We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect riad for a perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Az

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad El Az
Save
You added Riad El Az to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #579 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“Perfect riad for a perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Riad El Az is a very clean, beautiful and friendly place to stay.. We felt like home. It is a very good location walking distance to all of the touristic attractions and Jameel Elfna which was very important to us as we did not spend our holiday waiting for the taxis every day.. The people are very friendly. The guy working there talks 6 languages that you definitely find a language to communicate. We had a lovely breakfast every day which was ready every day we waked up. It is safe that you can leave all your valuables without any hesitation. I recommend you this place if you are looking for a place which is very good for money.
Tijen

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Lovely riad, comfortable and clean room, great location.

  • Liked — Beautiful and clean riad.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nu from Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

Just came back from 8 days in Marrakech (Dec 2007). This quaint riad proved to be excellent value. Very peaceful, clean, and tremendously charming. The perfect hideaway immersed in old world charm.

I suppose we were lucky to be the only guests staying at the time due to it being low season....but this made the experience all the more wonderful........we had the whole riad to ourselves!.......Most of all, praise must go to the staff (Yusef & Hayat) who took care of us.Thank you for a pleasant stay.

The only thing this riad lacks is a TV (never mind if its communal) and perhaps a PC for internet access....otherwise, its highly recommendable and we're already planning another visit there.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No TV in room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

This riad is so beautiful and full of character although we were a little scared at first! This is because, as is usual with riads, to reach it you have to walk down a twisting little alley, then a smaller alleyway, before reaching a four-foot-tall alice-in-wonderland type door set into the wall.

Stepping through it you will find yourself in the spacious courtyard where we enjoyed pancakes, coffee, and the best fresh oj every morning.

The three-level house is built in a square around the courtyard with a pretty roof terrace above for sunbathing.

The rooms are quite large, stylishly decorated and the beds are comfy. Each room has an ensuite bathroom.

The staff are very helpful and considerate of your comfort. The manager, Youssef, speaks English and any questions you have i.e. how to spot good jewellery, where to change traveller's cheques etc; he will help you out with pleasure. The remainder of the staff speak a fair amount of French; so a few basic French phrases will come in very handy.

The magic ingredients of this riad is firstly how peaceful and quiet it is. It's refreshing to return to the calm of this guesthouse after the madness of the medina.

The other is the informality and friendliness of the place. Because it is quite small, the staff get to know you quite well. We stayed for four days before travelling out to the coast and returning for one day. As we made our way back for our second stay, it really felt like we were returning home.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

Reviewer: British resident in Morocco

Feel the rave reviews of the Riad el az need to be balanced. For the same price, you can find much better quality riads. The main problem with the riad was that it completely lacked charm; there was an eerie silence and you could hear everyone's conversations. The riad offers little privacy in this respect. Also, we were woken up at 7.00am by people having their breakfast right outside our door.

Another problem was that the en suite bathrooms do not have doors. This is absurd! I for one will never stay in a place which does not have doors on the bathroom. I definitely will never go back there!!!

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — No door on bathroom!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed here at the end of January for 3 nights, for a short children-free break!! We found the Riad fairly easy, first we took a taxi from the airport to the nearby hospital and then a young boy took us to the Riad (a short walk away), for a few dirhams. We found the Riad easily after that first time.

The Riad was exactly how it is portrayed in the photos I've seen, however, my first impression was that it was a little more tired than I had imagined. That aside, I really loved the decor and found it very tranquil away from all the hussle and bustle.

I would say it was very tidy and was clean to a reasonable level. It was very quiet the whole time we were there, as there was only one other couple staying there and only rare appearances from staff.

It was very cold when we were there, but they had portable radiators and gas heaters in rooms, which helped alot. I also noticed a new air-con unit in our room (I'm assuming all the rooms did, although I didnt check).

The courtyard and rooftop terrace were really nice, and I imagine on a nice sunny day it would be more enjoyable than our experience (we did sit on the roof once,but in our fleeces and freezing!)

The walk to the square took around 10 mins and wasnt a bad spot within the Old Medina, but I think I would've prefered one of the Riads that were in the Souks, so you were more in the heart of it all.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this Riad, however, have not seen any others so I have nothing to compare.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

If I came to Marrakech again I would definitely stay at this place again.

The Riad is quite tastefully and comfortably decorated. My partner and I stayed in December and heating was provided in our room. The rooms and the common areas were kept tidy and spotless.

The staff were very friendly and the overall feel of the Riad was quite relaxing. Sitting on the cushions on the roof terrace and in the court yard was great. Breakfast was included in the price and there was plenty of it. Pan cakes every day.

It is tucked away in a quiet alley and that is part of its charm. It feels like a little world of luxury away from the hectic, but fun, souks.

  • Liked — The Court Yard
  • Disliked — Hot water would fluctuate whilst showering.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have a contact number upon arrival because you will need help finding it. Once you have found it you will remember how to get there again.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Az? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Az

Address: 152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Az 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Az, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.