We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap lodging in the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Nimbus to your Saves list
Riad Dar Nimbus
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very kindly people. . Quiet place in the north of the Medina. Ali - a very friendly man - shows you the way to next taxi. Following his description it is also easy to find the way back to the Riad. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This riad is definitely big and beautiful, with several separate area's to relax, lay in the sun or even cool down in the water. The owner is very nice and the rest of his staff are very helpful too. The rooms (with and without chimneys) are great and the bathrooms big. We were very impressed with this place and loved our stay. However, the breakfast was very disappointing, with a few pieces of bread, some Jam and coffee (you can ask for tea), Still, we would recommend this Riad, just go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed 2 x 2 days in this Riad: two days planned in advance and booked via the internet, and after some administrative issues that kept me a few extra days in Morocco I just knocked on the door to check myself in for another two days, and this was no problem and they just charged the same price as the "special internet deal".
The riad is within the Medina walls (=the old city), but a good walk away from the main square (Jemaa El Fna) and mosque (La Koutoubia). You can reach the riad by taxi using the Bab El Inare Ben Abbes or by foot via the other babs on the northeast side of the medina.

The rooms are nice but basic (but you did choose for a riad and not a hotel), although each room has a AC unit (which I didn't use - preferred to sleep with open doors and window for natural cooling: but in mid July/August you probably would need AC).
The rooms are around two open spaces/galeries and outside your room there are loads of places to sit or lie on the banks. A very small pool allows you to cool down if/when staying in the riad during the hottest hours of the day. On the roof there are both sunbeds as well as couches in the shade. These places also offer great place to sit at night with friends as they are NOT directly outside someones room...
There is no public/shared TV, but the riad does offer you free WiFi internet that does provide speeds that allows for watching streamed TV or radio, although the internet connection does fail every now and then.
Breakfast (08-10 AM) is basic but OK, and is served outside. If you want to bring some additions yourself (eg bring your own cheese or anything else to eat) you can do that.
If asked/ordered in advance you can also get lunch or dinner in the riad.
Staff is helpfull and most speak good enough French to communicate normally, and one staff-member (Karim) also speaks some English, German and Spanish.
Owner is French, but not (always?) on site: he does live in France; but can be reached via email (darnimbus -at- yahoo -dot- fr
Staff can assist you in arranging airport transfer and car-hire where a driver will bring you out of the medina to the "new" city before handing over the car. Bus station is on (good) walking distance; from station or airport one needs a taxi or arranged transfer.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is very small: more a vert large bath to cool down in: swimming from one end to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here and found the riad very clean, the service was very friendly. The Riad itself wasnt as pretty as others we have been to in Marrakech, but it has a lovely rooftop terrasse with views over the city. The main disadvantage was the access - impossible to find our way to Djeema El Fna without help, and impossible to find our way back in the evenings on our own!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaP13100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family with 4 teenagers had a lovely stay in this Riad. We were welcomed with mint tea after our overnight train from Tangier and felt we had arrived in heaven. We were able to navigate our way around the ancient medina with the help of Ali's hand drawn map and guided walk the first morning. The splash pool cooled us off tremendously in the evenings when finished exploring for the day. We would highly recommend a stay in this friendly Riad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#162 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#266 of 1,148 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#2 of 1,148 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#31 of 1,148 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing