us and efficiently went through a map of the medina and where all the local sites were for us to navigate from. We then were led to our room. My first impression was that the room looked exactly as it did on the website, which was good! Rose petals were romantically placed on the bed and in certain parts of the bathroom.

The Riad itself was very pretty, It had two little plunge pools (not to be confused with proper swimming pools - which I thought the riad had) lovely terrace and alot of attention to detail. I liked the fact that all the decor was Moroccan. I know that most people think that would be obvious in riad or hotel in marrakech, however there are some hotels/riads who try and play down the decor and adopt more of a minimalist approach, however this riad was tastefully decorated which I liked.

In the evenings they would play soft jazz or ambient music for evening dinner or tea, which was quite nice. We had dinner there twice and both times the food was lovely, quite possibly the best food we had in marrakech. The service was also excellent.

Breakfast in the morning, was ok. The food was sufficient but nothing I would rave about. I liked the fresh orange juice, that was lovely.

The rest of the staff were really nice. Lovely people. They at times did have some difficulty understanding english, this was not too bad though and Zohra the main manager spoke english fluently. Again they were all really nice people and made you feel very welcome.

The main sites were not far from the Riad, the main square was about a 10 minute walk and the souks about 15 minutes. The new medina was also pretty close by.

A few areas the Riad could improve on is the issue of dinner. When we first sat down Zohra advised us that if we wanted dinner we would need to let her know in advance. However did not really specifiy how long in advance. So one evening when we did come down and ask for dinner, they advised us that it was too late and all food was good. I agree maybe we did come down late (8.30pm), but it would be good if the Riad could also stipulate when their cut off time is to order food for the evening.

One of the reasons why I booked the riad was also because of the fact that they had a hamaam in the riad. However when we arrived Zohra advised us that it was out of service and had been so for about a week. Which was a shame as we really wanted to use it in the comfort of our own riad. We did opt for just a massage in the end, which was good.

Overall I would definately recommend this riad to anyone who visits Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Djemanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djemanna

Address: 69 derb el Halfahoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Djemanna is ideally located at the heart of the medina, two steps from Jemaâ-El-Fna square and the main souks “local markets”. You will be hosted in a charming Riad of typically Moroccan architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Djemanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djemanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.