We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Riad El Sagaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very friendly staff, great location, amazing atmosphere! The roof terrace is perfect to chill out. The room and bathroom were okay value for the money.
Good tajines (although we got a different one than we had ordered).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
55
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The riad was a lovely peaceful oasis near the edge of the medina. Yassine the host was absolutely fantastic, pleasant and friendly with a great sense of humour. He had good local knowledge and organised some wonderful trips for us including an amazing one to the desert which was very good value. The other staff were also excellent and we had a couple of lovely meals in the riad. We had a large suite and there was a small pool, a lovely rooftop terrace and a cute little tortoise . Had a great time Marrakesh is a mad but fascinating city.

Room Tip: We booked the Douria suite for four adults which was lovely and very spacious with two bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We really liked our stay at this riad until we were about to go on our desert trip. We had asked to stay another night once we got back extending our total stay from 4 nights to 5 nights. We were given a verbal yes but a couple of hours later that was changed to a no. We ended up being told that we were being kicked out of the room because he had received a request for someone to stay a further 3 nights and he had to 'protect his business'. We understood that entirely and said we would be happy to change rooms - he could put us in bunks if needed, to which we were told that he was completely full! Then when checked on hostelworld later there was still rooms available! Weird.
Also just so you know.... The tea they offer to make you isn't free and neither is the water they give you. And the overnight desert trip was 600dh when booked from the riad but everyone else on our bus only paid 500dh.
Otherwise a really nice riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The manager of the riad was welcoming as soon as we arrived, offering us mint tea and conversation (even though he seemed tired-as we had arrived quite late at night). When we declined the mint tea he graciously offered up an apple and we sat around the table discussing sites that we could see the following day- and most importantly how to get to them! Marrakesh is a complex and intense city for first timers and it helps to have a local tell you the do's and don'ts! The riad itself is beautiful, with its internal courtyard which opens out onto the sky. We stayed in the Saliha Double Room which was great- large bed and sofa as well as central air conditioning provided! We had a nice time laughing and joking with Yassine and we appreciated that he did not try to sell/con us into buying some sort of desert package deal (as we had previously experienced). Thanks for the great service and laughs- wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel!! Yassine was such a lovely host and so much fun! We had the best time! If you're looking for a no fuss home away from home this is the place! The only reason that I gave the hotel 'very good' instead of 'excellent' was that there were a few ants in the room... but this was a minor point! Generally the room was very clean!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Riad El Sagaya for a week, from the 17th March. It's only a 20min drive from the airport which was a great start, as we were tired from the late flight. We were greeted by Yassine who was happy to see us despite the late arrival time, he explained everything to us that we needed to know and made us some fresh mint tea (Moroccan speciality - but you will soon find that Yassine makes the best tea!).

Our room (no.3) was perfect for us; very clean, a double bed, sofa (which we just used for our suitcase etc), a traditional style bathroom with open shower, and a padlock for the door. The Riad itself is a little oasis compared to the mental streets of Marrakech! Once you walk inside the noise disappears and the courtyard is peaceful. The roof terrace was great too, we had a couple of days just relaxing, reading and feeding Carolina the resident tortoise!

The location of the Riad we felt was also perfect, because it's centered in the middle of some famous attractions such as the Majorelle Gardens, Hotel Mamounia and Jemaa el Fna (main square) so everywhere is within 15mins walking distance. There is also a large supermarket just outside the Medina (5mins walk).

Breakfast at the Riad was simple but really tasty - we had pancakes with apricot jam, french bread, fresh Moroccan coffee (ask Yassine to pour it the first time - we did it with only a dash of milk like we are used to in the UK, but its stronger and they serve the milk hot too so its different but delicious) and freshly squeezed orange juice. The oranges in Marrakech are really tasty, they are sweeter and not very acidic.

The service at Riad El Sagaya was brilliant. Yassine always kept us happy, we had to use the telephone a few times to arrange pick up times for trips, he made us tea and coffee upon request, and we had a few nights in with him eating pizza and chatting. His English is great and we've made a friend for life =)
The girls who make breakfast and clean the rooms are also brilliant, very friendly and do a very good job.

We would certainly recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech. It is within the Medina (old town) so you get to see all the things typical of Moroccan life. Hotels in the Gueliz (new town) looked luxurious but they lack character - you could be anywhere in the world in one of those.
It's also in a good location, and Yassine does a brilliant job working every day of the week non stop!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - we had a room which had windows to the front - the street gets noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we arrived we were not sure but after settling in we really enjoyed our stay. Yassine is really nice and very helpful he arranged our trip to Ourika which we would recommend it was a lovely trip. Breakfast was really nice and as we don't drink coffee Yassine made us his special mint tea which was delicious. There is a roof terrace which is a sun trap there is also a tortoise up there who is very friendly. Yassine gave us a map and showed us the route to the square which was chaotic but great fun. The Riad is within walking distance from some nice places to eat it's perfectly safe to walk around we didn't get any hassle the locals are really nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor they are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.