We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Az

Save Saved
You added Riad El Az to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad El Az
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad, and very good value for money. We had a big room that was very clean, comfy and quiet on the top floor. The terrace is a lovely place to sit with superb views. Friendly staff and a good location not far from the main square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I can wholeheartly suggest this riad. Its lovely in its details, an very caring restauration took place. The only disappointment was that seating options for breakfast are limited to one nice table in the gorgeous courtyard and only cushions on the floor await you if you come late to breakfast, or the seating in the darker diwan room. I suggest that the owners should consider some more seating options for the breakfast in the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Riad el Az and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are big and comfortable, and the bathrooms DO have doors. The Riad is located 10 minutes from Djemaa el Fna, but in a quiet area. There is WIFI in the entire Riad area (also in the rooms) and a beautiful roof terrace. The superfriendly staff served a basic, but good breakfast in the courtyard. All in all a superb Riad where the price-performance ratio is convincing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The setting was stunning, of a small alleyway in the medina. the communal areas off the courtyard were very pretty with morrocan tiles. The rooms were basic but comfortable and there was a great roof terrace. Our Bathroom was very attractive with a very ornate door

the staff made the stay very special, they were attentive and genuinely friendly and a pleasure to be around.

The breakfast was fresh and consisted of bread & honey, moroccan pancakes and coffee. The location is superb, it is by the hospital and tourist police station - About 5 minutes easy walk to the main square.

This property is located near the Tourist Police building, there is a hotel at the end of the road (the turn off to the Sidi mimoun is just before the hospital) However this would be very hard to find without some local advice eg Taxi driver.

It is a 5 minute walk to the main square

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was very hard to find and the phone number provided didn't actually work but once we found it, it was a very beautiful building with a lovely terrace and rooms. It was a bit confusing as there was no reception desk so when we wanted to speak to a member of staff we had to wander around looking for one.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing, literally some french bread and jam.
But it was good value and good location, and the manager took us to the airport himself when we had to leave which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had booked into a different Riad, but there was a problem with our rooms and so we were moved to the Riad El Az. Although it was not as luxurious as the one we had booked it was beautiful and very quiet.
We had a lovely welcome from the manager and he gave us lots of advice on what to do around the city. The rooms were large, comfortable and very quiet we all slept very very well.
There were not many people staying when we stayed and this made it feel like we had the whole place to ourselves, which was actually quite nice.
The bread at breakfast was absolutely delicious and very fresh. We also had lovely mint tea when we arrived.
I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Riad El Az can be correctly considered a low cost but nice accomodation. The rooms are comfortable and clean, usual breakfast in the morning but savoury, good location because of its closeness to Royal Palace. The owner Danielle is very nice and also her staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Az? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Az

Address: 152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Az 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad El Az reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Az, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.