We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Interlude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Donab

Save Saved
You added Palais Donab to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palais Donab
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Interlude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We discovered the Palais Donab by chance one hot day, and had lunch by the poolside under the
benign cover of orange and lemon trees. We were so enchanted that we went back 5 times during our short stay in Marrakech.
The staff are quiet, gentle and helpful but don't expect speedy service, not that this matters as you sip a glass of Rose and take in the beautiful surroundings. The menu is not extensive but it is well cooked and very tasty.
I would love to stay here one day, budget depending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Though not staying at the hotel, I stopped here for dinner on my second night in Marrakech. I sat under the orange trees at a table next to the pool. The food and service were first rate, and the atmosphere superb as evening fell and I just let the experience wash over me. The tables were nicely set out, and the chance to enjoy a drink, while waiting for the food was really welcome.

I had Moroccan bread and mixed olives, followed by pastilla fruits de mer. The mains was well presented with lemon slices and capers, and the pastry was light and crispy. The seafood filling was beautifully spiced and the flavours were really fabulous together.

The meal was leisurely, and there was no sense of being rushed by the staff. All in all a great meal, and a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location - no dark alleyways to walk down (a considerable number of Riads in Marrakech are located in areas that look dodgy during the day, let alone at night).

Refreshing garden / pool area - nice to come back to after the hussle and bussle of the city.

Indoor restaurant a nice place to eat - but the menu was uninspiring - chose to eat here after all the rave reviews it had received here on Tripadvisor, but cant understand why.

Coffee in the afternoon by the pool is very good, but the coffee served at breakfast was vile brown liquid not worthy of being called coffee. Breakfast itself was nothing to write home about either.

All staff very helpful, polite and friendly, with all looking extremely smart in their uniforms except the receptionist who looked as though she was about to go out clubbing and did not provide a very smart first impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Andalous suite was a good size with it's seperate lounge, but the bathroom was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just a few steps away from our riad Dar Saad, Dar Donab (palais donab) is a wonderfull and romantic setting for couple dining. The pool side tables offer a very relaxing atmosfere in a beautiful garden, all within the medina walls.
We spent a beautiful evening and will come back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I were not staying at this hotel but wanted to use their swimming pool. We paid 150MD to use their pool for the day and it was the best amount of money spent. The hotel is so relaxing, the gardens are lush and the budgies chirping away is very comforting! Even though we weren't staying their the staff were so attentive and put us at ease, the food was fabulous and we had two non alcoholic mojitos which were more tasty than alcoholic ones back at home!

My friend and I have already started planning on when we will come back to Marrakech to stay in this Riad, it is an aladdins cave, absolutely wonderful and it meant that on our last day we were totally relaxed to get the plane home!

Stay here everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we found this place by chance. just wandering around searching for a restaurant, which is conveniently placed close to a money exchange. we went in there and the staff asked if we have reservation. we did not, he said its not a problem and welcome. he took us right to a lovely pool-side table :) the best restaurant I have been to in marrakesh :) the prices were very reasonable for such a lovely restaurant. i ordered grilled chicken with vegetables and fries. was delicious, much better than some of the so-called north african cuisine places in london. wife ordered vegetable lasagne (don't ask). and for desert we had a fruity salad which tasted awesome. bill came to 260-280 dirhams includin bottle of water. i remember this place the most from my trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidi Bou Othmane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Palais Donab rocks! Right in the heart of the medina, it truly was a palace and exudes world-class charm. The staff is awesome, the rooms (I think there might only be 6 or 7) are beautiful, and the food and setting are stunning.

I live in Morocco and have stayed at Dar Donab six times (and eaten there at least as many) and have had nothing but great service and great experiences!

Definitely a "find" for dinner or a vacation.

Room Tip: Each room is individually laid out, so ask to see them all (there aren't that many).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palais Donab 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Donab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.