We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but a little complicated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia
Save
You added Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia to your Saves list
Derb Zaouia No 1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Madrid
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent but a little complicated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Let me explain: Angsana has 5 riads very close together in the Riad Zitoun area, a 10-minute walk to the Djemaa, but only one (Riad Si Said) has a restaurant, so you have to go there for meals, and another one (Riad Bab Firdaus) has the wonderful spa. Some (not Dar Zaouia) have small pools were you can wade. So if you want to just roll over from bed to table in the morning, or you want room service, ask to be lodged at Si Said. Management was very helpful at all times and there are security guards to go with you from one to the other at nights or to open the street door (we were alone at the Dar Zaouia for a couple of nights). Very clean and well appointed, but no TV in the room. We were given a mobile for our stay to call reception at Si Said in case we needed anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for your great review post about your stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate that you are highlighting the service provided by our colleagues & cleanliness of the room & great helpful details of our each Riads.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great motivation for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us & recommending our Riad! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.


Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful. We never had to walk anywhere at night alone. The hotel organized a taxi to take us and wait for our return. We were walked to the taxi and an attendant was waiting for us on return to walk us back to the hotel. Breakfast was always a pleasure. Nothing was too difficult for the manager to organize for us. He suggested tours, restaurants, guides etc. and all were wonderful.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear MaryC,

Thank you for your kind review of the Angsana Riads Collection, we really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon again next time you are in Marrakech.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Kensington Hotel

Kind Regards

Karim Irrgang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spend 4 days in Marrakech and stayed at this lovely Riad. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of Mohammed, Hakim and Cediq we have had a wonderfull time. We also had diner at the Riad, which was delicious. The rooms are very comfortable and the Riad is very well furnished by the owner, she knows how to rebuild an old Riad to a comfortable modern and comfortable new Riad. Besides Marrakech we also visited a part of the Atlas Mountain, together with Hakim, we visited 3 different valleys. It was great, thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a beautiful riad in the medina. A French architect renovated this old building and did a really good job. Rooms are really nice and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. They speak english well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just spent a whole week at the Riad Dar Zaouia in Marrakesh. It was always a delight to retunr to after the mayhem and nosie of the medina and the souks! we had two rooms one for my sons and one for my husband and myself. The hotel had put an extra bed into the boys big room so they didnt have to share a bed! Rooms kept very clean and every thought given to your comfort- simply furnished with lovely Arabic furniture and textiles. We had a problem when the shower holder fell off but this was fixed by reception very quickly. Reception staff all very pleasant and friendly and keen to help you have agood time- night porter 'Cous Cous' wasvery keen to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and help us out with informaiton on shops and restaurants etc.
Minibar prices very expensive so visit a local supermarket to stock up on beer etc! Not many of the local restaurants serve alcohol as a matter of course. Breakhast consisted of lovely fresh bread and rools, local honey and preserves and eggs cooked any way you liked. Also fantastic freshly squeezed orange juice- beautiful! No Tv in rooms but there a large screen one in downastairs lounge room if youw ant it. Comfortable roof terrace area with tables and cushions. Other Angsana riads provide you with pool and spa facilities. We had a Hammam in the Thai Spa of the Bab Firdaus which was a real experience.... ! Worth it!
Wifi throughout the Riad.
A lovely bolthole fromthe Madness that is Marrakesh!

Room Tip: A drink taken on the terrace @sundown is a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Part of the Riad Angsana group, eg 3 others within 100 yards or so and you can use them for eating, sunbathing or accessing the spas/massages, and, I'm told, even switch rooms. The Dar Zaouia does breakfast (good), lunches (also good), room service but not dinner - you have to go to the nearby riads or eat out - either choice a winner. We had a suite that had its own outdoor area, great for breakfast or just chilling out. Bathroom large and the bath could be said to be a small pool - fantastic for sharing but no steps in or out, so you need to be reasonably fit. Very comfortable bed and although the riad is near "everything" the area is quiet and you should sleep well - we did, apart from 1 night when the local cats decided to have a "party" - can happen anywhere.
Reservations were very helpful but, unusually for me, wanted photo copy of credit card. Check in also smooth and receptionists throughout the week were co-operative and did their best to help. We used the riad's airport transfer for both journeys, bit expensive but it was well organised and if you are arriving early or late in the day, ensures a smooth link between airport and riad. If you do it yourself, useful to 'phone just as you are about to arrive at the public car park a few hundred yards from the riad - latter can then arrange for someone to be there to help you with luggage and direct you through the narrow streets - needed for your first time.
Would have no problems in returning to this riad or others in the group.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

A truly outstanding Riad. We were treated like family the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much for the staff and everything was delivered with a smile. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms a dream!. The Riad is in the ideal location and leads you to all the riches to be found in Marrakech. The party that was perpared for my Mother's birthday was a blast and excellently executed. I would recommned the Riad to everyone I know. Thank you for a magnificent time and for all your hospitality.

  • Liked — Clean, Luxurious and a fabulous atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia

Address: Derb Zaouia No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.