We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet escape - a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Donab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palais Donab to your Saves list
Palais Donab
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet escape - a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I were not staying at this hotel but wanted to use their swimming pool. We paid 150MD to use their pool for the day and it was the best amount of money spent. The hotel is so relaxing, the gardens are lush and the budgies chirping away is very comforting! Even though we weren't staying their the staff were so attentive and put us at ease, the food was fabulous and we had two non alcoholic mojitos which were more tasty than alcoholic ones back at home!

My friend and I have already started planning on when we will come back to Marrakech to stay in this Riad, it is an aladdins cave, absolutely wonderful and it meant that on our last day we were totally relaxed to get the plane home!

Stay here everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we found this place by chance. just wandering around searching for a restaurant, which is conveniently placed close to a money exchange. we went in there and the staff asked if we have reservation. we did not, he said its not a problem and welcome. he took us right to a lovely pool-side table :) the best restaurant I have been to in marrakesh :) the prices were very reasonable for such a lovely restaurant. i ordered grilled chicken with vegetables and fries. was delicious, much better than some of the so-called north african cuisine places in london. wife ordered vegetable lasagne (don't ask). and for desert we had a fruity salad which tasted awesome. bill came to 260-280 dirhams includin bottle of water. i remember this place the most from my trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidi Bou Othmane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Palais Donab rocks! Right in the heart of the medina, it truly was a palace and exudes world-class charm. The staff is awesome, the rooms (I think there might only be 6 or 7) are beautiful, and the food and setting are stunning.

I live in Morocco and have stayed at Dar Donab six times (and eaten there at least as many) and have had nothing but great service and great experiences!

Definitely a "find" for dinner or a vacation.

Room Tip: Each room is individually laid out, so ask to see them all (there aren't that many).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property is stunning. Our room (Koutubia) was beautiful, rose petals on the magnificient bed, and dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The owner is a most charming chap and very helpful. However, the front of house staff were somewhat absent when it came for us attmepting to check out. One could say, if you're not there I'm not paying for the room service but it's not our style. Our driver/guide (Mr Khalid Abou El Allam) from Badrane Tours solved the problem for us by the time we reached Casablanca, but it was an awkward moment.

Room Tip: The Koutoubia suite is a stunning example of Moroccan architecture, but there are two flights of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Well, I must start with the very little positive part. The hotel is reasonably located and used to be a very nice palais. Now, the real facts ... When you pay more than €200 a room, you would expect at least a clean hotel. The hotel is poorly maintained, the service in the front desk is AWFULL !! , the breakfast just coffe, orange juice and wet/old pastries. After the second day we skipped the hotel and we went for breakfast to a nice delicatessen house near by.... Now, the worst of the worst ... you are prepared that everybody in La Medina will try to bargain, sale and squeeze every dollar that they can.... but , you would NEVER expect this when you need to check out in a +€200/night hotel !!!!!!!! Please, trust me , select any other riad, don't get wrong impression from the pictures ... There are plenty much better (and cheaper) outhere !!
Finally, please also avoid booking at the website luxurytravel dot com !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed in Palais Donab for 3 nights in September 2012 with two friends. We had a room on the terrace and felt like we had the entire terrace to ourselves. The room was beautiful with a big bathroom. We had an extra bed put in the room, as there were three of us, and there was still plenty of space. From the second we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome and answered all of our questions. We asked for sun loungers to be brought to the roof - it was done right away. The Riad also booked us a city tour and dinner at other Riads upon request. Another plus is that this Riad is on a very quiet and clean street. We called it the cleanest street in Marrakech. We also stored our luggage there while on our tour to the desert. We really enjoyed the homey feel and the helpful staff. When we left we all commented on how sad we were to be leaving our beautiful Marrakech home. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restored palace in the heart of old Marrakech is an incredibly peaceful oasis, extremely well-run to very high standards by Brahim and his staff. Although it is palatial and an absolute delight to the eye, it is also very intimate in size and style. From the warm welcome on arrival (refreshing mint tea by the fountain then a personal tour with the Manager who speaks several languages fluently) to the considerate and charming staff, it is a perfect base for enjoying Marrakech (if you can force yourself to leave the delightful sunny poolside!) On our last night we put the staff to an extra test when my husband was suddenly taken ill and they were magnificent, kindness itself, a doctor summoned within minutes and a bike despatched to a distant pharmacy at midnight. Every member of staff came to wish my husband well on our departure and express their concern. Genuinely excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palais Donab 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Donab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.