We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, beautiful riad in the heart of the medina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Nimbus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Nimbus
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #249 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience, beautiful riad in the heart of the medina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from Riad Dar NInbus, which is inside the old Marrakech (medina) where the famous square, markets and souks are situated. We stayed in the 3 bedroom suite, Anne Terrace- it was spacious and beautiful.

The service within the riad was exceptional and the staff are a credit to the owners for a number of reasons!
- on the night we arrived t 11 pm, we were greeted by Ali as soon as we stepped out of the taxi. He helped carry our bags up the stairs to our room. Once we had a settled, we heard a knock at our door, Ali presented us with complimentary mint tea and Moroccan cakes! We were so pleased, something you would not receive at a complex or hotel.

- on our first morning we had our breakfast, included in the price, which is very large and although continental, we have pancakes and eggs or bread muffins and eggs everyday with bread, jam etc. we were full for hours after!!

- after our first breakfast the manager Karim told us that, whenever we were ready, he would give us a map and answer any questions re tours or general questions we had. He speaks French Arabic and a good amount of English (especially considering English isn't a standard language that Moroccans are familiar with. He told us how to get around, key information about how to stay safe, ie. don't let something "tour you", the prices for taxis within the medina etc...

- once we we ready Karim took us out for the first visit to Morocco. As the medina is very easy to get lost in, with all the tall buildings and windy path ways everywhere. Each step of the walk, until we were happy to use the map, he gave us things that we can see to remember our journey back to our Riad. Ie. directly outside our riad was a painting of flowers, then at our right turning there was graffiti of "bad boys", then the laughing cow poster, the arch way, and so on. It was very helpful to begin with in order for us to look confident we knew the way to local "tour guides"

- everyday we were greeted by the very friendly Abdul who would come and chat to us, get us drinks if we needed the, etc. literally ensuring we had everything we needed at all times.

- one of the days we hadn't given them enough notice to prepare our dinner and we asked them at 7pm if they could prepare at least a sandwich, they said unfortunately not as the chefs had gone home as we hadn't told them. Then we heard a knock at our door, Karim was stood there and he told us if we gave him 60 dirham each he would go purchase us food to save us going out ( we had spent 7 hours in the markets we were very tired and in pain, although self inflicted, the thought of going to find food was at the bottom of our list. Karim returned with like a take away each of us has chicken and chips, and a huge mixed salad of potatoes, veg, rice and pasta. It was amazing!!

- one night we stayed out until 2pm, Ali stayed awake to ensure we got home safe which we really appreciated.

- Ali booked everything for us, and was always prepared to go that extra mile for us- eg. organising taxis, walking us to the taxi ranks and ensuring we get in safe.

We can all not express how much we appreciated Ali and Abdul.

My last comments, may sound negative, are practical info:

- this riad, and I assume all others, are not practical for those who would struggle walking up and down stairs- within the medina, they build up as out is not an option. However, some rooms are on the ground floor!! So worth asking for!!

- the riad is currently under going renovation (expanding into another space), we were not prepared about this, and although not a major problem to us, it's something that would have been respected if we had been told beforehand as one day we didn't feel comfortable going into the pool as the work men were right next to it and sometimes the drilling etc was very noisy in the early morning 8?

- I am pleased we didn't go half board or full board as their cuisine is Moroccan and begins to feel a bit repetitive. Although, was very tasty, great sizes and the meats Etc always changed, but the main was mainly tangine. We didn't ask for a change, so may be this was our fault and may be just our taste as we did begin to eat Italian!!?!? Why did we go to Morocco you asked?

Great stay overall and was very beautiful riad that you wouldn't even know was there!!

