We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap lodging in the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Nimbus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Nimbus
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #250 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
77
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very kindly people. . Quiet place in the north of the Medina. Ali - a very friendly man - shows you the way to next taxi. Following his description it is also easy to find the way back to the Riad. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This riad is definitely big and beautiful, with several separate area's to relax, lay in the sun or even cool down in the water. The owner is very nice and the rest of his staff are very helpful too. The rooms (with and without chimneys) are great and the bathrooms big. We were very impressed with this place and loved our stay. However, the breakfast was very disappointing, with a few pieces of bread, some Jam and coffee (you can ask for tea), Still, we would recommend this Riad, just go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed 2 x 2 days in this Riad: two days planned in advance and booked via the internet, and after some administrative issues that kept me a few extra days in Morocco I just knocked on the door to check myself in for another two days, and this was no problem and they just charged the same price as the "special internet deal".
The riad is within the Medina walls (=the old city), but a good walk away from the main square (Jemaa El Fna) and mosque (La Koutoubia). You can reach the riad by taxi using the Bab El Inare Ben Abbes or by foot via the other babs on the northeast side of the medina.

The rooms are nice but basic (but you did choose for a riad and not a hotel), although each room has a AC unit (which I didn't use - preferred to sleep with open doors and window for natural cooling: but in mid July/August you probably would need AC).
The rooms are around two open spaces/galeries and outside your room there are loads of places to sit or lie on the banks. A very small pool allows you to cool down if/when staying in the riad during the hottest hours of the day. On the roof there are both sunbeds as well as couches in the shade. These places also offer great place to sit at night with friends as they are NOT directly outside someones room...
There is no public/shared TV, but the riad does offer you free WiFi internet that does provide speeds that allows for watching streamed TV or radio, although the internet connection does fail every now and then.
Breakfast (08-10 AM) is basic but OK, and is served outside. If you want to bring some additions yourself (eg bring your own cheese or anything else to eat) you can do that.
If asked/ordered in advance you can also get lunch or dinner in the riad.
Staff is helpfull and most speak good enough French to communicate normally, and one staff-member (Karim) also speaks some English, German and Spanish.
Owner is French, but not (always?) on site: he does live in France; but can be reached via email (darnimbus -at- yahoo -dot- fr
Staff can assist you in arranging airport transfer and car-hire where a driver will bring you out of the medina to the "new" city before handing over the car. Bus station is on (good) walking distance; from station or airport one needs a taxi or arranged transfer.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is very small: more a vert large bath to cool down in: swimming from one end to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here and found the riad very clean, the service was very friendly. The Riad itself wasnt as pretty as others we have been to in Marrakech, but it has a lovely rooftop terrasse with views over the city. The main disadvantage was the access - impossible to find our way to Djeema El Fna without help, and impossible to find our way back in the evenings on our own!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family with 4 teenagers had a lovely stay in this Riad. We were welcomed with mint tea after our overnight train from Tangier and felt we had arrived in heaven. We were able to navigate our way around the ancient medina with the help of Ali's hand drawn map and guided walk the first morning. The splash pool cooled us off tremendously in the evenings when finished exploring for the day. We would highly recommend a stay in this friendly Riad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Nimbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.