We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, top-notch service, close to the main square, but poor plumbing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de Mouassine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Jardins de Mouassine to your Saves list
Les Jardins de Mouassine
20 Derb Chofra El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #676 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great value, top-notch service, close to the main square, but poor plumbing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved our stay at Les Jardines de Mouassine! The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the service was amazing. We stayed here for 4 nights total and were not disappointed. We were picked up from the train station and greeted by a man waiting with our names and promptly delivered to our riad. The rooms are have a Moroccan finish which we liked. Great wi-fi throughout the riad. Breakfast was filling and good (not great, but it was included so that was nice). Overall what made our visit was the service. Aimad, the main hotel concierge, was incredible. He speaks English fluently, set up our day trips, mailed things we bought back to the states for us (wow!!!), and was always smiling and welcoming. He made our Marrakesh trip!! We cannot thank him enough. Whoever runs this hotel should be paying him good money because he makes that hotel great!

The only downside to the hotel is the poor plumbing on the top floor. We liked having rooms on the roof, but it took upwards of 30 minutes for water to drain in the shower and sinks. Not cool. On next to last night, the pipe broke in the sink and everytime we tried to use the sink, water spilled all over the bathroom floor. Aimed moved us to another room (which was bigger and much nicer), but it too did not have great plumbing either. It could have been because we were on the roof, but the plumbing was not good. That is the only reason this riad did not get a 5 star grade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived late on the 1st of January 2012 after being in the desert for 2 nights and arrived in a bit of a mess from all of the travelling and camping in the desert. We were looking for a bit of luxury and a bit of a treat, we came to the right place. Aimed instantly made us feel at home and relaxed, he helped us to arrange a restaraunt for my 30th birthday the following day and even gave me and my partner a lift on his mophead into the plaza dejemma el fna the following day. Our room was very private and romantic, it had a four poster bed and was extremely cosy and comfortable, the type of bed you dont want to get out of! We also had a private terrace. We enjoyed the relaxed running of this riad as that is what we expected of a riad. We helped ourselves to the bar and noted down what we had drank and paid our bill at the end of our stay. We paid Aimed too much due to the exchange rate we had predicted and he was straight back up to our room with the difference. Aimed was our saviour! Really friendly and helpful. We had all of our washing done and amazing massages and hammam at the riad. The Mouasaine district was much more friendly than our first choice of riad as well as the staff!! That meant alot to us in such a hectic place. The riad is in a beautiful and ideal location we had fun taking photographs in the narrow streets leading to the riad. We will be back!

Room Tip: Four poster bed was very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a great welcome by yessine but it kind of turned sour the next 2days. The shower and the a/c was not working properly and they never suggested a change of room.... The guy replacing yessine was nowhere to be seen so we had to open the terrasse light by ourselves and make our own coffee.it is however very clean and ideally situated.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was my first time in Marrakech and a friend recommended this Riad. It was three of us in a room... not particularly spacious but big enough for our 4 day stay. The manager was very helpful organising excursions for us.
The staff was super friendly and helpful, it's a very casual and relaxed atmosphere.
Location is fantastic, only a couple of minutes away from the main square and all the souks but not a single sound could be heard from the Riad.
The room was very charming and clean enough.
Breakfast wasn't very appetizing to be honest, but we had a Morroccan dinner made by the Riad's cook that was really good.

I highly recommend this riad and I will definitely be staying here if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was our first time in Marrakech and me and my partner found this riad particularly homely and relaxing. The room was cosy and decorated with local craft from different ethnies, giving an authentic feel to it. We enjoyed the pool a few times, to cool down after long walks in the souks that are awaiting two streets away. The staff was really helpful and always smiling, regardless of the hard time they must have been having during ramadan and the 40ºC heat throughout our stay! We used the hammam for a small fee (around 11 euros each) the last morning before going to the airport, it was amazing and also convenient to be able to use it together ( as traditionally different sexes go to separate spaces or at different hours). The only thing I think could be upgraded is the breakfast, which only consist of different type of breads with jam and tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. No mint tea? no cactus figs? It actually doesn't matter cause you can bring your own to complete what's already there for you to have. I regret not to have tried the riad's cook's recipes but the temptation was too high to get out there and explore marrakech!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on top of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have just arrived home after a week in Marrakech, my husband and I stayed at this beautiful peaceful riad.

When we arrived we were welcomed by Aimad who told us this is your home for the next week and it really felt as though it was, nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful and friendly staff.

We had The Kettan room which is on the roof with its own private terrace this was a real bonus. The terrace had two sun beds and a small table and chairs.

The room had much needed air conditioning. It was well but simply furnished and had a wet room.

The breakfast was pancakes with honey or jam, fresh fruit (the peaches were lovely), coffee, tea hot chocolate and the best freshly squeezed orange I have tasted.

The riad is minutes away from the djemaa el fna and seconds away from the souks, even though it is so close to these noisy places it is amazingly peaceful and quiet.

I will certainly recommend this riad to anyone else and will stay there again if I return to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Look at the riads own website the read the descriptions of the rooms and choose the one for you. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was the second riad we stayed at while in Marrakech. The hosts speak reasonably good English, a big plus for us Americans. Our room was comfortable and private, right off the upper terrace by the rooftop kitchen. There is a splash pool in the courtyard, and a hammam on site (for a fee). The breakfast was basic--Moroccan pancakes, coffee cake, some fruit, tea and coffee--but we found that to be the standard fare at the other riads we stayed in. We made an overnight trip to Essaouria while there and left our laundry with the staff at Les Jardins, which was done beautifully at no charge to us. The room rate was very reasonable.

One caveat: Beware the scalding hot water that comes out of the sink and shower head--it's waaayy hot. All in all, we enjoyed this riad very much and would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Make sure you test the aircon unit before agreeing to your room. Ours wasn't the chilliest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#54 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kasbah Le Mirage
Kasbah Le Mirage
#218 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de Mouassine

Address: 20 Derb Chofra El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Les Jardins de Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Mouassine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.