We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Az

Save Saved
You added Riad El Az to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Az
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #549 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was very hard to find and the phone number provided didn't actually work but once we found it, it was a very beautiful building with a lovely terrace and rooms. It was a bit confusing as there was no reception desk so when we wanted to speak to a member of staff we had to wander around looking for one.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing, literally some french bread and jam.
But it was good value and good location, and the manager took us to the airport himself when we had to leave which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had booked into a different Riad, but there was a problem with our rooms and so we were moved to the Riad El Az. Although it was not as luxurious as the one we had booked it was beautiful and very quiet.
We had a lovely welcome from the manager and he gave us lots of advice on what to do around the city. The rooms were large, comfortable and very quiet we all slept very very well.
There were not many people staying when we stayed and this made it feel like we had the whole place to ourselves, which was actually quite nice.
The bread at breakfast was absolutely delicious and very fresh. We also had lovely mint tea when we arrived.
I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Riad El Az can be correctly considered a low cost but nice accomodation. The rooms are comfortable and clean, usual breakfast in the morning but savoury, good location because of its closeness to Royal Palace. The owner Danielle is very nice and also her staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Riad El Az is a very clean, beautiful and friendly place to stay.. We felt like home. It is a very good location walking distance to all of the touristic attractions and Jameel Elfna which was very important to us as we did not spend our holiday waiting for the taxis every day.. The people are very friendly. The guy working there talks 6 languages that you definitely find a language to communicate. We had a lovely breakfast every day which was ready every day we waked up. It is safe that you can leave all your valuables without any hesitation. I recommend you this place if you are looking for a place which is very good for money.
Tijen

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Lovely riad, comfortable and clean room, great location.

  • Liked — Beautiful and clean riad.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nu from Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

Just came back from 8 days in Marrakech (Dec 2007). This quaint riad proved to be excellent value. Very peaceful, clean, and tremendously charming. The perfect hideaway immersed in old world charm.

I suppose we were lucky to be the only guests staying at the time due to it being low season....but this made the experience all the more wonderful........we had the whole riad to ourselves!.......Most of all, praise must go to the staff (Yusef & Hayat) who took care of us.Thank you for a pleasant stay.

The only thing this riad lacks is a TV (never mind if its communal) and perhaps a PC for internet access....otherwise, its highly recommendable and we're already planning another visit there.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No TV in room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

This riad is so beautiful and full of character although we were a little scared at first! This is because, as is usual with riads, to reach it you have to walk down a twisting little alley, then a smaller alleyway, before reaching a four-foot-tall alice-in-wonderland type door set into the wall.

Stepping through it you will find yourself in the spacious courtyard where we enjoyed pancakes, coffee, and the best fresh oj every morning.

The three-level house is built in a square around the courtyard with a pretty roof terrace above for sunbathing.

The rooms are quite large, stylishly decorated and the beds are comfy. Each room has an ensuite bathroom.

The staff are very helpful and considerate of your comfort. The manager, Youssef, speaks English and any questions you have i.e. how to spot good jewellery, where to change traveller's cheques etc; he will help you out with pleasure. The remainder of the staff speak a fair amount of French; so a few basic French phrases will come in very handy.

The magic ingredients of this riad is firstly how peaceful and quiet it is. It's refreshing to return to the calm of this guesthouse after the madness of the medina.

The other is the informality and friendliness of the place. Because it is quite small, the staff get to know you quite well. We stayed for four days before travelling out to the coast and returning for one day. As we made our way back for our second stay, it really felt like we were returning home.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Az? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Az

Address: 152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Az 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad El Az reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Az, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;