We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Khmissa

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Khmissa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€45 (EUR)
Ranked #273 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brooklyn
1 review
“It was a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The decor was beautiful. The staff and owners were very helful. The location was great. The price was very reasonable. I could not have asked for more

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
81
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

This riad is absolutely lovely. The staff is utterly fabulous! Very friendly and fun people with high service managment skills. After a long walk in the burning sun, this riad offers a fresh and quiet "resort", where you can cool yourself off and chat with the staff - or not. This riad completely fulfilled my expectations on romantic and mysterious interior Marrakech style. Each room was individually and chic decorated. Unlike other riad in the same price range, Dar Khmissa offered fresh and clean rooms. The riad is rather intimate and visitors sensitive of sound coming from neighbouring rooms might want to consider staying here. But this is also the only sound you will hear. There is no noize coming in from the streets or market. It´s totally worth it! We liked it so much that we stayed longer and even came back. The price is good, the staff is excellent and it´s 100 m from Djemma el Fna. Unfortunately the nightguard Hassan has moved on and started working in riad Badi. But I think this riad will turn out to be just as lovely as Dar Khmissa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Found the riad by chance looking through reviews on Trip Advisor and it turned out to be fantastic. Perfect location in the Medina, very easy to get to all the main areas but still so peaceful up on the beautiful roof terrace. So easy to arrange transfers and sight seeing trips with the owners Vincent and Michel who looked after us so well and could not have made us more welcome, thank you both.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

It is hard for me not to go on and on about how amazing my experience was at this Riad. I'll try to be concise. I went for four days/three nights with my wife directly from a holiday in Spain; and because this was the off-season (mid-January), we only shared the small riad with another family for one night. All the rest of the time we had the place all to ourselves.

We chose the suite because we were honeymooning, so we had a room, a bath room, a toilet room, a separate lounge, and private access to the terrace. The bed was soft, with traditional draping and pillows. There wasn't a traditional dresser, but there was a clothing rack and shelf space for the folded clothes. The bathroom with the shower was large and comfortable. The water was always warm, and the towels changed daily. Also, the Riad has free WiFi, which is accessible from the bedroom, and there is a public-use computer on the main second floor.

The real gem of the riad is the lobby area. A fresh fire was built every night by Ismael ("Smile"), who is the best English speaker of the riad. The dining table was always setup artistically for either breakfast or dinner (you need to ask for any non-breakfast meal in advance since most people eat out). There are also some board games and couches and lounges to relax. Second only to the lobby is the rooftop terrace. This might have been better than the lobby if we hadn't loved spending time with the staff so much. The view from the rooftop is great (and only might have been better had we been higher). You can see the minaret from the nearby mosque, and when the sun goes down you can see lots of stars. We did eat lunch up there once and also spent some time lounging in the sun. Just beautiful.

The breakfast is scrumptious, serving up three different kinds of crepes plus a fourth option that alternated daily. These are given along side of honey, cactus syrup, chocolate hazelnut spread, cheese, butter, some local jams, coffee/tea, and fresh orange juice (all included in the rental rate). When we asked to have dinner at the riad, we also asked to join the cook, Behigah, during her shopping for the food. What an experience! We saw the live chicken prepared for dinner, went vegetable shopping, and was escorted took to a local place to get "local prices" on spices, which were definitely better prices than we found in the main plaza. Then she showed us how to prep the food: a soup, two salads, and a chicken tangine. The she surprised us with a delicious strawberry dessert.

Michel and Vincent run this place, though Vincent was on vacation at the time. Michel was a great host, gave us airport transfers, walked us to a hammam (spa), and otherwise gave us great directions and tips for our trip. He is owner, concierge, buddy. And he does it all so well!

Things to know: it helps a lot to know some French (my four years of high school French seemed to suffice, though more would have been better); you need a european-style converter if you want to plug in UK or US devices into the wall; you can connect to the internet via a steady and surprisingly fast internet connection; "thank you" in arabic sounds like "shoq'ron" to me, though a simple "merci" works just fine.

All in all, an amazingly beautiful place with even more amazingly beautiful hosts. I'm sure it is impossible to find a better place for a better price with better people!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We spend a very,very nice time at the Riad Dar Khmissa. Vincent did everything to make our stay as nice as possible. The service is excellent, the atmosphere is friendly and warm. Vincent helps the clients wherever he can. The food? The breakfast is very nice and varied. The dinners they offer at night are "succulant", best food I ever had in Morocco.
To resume: Wonderful place, very quiet in the middle of medina of Marrakech.

Toon and Grietje Derycke
Belgium

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

5 of us were met at the airport which helped as it is a chaotic airport, a short drive and a walk up a lane or two found us at the door of this charming cosy hotel. The welcome was so nice and all the local staff are so helpful and friendly. On the first night one of the owners - Michel took us up to the main square which was not far and that really helped us get our bearings, very easy to find after that and even directed us to a nice place to eat and that was so colourful and noisy and such fun all of the visual activity right there as we ate. The rooms are neat and tidy and cleaned every day of our 4 day stay, we spent a lot of time up on the rooftop having pre-dinner drinks or just sunbathing as it gets uninterrupted sun. The beds were firm and very comfortable, I only marked it as a poor sleep because of the 5:00 AM wake up call courtesy of the Mosque, what can you do but roll over and groan. However all else was very good. The dinner/meal was not great value for money at E20 per head, well cooked and served nicely and great taste but we expected more than lamb, veg and cous cous followed by a fruit cup. The breakfasts were very good and freshly cooked breads and local cakes that made up for the dinner. Thanks to all of the staff there especially Mahmet who did his absolute utmost to be of assistance. You can walk to many sights including the Souks from the Riad and once or twice we took a cab which was cheap. A good place to base yourself it has charm and character and WiFi :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This was an wonderful riad. The staff was so warm and friendly and very helpful with directions. The riad itself was absolutely stunning, perfectly clean--I felt like a celebrity for such an affordable price. The staff was very flexible with our changing arrival and departure times, and I would go back in a second. I love staying at this riad and recommend it to anyone and everyone traveling to Marrakech . thank you a lot for the dar khmissa team.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Khmissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.