We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit to Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Riad El Sagaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family visit to Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech, we were a group of 8. We arrived on the first night there was a mix up with the rooms. This was sorted quickly and resolved. We enjoyed Marrakech, the hustle and bustle of the markets. Everyone was very friendly, however there was one person who made it a memorable holiday Yassine. Yassine works at the riad and is very approachable and made us feel at home, no job was too small for him. He used to bring us breakfast on the terrace and was very friendly. I must admit if Yassine was not at the riad, we would not have enjoyed it as much. This riad, s credit goes to the great customer experience from Yassine. As long as he works there, we will visit again. Thank you Yassine

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
55
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We didn't know el sagaya before arriving there... But it was an amazing experience living there during our trip! The riad was cleaned and close to the Medina center. Breakfast is the real moroccon one and the roof offers relaxing and sunny moments!!!! A special thanks to Yassine who works there and helped us to have the useful information we needed. Yassine made special our holiday and he was nice and hospitable. El sagaya recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergiate, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've been with my wife in this Riad and I stayed here for three days.

First of all we decided to come here because of the Hammam and the position. When we arrived we asked to the Manager about the Hammam and the possibility to use it. The answer was very tough.

"Hammam doesn't work and if you want really it, you can have it outside at your cost or you can have shower in your bathroom!"

I was really upset of this answer, he was really unkind.

We planned to have a visit of some waterfalls around Marrakesh and we planned to leave the Riad at 8 in the morning. We asked to the Manager the possibility to have the breakfast a 7.30.
Manager again was really unkind and he said that it was not possible to have the breakfast at that time

The room was really stinky of sewer and also the hot water was missing.

the location is not that bad but again the Manager and the cleanless of the room were really really poor.

This was the first Riad I was during my tour and honestly I was told a lot about Maroc Treatment and welcome.... bad bad experience with Riad El Sagaya....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As with all the accommodation I book on holiday, I always check out reviews on Trip Advisor first. I had narrowed it down to the El Sagaya and another, I made the right choice.
Admittedly its a little difficult to locate at first as it's a good 10-15 walk away from the main square, but it's well worth the effort, besides, it's ideally situated for other attractions.

Once inside, I was greeted by the manager, Youssef, a very polite, kind and warm man and host. Initially we were booked into the wrong room, but we were booked into ( in most opinions) a superior slightly bigger and more private room on the first floor.

Breakfast was included in the price and although fairly basic, it was lovely and plentiful. The dining area/main lobby was an oasis of calm and tranquility. The room was spotlessly clean and even though the water had stopped working once I had arrived, it was back on in a few hours and piping hot (this was NOT a hotel problem, the whole street had lost water too).

The bed was extremely comfortable and the chill area just compact enough to lounge around, read etc. One of the highlights though was possibly the main reason we decided on this riad.......the fantastic roof terrace. A huge open area of sunbeds, settees, cushions and basically lots of room to just do nothing but catch the sun or smoke shisha ( did both ).

Spotless, friendly, fairly well situated, great staff, chilled atmosphere and competitively priced, what more could you possibly want :-)
I'm ashamed to say that I didn't get to learn the names of all the staff, but I thank each and every one of you for making our 4 night stay a memorable experience.

Room Tip: If a couple, room 4, which I think is the Aladdin room is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

You arrive in a busy noisy street but find when you step into the Riad calm and charming place. Yassine speaks good English and is a great character who is so helpful and makes sure that you are having a good time. My daughter and I had a great short break.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a brilliant time at the riad, beautiful and peaceful. Lovely staff, very helpful, breakfast is great. Make sure you meet Yassine, true legend. Very Clean with a wonderful rooftop. Definitely stay here when you come to Marrakech! We truly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Once inside, this is an oasis with plants, a fountain, clean spacious baths. The design is authentic, lovingly furnished. The staff is very helpful and the food is plenty + well prepared. It is best to get there from the city gate where the street is not covered (a very short 3-min walk).

If you come from the opposite side, via the Medina, you have to make your way through suffocating + deafening moped exhaust that drives tears to your eyes. In other parts of the Medina, the streets are shaded by reeds. Here it is mostly corrugated metal, trapping the fumes + noises (much worse for the market people who have to endure this daily).

I hope the Riad owners in the neighborhood find a way to limit the traffic or increase ventilation. (In Meknes or Fez there is no motorized traffic in the inner Medina.)

And to end on a romantic note, enjoy the cry of roosters from one of the lounge chairs on the beautiful roof terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.