We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Khmissa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Khmissa to your Saves list
Riad Dar Khmissa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Agree with the previous reviews - lovely Riad. Close enough to the action of the square, but far enough away to not feel like you're in tourist city.

The staff was very helpful despite our lack of French speaking skills. We had some items we were looking to ship home and they went out of the way to help us wrap them and package them.

Also, the transfer to/from the airport is well worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent166, Owner at Riad Dar Khmissa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Many thanks for your nice comments. We where so glad To have you home. And it was our pleasure to help you throughout your journey with us. Hope To see you back sometime soon.
Many Thanks from michel and the Riad Khmissa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
88
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here back in feburary and can't recommend it enough. Sure it is a little tricky to find but you quickly get a feel for the back alleys (that seem to sprawl across Marrakech). Vincent our host was great, helped out get our plans in shape, picked us up from the airport (well worth the fee) and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The location is great just a few minutes walk from the main square. Loved the pancake breakfast and the spread of jams ... try the carrot one!! Honestly, it tasted amazing!! The interior is great, traditional and unique. Great, roof terrace as well, amazing to kick back on whilst sipping mint tea. Highly recommended!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The level of service we experienced at this riad (courtesy of Youssef) marked it out as an excellent choice - nothing was too much trouble, and the home-cooked meal at the end of our stay was a highlight of our trip to Morocco. Rooms are comfortable, if slightly dark, and we had a slight problem with overflow from the shower, but the excellent service from the staff more than compensated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Riad dar Khmissa was the nicest of the riads we stayed at in Morocco. The rooftop terrace has been refurbished and is absolutely beautiful. The dinner we had on the roof was cooked by the riad's chef and was one of the best meals we had in Marrakesh with a wonderful atmosphere, particularly as they let us bring our own wine!

The rooms were gorgeous although they did not have AC. One of the bathrooms was enormous - perfect after a trip to the desert! The other room however had a flat bathroom floor which meant it flooded every time someone had a shower.

One negative is that although it is close to the main square, the riad is down a less busy side street which makes walking back at night a little intimidating. It is also impossible to find on your own so well worth asking for someone to pick you up.

The night manager, Yussef, deserves a special mention as he was extremely helpful, friendly and very fun to talk to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The people who own this Riad and the staff are all very nice and helpful. The only reason I write this is because this Riad has received such high reviews. Our room was very small and hot. So much so as to be uncomfortable and very difficult to sleep well at all. We had the smallest room. There was only about 10" of space on either side of the bed to the walls. Very little room to put suitcases, bags etc. anywhere in the room. If you select one of the larger rooms your stay should be very comfortable.

Room Tip: look carefully at photos and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and adult daughter stayed here 9 nights, and would happily return for another stay. The prior reviews provide accurate information, to which we would add:
•One review had issues with limited English speaking. While this is true, we found it not a problem but rather part of the charm of Riad Dar Khmissa. We were able to communicate easily and, besides, these days there are French-English translation apps.
•The owners and staff are extremely nice and warm people, genuinely interested in being friendly and helpful. The owners, Vincent and Michel, rapidly become your friends.
•This is not a five-star hotel. But the location, attitude of the staff, and value make up for this.
•The bed/suite arrangements are sometimes not clear from the hotel website or various booking websites. If your party is larger than just two, it is worthwhile to email the hotel to see if you can be accommodated.
•Agree that you should ask to be met at the airport, which they are happy to do.
•The rooftop is developed into a breakfast/lounge/seating area, which is wonderful for relaxation.
•Google "36 Hours in Marrakech"; here is where 'they' stayed.

Room Tip: The bed/suite arrangements are sometimes not clear from the hotel website or various booking website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for several nights while in Marrakech and loved it. It's close enough to the square that you can walk but also tucked far enough away from the square (on a little street) that you are able to escape the noise, hustle and bustle.

Our room was great - clean, beautiful and spacious. Breakfast on the balcony in the mornings was wonderful, and it was a real treat to have the entire place to ourselves.

Our only complaint would be the value of the private dinner party that the owner invited us to. While he was kind enough to drive us to the outskirts of town for an otherwise very enjoyable dinner, we were surprised to find the dinner billed to us at a rate much higher than what we would have paid for a comparable meal in town - I believe it was around 25 EUR/pp (which believe me - this is expensive for Marrakech)

Other than that we loved it and would highly recommend - just avoid any invitations to dinner at the owners place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Khmissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.