We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Bleue

Save Saved
You added La Villa Bleue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Villa Bleue
97 Bd Moulay Abdellah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #813 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Had a 2 night stay here and the hospitality and sincerity of Patrick and his team were immense. The rooms were especially first class in all respects and after a long hard walk in the city and markets, there was even space to relax for a swim in the in-house pool. Mohammd was also extremely responsive and flexible when he whipped up 2 consecutive nights of great moroccan tajines fares as well. l

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
59
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Although hard to find La Villa Bleue was an island of peace in hectic Marrakech. The stall was excellent. Abiba, the person who cleaned and cooked for us, was amazingly friendlyand sweet. She took my wife to the local hamman in the souk and picked her up an hour and a half later and rode her back to the villa on the back of her moped. Ahmed (I think that was his name) served the meals and catered to other needs. The owner, Patrick, was not there during our stay but he had his friends run the place.

I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We spent four nights in this beautiful Riad located near the Majorelle Gardens, in a quiet and lovely neighbourhood with flowers and wild orange trees bearing fruits in the very street... The medina is a few minutes away by taxi. Our room was lovely, in a simple moroccan style, and the patio with the pool is quite a sight - a shame it was too early in the season for us to enjoy it. Patrick is very helpful with suggestions and tips for us tourists, decorated his riad with an artist's taste and makes a delicious marmalade !
Isabelle (Paris)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We visited March 2008. Patrick and his staff were excellent. They made our stay wonderful. We had comfortable twin beds, and a continental breakfast was included. Our bags arrived two days late and Patrick drove us to the airport to pick them up. He also dropped us off at restaurants and gave us details about places to visit, things to see and where to eat. He also set up affordable day trips with reliable drivers at reasonable prices. The rooms were of a decent size, the water warm, great views of the surrounding area. It is in walking distance of the Medina, but taking a taxi - easy to do - is preferable. We were glad we stayed here rather than in a Medina riad. Getting back bteween 7 and 9 from the Medina can be tricky, though. The hotel's price is reasonable, and is even a bit less today (Jan 2009) than what we paid last year. Patrick is a great host, you'll be glad you stayed here. La Villa Bleu is also about 3 blocks away from the very attractive Majorelle Gardens, well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel owner
  • Disliked — No Internet service, not in walking distance to good restaurants
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I spent 4 days in early oct .Patrick waited 2 hrs at the airport to pick me up .Upon arrival I was given a large room overlooking the pool.Since i was alone and it was quite late he invited me to join him and friends to go to a local restaurant with belly dancing.
So that was my introduction to Marrakech.
Its Patrick that makes this place so special.He is truly driven to make one's stay a memorable one and to help in any way he can.
The place itself is well run and very clean. .Breakfast is an opportunity to meet people from all over the world.
The location as stated by others entails 25-30 min walk to medina center and there are no restaurants around.However taxi's cost $2 .to go anywhere in the city.
For instance I paid $4 to go to the airport

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I loved my stay here. Patrick is a dude - he helped organise trips, gave us invaluable advice, created a relaxed atmosphere so you can socialise with other guests if you want to (but no pressure), and plays a wicked game of cards. You feel like you're being looked after, rather than just booking some accommodation.

Thanks to Patrick and Yassine we really got the most out of our stay. We even went to hear Yassine sing one evening, which was one of my favourite moments of my stay.

The riad has plenty of unique touches thanks to Patrick's artistic eye, and is a relaxed haven away from the hustle and bustle. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Liked — great atmosphere and friendly
  • Disliked — sometimes hard for taxi drivers to find
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at this very warm and friendly riad for a week in July. It is an excellent place to stay with a big and very clean pool where you acctualy can swim, not only take a dip as in many other riads. The riad is located in a very nice and quiet neighbourhood about a 20 minutes walk from Jemna el Fna, if you walk in the cool morning, when it gets hotter in the afternoon you might choose to take a petite taxi for 20 Dirham (3 USD). We never had any difficulties with these taxis, as long as you know how much to pay and Philippe at the villa is very good at advicing you on how to get around.

It was low season when we styed here so we were upgraded to the suite in the back yard, when you stay in this suite (Suite Douiria) you will acctually have a complete house of your own with a balcony overlooking the swimingpool with a lot of flowers all around. The setting is equivalent to any four star hotel, but you don't have all the electronic stuff like TV, waterpot etc. but there is a good air conditioning in the bedroom and the riad is spotlessly clean.

Like all hotels the building is one thing and what really makes the difference in the end is the people running the place. The family running La Villa Bleu is very friendly and helpful, allways doing their best in taking care of your needs in a very respectful way.

Just one thing before you go. Make sure that you have a map or a good description of the way and an accurate phone number to the riad if you go there by taxi since it may be difficult to find the address the first time, it is in a quiet back street rather close to Jardin Majorelle.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, friendly staff, quite location
  • Disliked — A little bit far away from downtown
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Bleue

Address: 97 Bd Moulay Abdellah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Majorelle garden, a street, lined with orange trees, leads you to the Villa Bleue. This artist-owned villa offers you a magnificent stay and an enriching cultural and human experience. The shimmering water, the lemon trees, the doves, the painting and drawings on the walls... a longing to varied sensation! From the patio to the lounges, from the terrace roof to the hammam, everything accounts for a keen choice of colors, materials and objects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Villa Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.