We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful palace in heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Donab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Donab to your Saves list
Palais Donab
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #408 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful palace in heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Palais dar Donab is a beautiful spot in the heart of the medina. Whilst only a few mins stroll from the Place Jemaa el F'na, it is quiet and very peaceful - and the perfect place to chill out whilst enjoying beautiful food and drink. The hotel is larger than the average Riad but this is a huge advantage as the setting is lovely, with a large pool, fabulous rooms and very impressive public areas - as well as bars and interior restaurant...
I stayed in the Koutobia Suite which was large and sumptuous whilst my friends took the Royale Suite which was utterly sublime in a OTT way and larger than most flats in London.
Overall a fab hotel with great staff, fantastic food and the perfect location for sightseeing and enjoying the best of Marrakech

Room Tip: The Jasmin Suite has its own terrace but all the rooms are superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been there yesterday for dinner and had one of our best dinners in Marrakech. Goo food, very good service (even if we arrived very late they still served us food) and nice ambience near to the pool with relaxing chill-out music. Nice deco inside the ryad. Simply great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very ornate hotel, I say hotel as I would not describe this as a Riad, it feels very much like a business rather than a family run place. However, the staff are very friendly and the position of the hotel is very quiet. We had the Konoutobia Suite which was aesthetically very beautiful although it had a very strong smell of mothballs which wasn't very pleasant. The pool is amazing and much needed in the August heat. I was unsure at first if it was okay to lie by it in a bikini as when we stayed the hotel was very quiet with very few guests, but I did and it was all fine. The food was fine but nothing spectacular. We were a little disappointed when we were being served instant coffee which she said shen ew asked that it was from 'Asda' however, she did make some fresh coffee for us in the end. I would certainly recommend Donab to stay in Marrakech although I would suggest using it as a base and eating out which is what we did, but this is such a romantic stunning place to stay you would be mad not to treat yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights and we couldn't have had any more excellent service. The room was beautiful and the up keep of the gardens and surroundings are gorgeous especially compared to other riads. It is only 10 mins from the main square and souks ad only 1 minute away from a Spa - which was much to my delight.

The breakfast / lunch and dinner were all of great quality, some may say service is slow but I wouldn't agree at all. All the staff were attentive and knew us by name by the end of our stay.

I couldn't recommend this as a place to stay enough. We stayed in the yasmine suite but I can imagine that all the rooms as lovely.

A special thanks goes to a gentleman called Abdullah who looked after us everyday whilst we were chilling by the pool.

Room Tip: Yasmine suite is perfect for 3 friends as it is definitely bigger enough and also great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We discovered the Palais Donab by chance one hot day, and had lunch by the poolside under the
benign cover of orange and lemon trees. We were so enchanted that we went back 5 times during our short stay in Marrakech.
The staff are quiet, gentle and helpful but don't expect speedy service, not that this matters as you sip a glass of Rose and take in the beautiful surroundings. The menu is not extensive but it is well cooked and very tasty.
I would love to stay here one day, budget depending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Though not staying at the hotel, I stopped here for dinner on my second night in Marrakech. I sat under the orange trees at a table next to the pool. The food and service were first rate, and the atmosphere superb as evening fell and I just let the experience wash over me. The tables were nicely set out, and the chance to enjoy a drink, while waiting for the food was really welcome.

I had Moroccan bread and mixed olives, followed by pastilla fruits de mer. The mains was well presented with lemon slices and capers, and the pastry was light and crispy. The seafood filling was beautifully spiced and the flavours were really fabulous together.

The meal was leisurely, and there was no sense of being rushed by the staff. All in all a great meal, and a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location - no dark alleyways to walk down (a considerable number of Riads in Marrakech are located in areas that look dodgy during the day, let alone at night).

Refreshing garden / pool area - nice to come back to after the hussle and bussle of the city.

Indoor restaurant a nice place to eat - but the menu was uninspiring - chose to eat here after all the rave reviews it had received here on Tripadvisor, but cant understand why.

Coffee in the afternoon by the pool is very good, but the coffee served at breakfast was vile brown liquid not worthy of being called coffee. Breakfast itself was nothing to write home about either.

All staff very helpful, polite and friendly, with all looking extremely smart in their uniforms except the receptionist who looked as though she was about to go out clubbing and did not provide a very smart first impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Andalous suite was a good size with it's seperate lounge, but the bathroom was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palais Donab 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Donab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.