We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel to stay at Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Vanille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Vanille to your Saves list
Villa Vanille
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   N 60 - Douar Bellaaguid Commune Sidi Brahim | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #407 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel to stay at Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Villa Vanille is really the best hotel you can find in Marrakech. It's just outside the city, but that's a good thing. During the day you wonder around the bubbling city and afterwards you return to a oasis of peace and rest at Villa Vanille. My friend and I stayed in the Soleil room and we both had our own room. Every morning breakfast was a little feast: homemade pancakes, fresh orange juice and all served wherever you wanted (for example next to the swimming pool). You can also have lunch and diner at the hotel and once you did that, you never want to eat somewhere else. The food is just so delicious! We had dinner in town twice but that was a big disappointment. For the rest of the week we always had lunch and dinner at the hotel.

There are 2 swimming pools and one is heated. It's very nice situated in a beautiful garden with lots of trees, very convenient when it's too hot to sit in the sun.

We very much enjoyed our stay in Villa Vanille and will certainly return. And I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I cannot believe you will find another hotel in Marrakech which is so nice situated, where the food is so excellent and for such good price/value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is absolutely beautiful - tastefully decorated and set in about a hectare of idyllic gardens with 2 pools. We stayed in the "Toubkal" suite, which is very spacious and full of character. The staff are very helpful - Fatima, in particular runs the place amazingly well and the owners (a young French couple - Florence and Nicolas) are very helpful and friendly. There were a few things, though, that would not lead me to recommend this place - (i) it is very far from Marrakech centre (£20 in taxi round trip), so factor this additional cost when comparing rates; (ii) there really is nothing to do within walking distance of the hotel; (iii) although I was specifically assured that one of the pools would be heated, it was not; and (iv) despite the fact that all the literature says that children under 10 are charged at 50% of adult rates for lunch and dinner, when it came to settling up, our children (aged 8 and 6) were charged full price. When I asked Florence about this, she told me my children "ate a lot" and she had to make her money somehow. This really did not seem fair, especially as food is just presented in a tagine/large bowl (not individual portions), we ate what was given to us by the kitchen, never asked for seconds, so it was reasonable for us to assume the portions provided were standard and we would be charged accordingly. This resulted in us having to pay about £200 extra, which I felt was very wrong, but she refused to compromise at all. In the interests of fairness, I would say the food is tasty, the service excellent but, If you are considering staying here, please make sure all costs are agreed upfront.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Villa vanille is a beautiful guesthouse away from Marrackech crowd that stands far from overrated touristic hôtels. Everything sounds just genuine : the rooms, the garden and animals, the traditional hammam (try!! I just loved it!), the two lovely swimming pools, cactaes and olive trees. Villa Vanille has been designed in such a good taste. You can even admire the atlas from the mirador while having a drink and chill out (it is really enjoyable to leave Marrackech after a day in the souk).
The young couple running the place is looking after their host with lots of care and call a taxi for you at any time to join Marrackech. You can choose from a wide range of local food for the evening meal and have delicious food or tea served where you want (garden, your terrasse, dining room). we have been impressed by the care given to the guest. I really recommand this guest house to all of those that are looking for both discoverying lively marrackech and enjoying a quiet rest. By the way, I never had such comfortable pillows!
You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Location
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Villa Vanille is everything it says it is on the website and so much more. Now under the caring, new management of Florence and Nicholas the villa is a little spot of heaven set in beautiful gardens. On arrival, we were moved into a two bedroom suite (at no extra cost) as the room we had booked was on one of the terraces being used for a dinner that evening. We were in heaven. We lazed by one of the two pools with the scent of frangipani and nothing but the sound of bees to interrupt endless hours of reading and snoozing. For breakfast, Fatima, one of their trusted house staff, delivered plates of home made pancakes as light as air and freshly baked cake and rolls. Having done all the souks and museums on previous vists, we had no reason to leave the villa. Four wonderful days with breakfast, lunch and dinner either in a shady spot or on the terrace outside our room. Nothing is too much to ask. Go and enjoy and say I sent you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

The house and gardens of Villa Vanille were very beautiful and nicely maintained. On arrival we were welcomed by the new owner, who showed us around the main house and garden. The grounds of this place are quite beautiful, but our rooms were fairly mediocre we thought - and quite cold at night. We could not fault the staff though, who worked tirelessly to make our stay enjoyable - particularly Mohammed.
As it is located in a remote part of the Palmerai, there are no alternatives to eat other than a taxi ride into town. Villa Vanille do have a restaurant facility with a one meal only option. The food is excellent, although quite expensive we thought - 16 Euros for lunch and 25 Euros for dinner (without drinks).
We felt a little uncomfortable choosing not to have the New Year's Eve dinner, which the owner kept trying to 'encourage' us to commit to, but at 90 Euros per person we felt was a little beyond our budget. We did sense a slight annoyance about our decision to see the New Year in elsewhere!
The owner was always helpful enough in booking taxis, quad biking and camel rides for us, but we will not be returning there in the future.

  • Liked — The garden, the ciadel tent and the salon in main house.
  • Disliked — The chilly rooms.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Had a great time with 3 kids aged 12,10 & 5. Martina was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much bother.
Marrakech is very busy and intense, with people hassling all the time. With kids, we felt one day trip was plenty, and spent the other 2 days relaxing by the 2 pools, in playground, picking olives, eating in various locations (including their fab tent) - really wonderful, and fantastic family accomodation.

  • Liked — lovely grounds
  • Disliked — was 20 mins taxi to central marrakech
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at Villa Vanille and could not recommend it more highly. Removed from the hustle and bustle of the medina, you can relax and unwind in a way I didn't think was possible in Marrakech. There are 4 rooms in 2 separate bungalows (containing a double room and a suite each) set in magnificent gardens and each has a private terrace too. The pretty suite answered our every need, with a large bath to relax in, comfortable furnishings, an open fire and a fridge (and satellite TV if that's what you're after). You can choose to have breakfast (and lunch and dinner if you wish) on your terrace, or by the pool, or in the cosy Moroccan-style pavillion, or in a luxurious Berber tent in the garden - it's all about you the guest and what you would like to do. The food is very fresh and well-cooked and drinks are available whenever you would like during the day.
The owners Pia (Swedish) and Pierre (French) are lovely and helpful. They are discreet and leave you to enjoy your holiday as you wish but if you need it, they are full of good advice on trips and restaurants. They will phone a trusted taxi driver to take you on the cheap 15-minute drive to town and you can then arrange to meet him at a specified time or phone him to collect you and take you back to the Villa. Equally if you fancy a trip into the magnificent Atlas mountains, it's just an hour's drive with anoher of their recommended drivers. And if you just feel taking it easy, Pia is a qualified masseuse who will work her magic on your achey shoulders in a comfortable cabin at the far end of the gardens. Villa Vanille is a real gem.

  • Liked — The sheer comfort and atmosphere
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Vanille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vanille

Address: N 60 - Douar Bellaaguid Commune Sidi Brahim | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vanille 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Vanille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Vanille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.