We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de Mouassine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de Mouassine to your Saves list
Les Jardins de Mouassine
20 Derb Chofra El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #640 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chula Vista, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I spent five nights in early April at Les Jardins de Mouassine and were pleased with our stay. The ryad is located in the medina, close to many interesting places. Our room, although small, was tastefully decorated and had a comfortable bed and good closet space. The bathroom was ample with two wash basins. As some other visitors mentioned, the shower did not have a curtain and the head was not attached to the wall, but we did not find this to be an inconvenience.

Because the weather was still a bit cool, we had breakfast downstairs instead of on the rooftop terrace: orange juice, fresh fruit cocktail, Moroccan crepes (although, unless you get there when they are right off the griddle, they are cold), bread, cheese, butter, jam, coffee, hot milk, and tea. It was more than adequate for us.

David and Aimad were friendly and helpful. I don’t understand the negative comments about their English which I found easy to comprehend. The last morning, we had to leave early to catch the train and, although breakfast isn’t usually served until 8:00 AM, Aimad set out the breakfast buffet at 7:30 so we could have something to eat.

There were many lively guests at the ryad, but everyone seemed to quiet down by ten in the evening. I don’t know if this is a policy of the ryad, but there were no problems with noise disturbing our sleep.

David arranged an all-day trip for us to Imlil in the Atlas Mountains which I recommend. The package included a driver for just the two of us, an hour mule ride above Imlil, which was beautiful as the fruit trees were in bloom, and a delicious lunch at a restaurant with a great view. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Morocco.

I also recommend the pick-up service either from the airport or train station as the first time the directions seem complicated. Once there, however, we had no trouble finding it again as it is off one of the main street in the medina.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, comfortable room, great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

This is my first review. My husband and I stayed at the Riad Les Jardins de Mouassine for a week in June 2007 with our at-the-time-16-month-old son.

ROOM: Had the room called “Tayda” which was spacious enough for the 3 of us. The air-con room was at 1st floor, above the tiny pool and although very simple, it was very bright, spotless clean and the bed was comfortable. I also appreciated the fact that it wasn’t looking onto the main courtyard, granting us more privacy. The bathroom was rather small but adequate to our needs. As other reviewers already wrote, the shower was separated from the toilet by a mere 1-meter-high wall, no curtain, no door, no bracket on the wall for the shower head. Unfortunately we experienced the water overflow in the shower too, because of the blocked-up drain but that didn’t bother us so much. After 30 min. everything came back to normal.

GENERAL: Downstairs the lounge is tastefully decorated in typical Moroccan style. The roof terrace is really nice and enjoyable in the evening with deckchairs to relax on.

SERVICE: Little English is spoken, better use French!
Very easy booking through their website. Got the summer offer: stay 7 nights, you pay 5 nights and got two nights with breakfast and a dinner on the terrace free. David and his personnel have always been very friendly and helping. Ahmed welcomed us on our arrival and gave us a map showing us all the main sights. David gave us useful tips for our excursions. They even managed to find our digital camera we left in the taxi booked through the riad one morning: that same evening – thanks to their intervention - the taxi driver came to the riad with our camera!!

A note for families with young children: all the staff are really child-friendly (like all Moroccan people we met) - we got free use of the kitchen at all hours to warm up our child food and milk, stored in their refrigerator. Every person we met had a genuine smile for our son. Just one negative note: if you need a baby cot make sure it is really available. In our case it was provided in the room just for the first night and then replaced by a mattress on the floor. Upon asking we were told it got damaged / broken by the maid during cleaning??!! Although the explanation seemed us rather odd we didn’t complain further because it really wasn’t a big problem for us.

FOOD: Breakfast was included in the room price and was served on the lovely roof terrace in summer. It was a little limited but OK for us, fresh orange juice and fantastic pancakes, highly appreciated by our son, too. The food was covered with nets to protect it from the bees. We had dinner twice (one was offered) – a high-quality home-cooked traditional meal: excellent.

