We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of rest near Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Vanille

Save Saved
You added Villa Vanille to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Vanille
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   N 60 - Douar Bellaaguid Commune Sidi Brahim | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #443 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oasis of rest near Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We decided to split our week of holiday in Marrakech in 4 days in a Riad in the Medina and 3 days outside the city. Based on tripadvisor reviews we opted for Villa Vanille. As a family with grown-up kids (12-16-17) we decided to go for the suite Toubkal.
Unfortunately the weather was not so good, so we couldn´t fully enjoy the garden, the nice swimming pools and a breakfast or dinner outside.
Still Villa Vanille was a marvelous stay because of the beautiful setting, the comfortable housing and most of all the extremely nice and professional welcome of Florence and Fatima.
They were always available for arranging a cab, a guided tour we took into the Ourika valley, a massage in the Hamam, ...
We took all our meals in the Villa, and as many other reviews have shown, this is really the main asset of the estate. Fatima offers you a choice of different local dishes and prepares them with love. A very good price/quality tops it of and you never ever consider going to Marrakech for the diner any more ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We (5 adults & 3 kids) had a great stay at Villa Vanille for six nights. It was extremely hot so we were pleased to hang out at the Villa most days. The pools were brilliant, breakfast was divine, lunches and dinners were also exceptional. We felt as though all our meals were home cooked and the chef was even happy to show us how to cook tagine meals. We only went out for dinner twice during our stay as the staff were so flexible with meal times, the quality of the meal was great and we enjoyed dinner chillaxing by the pool. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The perfect family rooms were Sahara and Toutok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Villa Vanille was the ideal setting for our last holiday with friends and family. 30 minutes from the centre of Marrakesh it offered us everything we required - magnificently decorated and extremely comfortable bedrooms, a fantastic choice of exquisite food, wonderful facilities, beautifully-kept grounds and unfailingly helpful staff. I have visited Marrakesh 6 times and Villa Vanille is now top of my list for the best place to stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We wanted a week away in the sun with our 4 year old to do nothing but relax - and this place was perfect and very peaceful. The gardens are amazing and the staff not at all intrusive but available when needed.

Food OK and good value - but we preferred to eat out (which was generally expensive - especially the wine).

Wouldn't be fussed about not going to Marrakech again (noisy, smelly, not much to see and quite expensive for food etc) - but would stay here again in wonderful seclusion...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Villa Vanille is really the best hotel you can find in Marrakech. It's just outside the city, but that's a good thing. During the day you wonder around the bubbling city and afterwards you return to a oasis of peace and rest at Villa Vanille. My friend and I stayed in the Soleil room and we both had our own room. Every morning breakfast was a little feast: homemade pancakes, fresh orange juice and all served wherever you wanted (for example next to the swimming pool). You can also have lunch and diner at the hotel and once you did that, you never want to eat somewhere else. The food is just so delicious! We had dinner in town twice but that was a big disappointment. For the rest of the week we always had lunch and dinner at the hotel.

There are 2 swimming pools and one is heated. It's very nice situated in a beautiful garden with lots of trees, very convenient when it's too hot to sit in the sun.

We very much enjoyed our stay in Villa Vanille and will certainly return. And I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I cannot believe you will find another hotel in Marrakech which is so nice situated, where the food is so excellent and for such good price/value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is absolutely beautiful - tastefully decorated and set in about a hectare of idyllic gardens with 2 pools. We stayed in the "Toubkal" suite, which is very spacious and full of character. The staff are very helpful - Fatima, in particular runs the place amazingly well and the owners (a young French couple - Florence and Nicolas) are very helpful and friendly. There were a few things, though, that would not lead me to recommend this place - (i) it is very far from Marrakech centre (£20 in taxi round trip), so factor this additional cost when comparing rates; (ii) there really is nothing to do within walking distance of the hotel; (iii) although I was specifically assured that one of the pools would be heated, it was not; and (iv) despite the fact that all the literature says that children under 10 are charged at 50% of adult rates for lunch and dinner, when it came to settling up, our children (aged 8 and 6) were charged full price. When I asked Florence about this, she told me my children "ate a lot" and she had to make her money somehow. This really did not seem fair, especially as food is just presented in a tagine/large bowl (not individual portions), we ate what was given to us by the kitchen, never asked for seconds, so it was reasonable for us to assume the portions provided were standard and we would be charged accordingly. This resulted in us having to pay about £200 extra, which I felt was very wrong, but she refused to compromise at all. In the interests of fairness, I would say the food is tasty, the service excellent but, If you are considering staying here, please make sure all costs are agreed upfront.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Villa vanille is a beautiful guesthouse away from Marrackech crowd that stands far from overrated touristic hôtels. Everything sounds just genuine : the rooms, the garden and animals, the traditional hammam (try!! I just loved it!), the two lovely swimming pools, cactaes and olive trees. Villa Vanille has been designed in such a good taste. You can even admire the atlas from the mirador while having a drink and chill out (it is really enjoyable to leave Marrackech after a day in the souk).
The young couple running the place is looking after their host with lots of care and call a taxi for you at any time to join Marrackech. You can choose from a wide range of local food for the evening meal and have delicious food or tea served where you want (garden, your terrasse, dining room). we have been impressed by the care given to the guest. I really recommand this guest house to all of those that are looking for both discoverying lively marrackech and enjoying a quiet rest. By the way, I never had such comfortable pillows!
You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Vanille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vanille

Address: N 60 - Douar Bellaaguid Commune Sidi Brahim | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vanille 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Villa Vanille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Vanille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.