Room Tip: Ask for Anne Terrace if you have 3 persons (but on the top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
77
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just come back from a week in Marrakech. You know, mad, noisy, dirty Marrakech? All that ended on the doorstep of Dar Nimbus, where the sweet Ali took us on the first night.
Hidden away in the north side of the medina, this place is somewhat of a haven, away from all the things that can annoy you about the city. Everything is clean, relatively quiet, the food is great -try having your breakfast on the roof-, the excursion to the Ourika valley had a lovely surprise at the end after traipsing through Berber villages and having your picture taken with the Argan oil producing ladies.
The riad does not supply beer or wine, but they have no problem what so ever if you bring your own (mini market with cool Moroccan whites and cold beers next to Jardin Marjorelle)
Karim, Zohra, Ali and Samira, thank you so much for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Romantics at heart? Go for the Julie Patio. Wall to wall bed, possibilities to sit out on the candle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hamman and breakfast of roti (pancakes), bread, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice! lots of friendly advice given as well
We were moved due to a large group coming to next door which was not as clean and the aircon was not as good and the bed not as comfortable
great location, 20 min to the square, directions given are great,be careful taking directions from strangers - you have to pay and can be lead astray
We had a wonderful stay at this riad. We arrived to our booked airport pickup, it was 120dh, a good price and you also get personally met and then escorted the last 500m by foot to the hotel. We had dinner for 15euro - the food is incredible, 3 courses of so of the most delicious food weve eaten! On arrival the manager met us, he is constantly available and helpful, he gave us a map and then escorted us to the start of the souks, then he sees if you can get back! but it is easy. there are also a few dairy's close by to buy water etc. The riad is approx 20min from the big square, best seen from 7pm on as it fills up - you will be hustled with fun, although if you photograph entertainers you will have to pay a few dirham. keep change for this and tips at food stalls as the price is the advertised plus 20dh for starters and a tip The nimbus was very clean and comfortable, air conditioned, wifi, great breakfast although not GF.many nooks to relax. The only downside was that a group came so we were moved next door to the other riad where the best was not as comfy or clean and the aircon not as good, but it was our last night so it was ok. breakfast etc and payment was still the same Definitely book a hamman, its upstairs and its alot cheaper than the other ones, local ones are cheap but DIY.for 10euro i had a sauna (very hot) then was washed with the soap and scrubbed i felt amazing! let them know in advance so they can heat it up. a wonderful stay in all and great value! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very kindly people. . Quiet place in the north of the Medina. Ali - a very friendly man - shows you the way to next taxi. Following his description it is also easy to find the way back to the Riad. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This riad is definitely big and beautiful, with several separate area's to relax, lay in the sun or even cool down in the water. The owner is very nice and the rest of his staff are very helpful too. The rooms (with and without chimneys) are great and the bathrooms big. We were very impressed with this place and loved our stay. However, the breakfast was very disappointing, with a few pieces of bread, some Jam and coffee (you can ask for tea), Still, we would recommend this Riad, just go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed 2 x 2 days in this Riad: two days planned in advance and booked via the internet, and after some administrative issues that kept me a few extra days in Morocco I just knocked on the door to check myself in for another two days, and this was no problem and they just charged the same price as the "special internet deal".
The riad is within the Medina walls (=the old city), but a good walk away from the main square (Jemaa El Fna) and mosque (La Koutoubia). You can reach the riad by taxi using the Bab El Inare Ben Abbes or by foot via the other babs on the northeast side of the medina.

The rooms are nice but basic (but you did choose for a riad and not a hotel), although each room has a AC unit (which I didn't use - preferred to sleep with open doors and window for natural cooling: but in mid July/August you probably would need AC).
The rooms are around two open spaces/galeries and outside your room there are loads of places to sit or lie on the banks. A very small pool allows you to cool down if/when staying in the riad during the hottest hours of the day. On the roof there are both sunbeds as well as couches in the shade. These places also offer great place to sit at night with friends as they are NOT directly outside someones room...
There is no public/shared TV, but the riad does offer you free WiFi internet that does provide speeds that allows for watching streamed TV or radio, although the internet connection does fail every now and then.
Breakfast (08-10 AM) is basic but OK, and is served outside. If you want to bring some additions yourself (eg bring your own cheese or anything else to eat) you can do that.
If asked/ordered in advance you can also get lunch or dinner in the riad.
Staff is helpfull and most speak good enough French to communicate normally, and one staff-member (Karim) also speaks some English, German and Spanish.
Owner is French, but not (always?) on site: he does live in France; but can be reached via email (darnimbus -at- yahoo -dot- fr
Staff can assist you in arranging airport transfer and car-hire where a driver will bring you out of the medina to the "new" city before handing over the car. Bus station is on (good) walking distance; from station or airport one needs a taxi or arranged transfer.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is very small: more a vert large bath to cool down in: swimming from one end to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Nimbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.