LOCATION: can’t be better – only a few minutes from Place Jemaa El Fna. A quiet oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the medina. You can hardly find it on your own unless you have already been there, so a pre-arranged pick-up from the airport is highly recommended. The taxi takes you to the door Bab Laksour and then your luggage is placed into a wheel-barrow and you are led through narrow alleys till the riad.

OVERALL OPINION: staff efficiency and service can be improved as well as the showers’ drain problems. But location, rooms and the overall friendly atmosphere make of this quiet riad a great-value place to stay.

  • Liked — Location, room, child-friendly staff
  • Disliked — shower drain problems / baby cot not available
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed in Marrakech for a few days during a week's stay in Morocco. We chose the Riad Jardin de Mouassine mostly on the strength of the online reviews we read, which I think are pretty accurate.

As others have noted, this riad is situated very close to Place Jemaa el Fned, the main square in Marrakech. This made it ideally situated for exploring, but did mean that any journey to and from the riad involved a dash through the souk, avoiding donkey carts, reckless scooter drivers and beggars at every step. This in itself made the riad feel less relaxing than we had expected.

Inside, the riad is beautifully decorated and our room was large and very ornate. However, there is some attention to detail lacking in the design of the layout with ill-fitted shelving in the bathroom and painfully obtruding curtain hooks. As our room was on the first floor overlooking the central patio, it was often noisy and the clattering of the decorative shutters and doors, coupled with the nightly calls to prayer made it difficult to sleep. Also, we were disappointed by the splashpool - although we had expected it to be small, we had not realised it was right next to the riad's office, not making it the most discreet location.

We had no problem with the staff who spoke both French and English with us, and seemed keen to help. The breakfast was nice, but served buffet style which often meant that drinks or pancakes would be cold depending on when you arrived. All in all, we did like the Riad but feel it is perhaps a little over-priced.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Noisiness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

This was the most beautiful and well represented place I have ever stayed at!
From the moment we booked with them to the morning that we left we were treated like gold.
The owners really do look after your every need. The Riad is in the most ideal location. Literally a stone throw away from the main square and all the attractions.
Our rooms were absolutely fabulous!! Clean, spotless and very well looked aftered.
The delicious flaovours of home cooked cakes were fabulous to wake up to.

I would personally like to thank Chantal (the booking co-ordinator) who's emails were prompt and who answered every question we had.

I would highly recommend this 5* Riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh the most enchanting city in the world!!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend travelled to Marrakech last week and stayed at Les Jardins de Mouassine in the Medina for 3 nights. Our time spent in Marrakech was amazing, and was made even better by staying at this Riad.

The location of the Riad is brilliant, just a short walk though the souks to the main square (jeema el fna). We did on the first day get completely lost (This was more a reflection on our ability to read a map than the level of difficulty in navigating back to the riad) and ended up paying various "helpful" locals to take us back. They were very nice people but tended to apply the guilt trip by showing us photos of their kids when we only offered them 10-20D for their help. Thankfully by the second day we were much more savvy and had no problem getting around.

Our room in the Riad was located on the first floor and looked out onto the central courtyard space. The room itself was a good size, with a double bed and aircon/heating. The heating proved to be essential as it got very cold at night because of the high ceilings and rustic touch to the room. The bathroom was stunning with traditional handcrafted design. I note that the shower didnt have a bracket, only as others did in their reviews- did this cause us a problem?- no, not at all. It was hot, powerful and clean. The riad was very quiet, amazing considering the hustle and bustle just a few steps outside. If there was any noise it did tend to echo around the riad but this was part of the charm of staying in a traditional moroccan riad.

Breakfast at the Riad was very basic, just a selection of breads, fruits and juices, but it was adquate for what we wanted and we ate it on the roof terrace most days. Food was available at the Riad but the snacks finished quite early so if you wanted food that you hadnt pre-ordered you had to go out after about 8.

