We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem away from the madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Save Saved
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem away from the madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As with all the accommodation I book on holiday, I always check out reviews on Trip Advisor first. I had narrowed it down to the El Sagaya and another, I made the right choice.
Admittedly its a little difficult to locate at first as it's a good 10-15 walk away from the main square, but it's well worth the effort, besides, it's ideally situated for other attractions.

Once inside, I was greeted by the manager, Youssef, a very polite, kind and warm man and host. Initially we were booked into the wrong room, but we were booked into ( in most opinions) a superior slightly bigger and more private room on the first floor.

Breakfast was included in the price and although fairly basic, it was lovely and plentiful. The dining area/main lobby was an oasis of calm and tranquility. The room was spotlessly clean and even though the water had stopped working once I had arrived, it was back on in a few hours and piping hot (this was NOT a hotel problem, the whole street had lost water too).

The bed was extremely comfortable and the chill area just compact enough to lounge around, read etc. One of the highlights though was possibly the main reason we decided on this riad.......the fantastic roof terrace. A huge open area of sunbeds, settees, cushions and basically lots of room to just do nothing but catch the sun or smoke shisha ( did both ).

Spotless, friendly, fairly well situated, great staff, chilled atmosphere and competitively priced, what more could you possibly want :-)
I'm ashamed to say that I didn't get to learn the names of all the staff, but I thank each and every one of you for making our 4 night stay a memorable experience.

Room Tip: If a couple, room 4, which I think is the Aladdin room is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

You arrive in a busy noisy street but find when you step into the Riad calm and charming place. Yassine speaks good English and is a great character who is so helpful and makes sure that you are having a good time. My daughter and I had a great short break.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a brilliant time at the riad, beautiful and peaceful. Lovely staff, very helpful, breakfast is great. Make sure you meet Yassine, true legend. Very Clean with a wonderful rooftop. Definitely stay here when you come to Marrakech! We truly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Once inside, this is an oasis with plants, a fountain, clean spacious baths. The design is authentic, lovingly furnished. The staff is very helpful and the food is plenty + well prepared. It is best to get there from the city gate where the street is not covered (a very short 3-min walk).

If you come from the opposite side, via the Medina, you have to make your way through suffocating + deafening moped exhaust that drives tears to your eyes. In other parts of the Medina, the streets are shaded by reeds. Here it is mostly corrugated metal, trapping the fumes + noises (much worse for the market people who have to endure this daily).

I hope the Riad owners in the neighborhood find a way to limit the traffic or increase ventilation. (In Meknes or Fez there is no motorized traffic in the inner Medina.)

And to end on a romantic note, enjoy the cry of roosters from one of the lounge chairs on the beautiful roof terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here, it was an oasis of calm away from the craziness of Marrakech, it is in a great location, easy to walk around, lovely rooms, simply decorated, lovely food, great atmosphere, very much made to feel at home. However, what really made our trip was the kindness, the helpfulness and genuine friendliness and care that Youssef, Yasmeen and the rest of the staff gave us, they couldn't have been nicer, we will definitely be back- we highly recommend it

Room Tip: we looked into several of the rooms, they are all lovely, the one on the ground floor on the right h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed in El sagaya and it was a lovely experience. I don't think I could have coped with the madness I marrakech without the riad to go home to. Knowing I had a place to escape to was an important factor in me having a Good time.

The riad itself is gorgeous. There is a pool in the center which you can swim in however I didn't see anyone swim while we were there. The rooms are a good size, authentic looking and have good air conditioning. There is no noise from the street so it is very peaceful.

The staff were friendly. The two girls didn't speak much English but helped where they could. They also cooked the best lunch we had and it was very good value, 100 dirhams i think. There was a guy (who's name escapes me) who was lovely and a great help. We shared his shish with him on the roof terrace which is absolutely beautiful.

I would definitely go back to this riad if I went back to marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic riad, an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of the medina. Beautiful, simple traditional rooms, great friendly, cheerful and helpful staff, lovely rood top terrace. Well placed for walking to all the sites. I wish I could have stayed longer - recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and even those nearest the street are amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.