We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed and very charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Khmissa

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Khmissa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€45 (EUR)
Ranked #268 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed and very charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for several nights while in Marrakech and loved it. It's close enough to the square that you can walk but also tucked far enough away from the square (on a little street) that you are able to escape the noise, hustle and bustle.

Our room was great - clean, beautiful and spacious. Breakfast on the balcony in the mornings was wonderful, and it was a real treat to have the entire place to ourselves.

Our only complaint would be the value of the private dinner party that the owner invited us to. While he was kind enough to drive us to the outskirts of town for an otherwise very enjoyable dinner, we were surprised to find the dinner billed to us at a rate much higher than what we would have paid for a comparable meal in town - I believe it was around 25 EUR/pp (which believe me - this is expensive for Marrakech)

Other than that we loved it and would highly recommend - just avoid any invitations to dinner at the owners place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
82
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tautou
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I thought that this accomodation was perfect for our short stay in Marrakech. The location is great as it is close to everything (the main square is just 5mins walk), yet it is so peaceful and quiet as it is located down a side street. I would recommend you ask about a transfer from the airport as we got completely ripped off by a taxi on the way there) as this works out much cheaper and you know the person taking you will know where they are going. I thought the rooms were loverly, very nicely decortated and clean; beds comfy. There is a loverly roof terrace with tables, chairs and places to sunbathe and watch the sun set. Breakfast consisted of loverly fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, break, jam, and pancakes (it was very nice!), we were also told we could ask for lunch or dinner to be prepared for us, and am really regretting not taking up this offer as a quick peek in the kitchen revealed some delicious looking food!
Finally the staff...they were just fantastic, very helpful and polite...and I actually thought they spoke quite good english, they made our stay at this loverly riad even better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Riad Dar Kmissa

My wife and I, in our early 60’s, stayed at the Riad Dar Khmissa for eight nights in January, 2012. It has a GREAT location. The Riad is in the midst of the Medina, or Old Town area and within a short (3 minute) walk to the souks and the Djemaa El-Fna .

However, while the Medina swirls around you in what we can only term controlled chaos, the Dar Khmissa sits in a quiet back alley away from the crowds and noise. As others have pointed out, it is a peaceful oasis in the middle of a human maelstrom. And, once you walk to and from it once or twice, it is not hard to find again.

The owners and staff were very helpful. They created a very relaxed atmosphere that made us feel welcome and, moreover, that they were happy to meet any reasonable request graciously and expeditiously. For example, one of the owners met us at the airport,, which made our arrival an easy one, and one of the staff gladly did our laundry without asking for compensation (although we voluntarily gave her 15 dollars for what we figured was about 3 hours effort).

The room was small but quite sufficient for our needs. One small matter was that the shower had no enclosure so water tended to spread across a good portion of the tiled bathroom floor.

Internet access was good. This is in striking contrast to our subsequent experience in Essaouira and Safi.

We had only one problem with the Riad. As Americans with very lousy French, communication was an issue. The owners and the staff spoke either no or very limited English, which prevented us from taking advantage of their local knowledge and advice as much as we world have liked.

One small further observation. As others have noted, a Riad physical setup is different from a hotel. If there is a group of people that arrive late at night and eat or drink before retiring, or you asre still asleep when the staff begins to prepare breakfast, they are not in a room but in an open courtyard that can reverberate to your room. This was only a real problem for us one night and then for only a half hour or so. We did use soft foam earplugs as a precaution during our stay.

On balance, we felt it was, overall, a very good value and would likely stay there again despite the language difficulty. We will just have to work on our French. But we do feel the Riad would benefit from an English-speaking staff member, who undoubtedly would help attract guests from the United States, Great Britain, Ireland and other predominately English-speaking countries that regularly send tourists to Morocco.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

a truly wonderful stay. the riad was clean, and the staff was superb. from a timely airport pick-up, to a free upgrade on our room (our first night we were the only guests staying at the riad, so they bumped us up to a suite without any additional charge), to an unexpected but delightful guided tour through marrakech upon our arrival-from vincent the main host. vincent was helpful in pointing out best places to eat in the square, as well as getting us oriented to a city that is easy to get lost in. isham (the evening/overnight host) and layla (kitchen assistant) were extremely personable and kind. and beiga (sp?) the dada and resident chef was fabulous - our first meal, (four courses: two soups, salads, featuring a delicious chicken and olive tagine as the entree, followed by a delightful orange and strawberry iced dessert) was one of the best we had during our two-week stay in morocco.

great location. luxurious rooms. beautiful rooftop terrace. free laundry upon request. tasty food. free wifi. great board games (scrabble!). all in all, a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We just got back from our stay at Riad Dar Khmissa. It was a lovely stay, it was clean, comfortable and they certainly made us feel welcome. The dinner although a tad expensive was delightful. Breakfast is fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Riad was so clean and tidy and in a really fabulous location. It could not be better really safe area and literally 3mins walk to the square. The only downsides are that I booked this thinking there was a swimming pool- there wasnt and that the door bell can wake you up during the night/in the morning. Aside from that I would recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martignac
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Spectacular experience! Exceeded our highest expectations! A romantic oasis of tranquility, beauty and care in a high-paced city. A real surprise. The perfect location--down a quiet alley, 3 minutes walk to Jemaa, the centre of Marrakesh and 100s of market shops. The management and staff were warm, anticipatory, funny and perfectionist, an amazing combination. The other guests were all enjoyable. Superb decor, excellent meals including lunch and dinner options. Mellow rooftop lounges to read, eat, drink, chat with other guests and snooze.And inexpensive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This riad was the most helpful hotel I've ever stayed at. It made our trip. The staff is so friendly and helpful, I felt like I was staying with family. They are very accommodating and helpful. Their breakfasts and dinners are delicious and well worth the price. If I ever get a chance to go back to Morocco, I will surely be staying here again. I've recommended it to all of my friends. Also, a great location in the old city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Khmissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.