We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - No Dark Marrakech Alleyways!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Donab

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Donab to your Saves list
Palais Donab
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location - No Dark Marrakech Alleyways!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location - no dark alleyways to walk down (a considerable number of Riads in Marrakech are located in areas that look dodgy during the day, let alone at night).

Refreshing garden / pool area - nice to come back to after the hussle and bussle of the city.

Indoor restaurant a nice place to eat - but the menu was uninspiring - chose to eat here after all the rave reviews it had received here on Tripadvisor, but cant understand why.

Coffee in the afternoon by the pool is very good, but the coffee served at breakfast was vile brown liquid not worthy of being called coffee. Breakfast itself was nothing to write home about either.

All staff very helpful, polite and friendly, with all looking extremely smart in their uniforms except the receptionist who looked as though she was about to go out clubbing and did not provide a very smart first impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Andalous suite was a good size with it's seperate lounge, but the bathroom was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    34
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just a few steps away from our riad Dar Saad, Dar Donab (palais donab) is a wonderfull and romantic setting for couple dining. The pool side tables offer a very relaxing atmosfere in a beautiful garden, all within the medina walls.
We spent a beautiful evening and will come back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I were not staying at this hotel but wanted to use their swimming pool. We paid 150MD to use their pool for the day and it was the best amount of money spent. The hotel is so relaxing, the gardens are lush and the budgies chirping away is very comforting! Even though we weren't staying their the staff were so attentive and put us at ease, the food was fabulous and we had two non alcoholic mojitos which were more tasty than alcoholic ones back at home!

My friend and I have already started planning on when we will come back to Marrakech to stay in this Riad, it is an aladdins cave, absolutely wonderful and it meant that on our last day we were totally relaxed to get the plane home!

Stay here everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we found this place by chance. just wandering around searching for a restaurant, which is conveniently placed close to a money exchange. we went in there and the staff asked if we have reservation. we did not, he said its not a problem and welcome. he took us right to a lovely pool-side table :) the best restaurant I have been to in marrakesh :) the prices were very reasonable for such a lovely restaurant. i ordered grilled chicken with vegetables and fries. was delicious, much better than some of the so-called north african cuisine places in london. wife ordered vegetable lasagne (don't ask). and for desert we had a fruity salad which tasted awesome. bill came to 260-280 dirhams includin bottle of water. i remember this place the most from my trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidi Bou Othmane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Palais Donab rocks! Right in the heart of the medina, it truly was a palace and exudes world-class charm. The staff is awesome, the rooms (I think there might only be 6 or 7) are beautiful, and the food and setting are stunning.

I live in Morocco and have stayed at Dar Donab six times (and eaten there at least as many) and have had nothing but great service and great experiences!

Definitely a "find" for dinner or a vacation.

Room Tip: Each room is individually laid out, so ask to see them all (there aren't that many).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property is stunning. Our room (Koutubia) was beautiful, rose petals on the magnificient bed, and dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The owner is a most charming chap and very helpful. However, the front of house staff were somewhat absent when it came for us attmepting to check out. One could say, if you're not there I'm not paying for the room service but it's not our style. Our driver/guide (Mr Khalid Abou El Allam) from Badrane Tours solved the problem for us by the time we reached Casablanca, but it was an awkward moment.

Room Tip: The Koutoubia suite is a stunning example of Moroccan architecture, but there are two flights of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Well, I must start with the very little positive part. The hotel is reasonably located and used to be a very nice palais. Now, the real facts ... When you pay more than €200 a room, you would expect at least a clean hotel. The hotel is poorly maintained, the service in the front desk is AWFULL !! , the breakfast just coffe, orange juice and wet/old pastries. After the second day we skipped the hotel and we went for breakfast to a nice delicatessen house near by.... Now, the worst of the worst ... you are prepared that everybody in La Medina will try to bargain, sale and squeeze every dollar that they can.... but , you would NEVER expect this when you need to check out in a +€200/night hotel !!!!!!!! Please, trust me , select any other riad, don't get wrong impression from the pictures ... There are plenty much better (and cheaper) outhere !!
Finally, please also avoid booking at the website luxurytravel dot com !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#334 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#43 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#31 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#32 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#55 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#33 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Donab 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Donab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.