On our second to last day we arranged a trip through the Riad to Essouria, a seaside resort on the atlantic coast. It cost approx £60 for the two of us and this only included the cost of the transport to the town. For us this was perfect as it allowed us to explore the town without the restrictions of an organised trip and the limitations of being in a group of tourists being told what to look at and where to eat. When we arrived in Essouria we were offered by a local a guided tour of the town, but we choose to look around ourselves. The driver told us to be back at 4pm, although we were a little late this wasnt too much of a problem and we arrived back in Marrakech about 7.30pm.

The staff at the Riad were really helpful. David the Riad director met us on arrival and provided a map of the town and some guidance as to how much to pay for taxis etc which proved useful in negoiating during our stay. The staff were on hand 24hrs a day and helped out with anything they could. To my pleasure the Riad sold booze which is hard to come by in the Medina. Ahmed who works at the riad kindly brought us a bottle of red and me and my boy spent the evening watching the stars on the roof terrace. Gorgeous.

Overall a brilliant experience- and would i recommend it to my best friend ? - well actually my best friend recommended it to me.

We will definately go back.

Ceri

  • Liked — Location and the staff.
  • Disliked — It was cold at night!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed for a week in October and although it was a reasonable experience, we felt there was no real attempt on the part of management to make guests (including us) feel welcome.

Perhaps this was a language problem, as French seemed the only acceptable tongue. Communication varied between extremely limited and non existent in English or Spanish.

Our room, on the terrace, was dusty and not well finished. The lighting was inadequate for reading. A requested lamp was not provided.

Breakfast was poor and of inconsistent quality. Somedays no juice, other days no bread or fruit. And no effort to remedy the situation when requested. While breakfast was included in the cost of the room, its composition and quality seemed entirely at the discretion of the management.

There no real attempt to introduce guests to each other. Or to facilitate or encourage excursions or other activities.
Not very communicative, to say the least.

By contrast, the local staff did try their best.

Overall, we encountered a lack of charm or promotion of either the establishment or Marrakech.

In summary, we got what we paid for, a room!

We would not return.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

5 minutes walk from Jemaar El Fna, air con in the rooms, right on the edge of the souks, well inside the Medina so no traffic (except occasional mopeds). Arriving there is a little bit of a shock as we were dropped off by taxi some distance away at a gate to the Medina. Our luggage was taken aboard a cart hauled by a man who then led us through dark alleys and streets to the Riad, for first timers the journey was quite unnerving!

The Riad is just off Rue Mouassine, quite close to the Mouassine mosque - if you are in a room on the roof terrace the early call might rouse you but you sleep through it after a couple of days. After a few days the call to prayer became quite relaxing as it spreads across the city in ripples of sound.

The rooms are comfy (big enough), clean, hot showers, small (and warm) pool / jacuzi (no good if you are swimming lengths but fine for 7 or 8 sitters). massages on the premises, and a nice roof terrace where they serve breakfast if its a warm day.

We had the Roman room on the roof terrace which was nice and mostly quiet. We had a couple of nights where someone in the alley below was drunk and loud in the early hours, but otherwise there were no problems. No lifts and narrow stairs would make the roof rooms unsuitable for anyone with mobility difficulties.

Our mothers had the Quiqlan room which was twin bedded and on the ground floor, it was OK for them, again not huge but quiet (providing there were no partys in the lounge across the patio). the room wasn't quite what they were expecting on first glance, but it grew on them and they had no problems with it in the end.

Beautiful building, very peaceful and quiet. Staff are helpful and very informative. The rooms look quite nice on the website and they are, in line with what I expected from a Riad, if you need luxury surroundings then use a big hotel. The calm of the Riad was a great and welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of the city outside the doors!

Beer and wine were available in the Riad as were meals.

They like to be paid in cash, but will take your credit card number in case of cancellation!

I would go back again... either for a longer trip to take in the Sahara or a shorter long weekend break.

  • Liked — Location and the calm once through the door
  • Disliked — getting there... alleys are a bit worrying!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de Mouassine

Address: 20 Derb Chofra El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Mouassine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.